Why so much electronics in cars these days ?

blackmondy

Don't drivers worry that buggy software will cause fatal accidents ? Is a giant touch-screen controlling all aspects of the car really that enticing ?

I guess it is. Look at Tesla!

Booming!

Everyone want to copy Tesla!

So cool!

Even use same concept for space shuttles! One giant touch screen to control everything in the space shuttle!

I guess it is. Look at Tesla!

Booming!

Everyone want to copy Tesla!

So cool!

Even use same concept for space shuttles! One giant touch screen to control everything in the space shuttle!
So if the LCD display kaput, you are literally out of control even if the software is still working....:thumbsdown:
I don't feel safe at all driving cars like this where the display is your only single-point-of-failure. Gimme any old fashion car with zero electronics. The most I will tolerate are ESP and ABS.

So if the LCD display kaput, you are literally out of control even if the software is still working....:thumbsdown:
I don't feel safe at all driving cars like this where the display is your only single-point-of-failure. Gimme any old fashion car with zero electronics. The most I will tolerate are ESP and ABS.

I think still ok now lah. The windshield is still clear glass and I think you can still manually control the steering wheel (will override the electronic auto controls)

I also don't like electronics in cars. Already enough things to spoil. electronics some more. Tsk tsk tsk. Our winters freeze the electronics very jia lat. LCD also cannot work well.

Give me Toyota anytime.

I trust Toyota. If they put electronics it will work one. Even in the winter -40 degrees. They tested it.

Tesla....I dunno.....LOL! It still works cos the car keeps the heater on all the time so the temp is not -40. But that's .......environmentally unfriendly right? Why must keep the car heated all the time? Use energy when not needed?

I think still ok now lah. The windshield is still clear glass and I think you can still manually control the steering wheel (will override the electronic auto controls)

I also don't like electronics in cars. Already enough things to spoil. electronics some more. Tsk tsk tsk. Our winters freeze the electronics very jia lat. LCD also cannot work well.

Give me Toyota anytime.

I trust Toyota. If they put electronics it will work one. Even in the winter -40 degrees. They tested it.

Tesla....I dunno.....LOL! It still works cos the car keeps the heater on all the time so the temp is not -40. But that's .......environmentally unfriendly right? Why must keep the car heated all the time? Use energy when not needed?
Tesla is basically an iPhone with wheels.

Yes. It appeals to techies.

Iphone very popular leh.

But it is the class of smartphones on wheels.

I waiting for the "Samsung" version or "Toyota" version. I think will be more reliable.

Yes. It appeals to techies.

Iphone very popular leh.

But it is the class of smartphones on wheels.

I waiting for the "Samsung" version or "Toyota" version. I think will be more reliable.
I'm a techie myself but I will always put function over form, and that's why I'm no Apple fanboy. Apple is always about looks at the expense of performance and safety.
A single-point-of-failure should never be a consideration for any gadget, especially one that your life depends on it literally.

this is why i prefer porsche’s dashboard, console, and cockpit. at least 69 buttons, bells, and wolf whistles.
1629319285115.png

I'm a techie myself but I will always put function over form, and that's why I'm no Apple fanboy. Apple is always about looks at the expense of performance and safety.
A single-point-of-failure should never be a consideration for any gadget, especially one that your life depends on it literally.

Yeah I dont like Apple as well.

Wah lau must make own special charging cable, headphone cable. Everything they want to control you must get theirs.

This is the ultimate in controlling the customer. And the products look nice but are programed to fail and spoil over time. Again controlling.

Apply fans are being conned. But they like it. Looks good and pretty right?

this is why i prefer porsche’s dashboard, console, and cockpit. at least 69 buttons, bells, and wolf whistles.

If I was a multi billionaire.....then maybe I will buy a porsche. Otherwise no thanks. I stick to functionality.

If someone were to say that means I am too poor to afford Porsche I agree 100%.

Only billionaires buy Porsche. The market should be much much smaller and the cars much much more expensive.

If I was a multi billionaire.....then maybe I will buy a porsche. Otherwise no thanks. I stick to functionality.

Only billionaires buy Porsche. The market should be much much smaller and the cars much much more expensive.
Expensive cars comes with expensive maintenance. Totally not worth it.
If I were to drive again, I will be happy with a used 1st-gen Toyota Mark X that will let me mod till kingdom come.

millionaires drive porsche, billionaires are driven in rolls royces.

Expensive cars comes with expensive maintenance. Totally not worth it.
If I were to drive again, I will be happy with a used 1st-gen Toyota Mark X that will let me mod till kingdom come.

Aiyah those multi-millionaires and billionaires they got so much money doesnt matter to them.

I only have 2 of those rice grains.

This Mark X not available in North America?

It's for the domestic Jap market but are imported into NZ 2nd hand.

It's actually the Lexus IS250/350 in Toyota garb.

I bought mine used with 80,000km on the clock. I have since added another 80,000km and the car has not missed a beat.

It's for the domestic Jap market but are imported into NZ 2nd hand.

It's actually the Lexus IS250/350 in Toyota garb.

I bought mine used with 80,000km on the clock. I have since added another 80,000km and the car has not missed a beat.

Where I live, Rock chips are almost a certainty at many points in the ownership of car. So much so I know how to repair chips on my own using the resin. But really bad ones where I cannot repair do happen. Just had one over weekend.

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/li...rue-north-strong-and-free.306136/post-3451844

There is also hail during summer.

There are also siao lang walk around key scratch cars.

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/li...rue-north-strong-and-free.306136/post-3435033

There are also people hit and run parked cars then disappear. Happened to my 2011 Corolla. total loss. I only had 3rd party liability so no coverage for hit and run. :(

So my conclusion. Is to buy cheaper reliable functional cars. Don't waste time making them look too nice. Don't get attached. They can go anytime.

Where I live, Rock chips are almost a certainty at many points in the ownership of car. So much so I know how to repair chips on my own using the resin. But really bad ones where I cannot repair do happen. Just had one over weekend.

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/li...rue-north-strong-and-free.306136/post-3451844

There is also hail during summer.

There are also siao lang walk around key scratch cars.

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/li...rue-north-strong-and-free.306136/post-3435033

There are also people hit and run parked cars then disappear. Happened to my 2011 Corolla. total loss. I only had 3rd party liability so no coverage for hit and run. :(

So my conclusion. Is to buy cheaper reliable functional cars. Don't waste time making them look too nice. Don't get attached. They can go anytime.
It would probably be best if you got yourself a pickup or UTE as they call it in OZ/NZ.

My Mark X is covered in dents and scratches I love it that way. A car is supposed to serve you and not the other way round.