Why No 'Tony' or 'Vincent' from Singapore in the BPL?

Vincent Tan and Tony Fernandez are owners of soccer clubs in the BPL. In the case of Vincent's Cardiff City, next season. Thaksin was once boss of Man City and we now have chicken sellers from India calling the shots at Blackburn. Peter Lim made an attempt to get Liverpool. Failed. Why aren't our billionaires interested in the BPL? The only S'pore connection to the BPL is SBOBET - sponsor of West Ham, not owner.

Both Vincent Tan and Tony bought it for networking - VIP tickets (free of course plus entertainment) for the Malaysians UMNOputras and their families. Tony for branding as well. Thaksin did the same to endear himself to his countrymen. Peter Lim was just kidding.

Singapore powerbrokers and politicians do not associate themselves with football. They are in French cuisines, Formula 1, Golf and Overseas High Networking Conferences and Groups.

Ever heard of the Asia Society?

Vincent Tan and Tony Fernandez are owners of soccer clubs in the BPL. In the case of Vincent's Cardiff City, next season. Thaksin was once boss of Man City and we now have chicken sellers from India calling the shots at Blackburn. Peter Lim made an attempt to get Liverpool. Failed. Why aren't our billionaires interested in the BPL? The only S'pore connection to the BPL is SBOBET - sponsor of West Ham, not owner.

Both Vincent Tan and Tony bought it for networking - VIP tickets (free of course plus entertainment) for the Malaysians UMNOputras and their families. Tony for branding as well. Thaksin did the same to endear himself to his countrymen. Peter Lim was just kidding.

Singapore powerbrokers and politicians do not associate themselves with football. They are in French cuisines, Formula 1, Golf and Overseas High Networking Conferences and Groups.

Ever heard of the Asia Society?

Sometimes i really wonder if you know what you're writing about or just bullshitting.

The reasons you gave for the malaysians tycoons buying clubs can apply 100% to singapore too.

And you mean Marbok Tan and his Goal 2010 has nothing to do with football?

And yes i dont know who Peter Lim was trying to con or impress. With his wealth he can count himself lucky if he can afford to buy Hull City.

You need to read properly. They need to entertain the decision makers. They need the association. You buy a football club and which decision maker you going to entertain. None of the cabinet ministers follow soccer. As far as they are concerned, its for the plebians.

Look at which private entrepreneur is involved with Formula 1. Which Singapore enterprising businessman built 2 golf clubs, one in Perth and one in Singapore and sold packages to the political elite including a housing package that came with the Club. GCT bought one.

You buy a BPL club and entertain who ? - grassroots leader, union members etc.

Sometimes i really wonder if you know what you're writing about or just bullshitting.

The reasons you gave for the malaysians tycoons buying clubs can apply 100% to singapore too.

And you mean Marbok Tan and his Goal 2010 has nothing to do with football?

And yes i dont know who Peter Lim was trying to con or impress. With his wealth he can count himself lucky if he can afford to buy Hull City.

For Singapore I will just be happy if we don't get ripped off by Singtel or even with Starhub for the football coverage. Or for that matter the telcos get their act together to prevent us from being ripped off!!

I think it has to do with the lack of entrepreneurial spirit and risk taking amongst most businessmen here.
Peter Lim's attempt to buy Liverpool was frankly a very poor publicity stunt. I don't doubt his support for Man U or Liverpool or whoever but when it came to putting his money where his mouth is, there was nothing there! Also, even though he's a billionaire, owning and running a Premiership club doesn't come cheap and without significant risk, just ask Tony Fernandes!

Both Fernandes and Tan were willing to take big financial risks by buying QPR and Cardiff. It also helps that both are passionate about English soccer but it would be also naive to assume that political point scoring were not on their agendas. Both these guys have firmly put Malaysia in the global spotlight for which I am sure PM Najib is most thankful. Fernandes has also become a household name with most followers of the EPL because he has been able to leverage the Air Asia / Tunes brand with QPR, a very smart move on his part.

Whether they have the talent to succeed in the EPL remains in question. Asians in general have had a poor track record in top flight football ownership.
Anyway, I just hope QPR can win promotion back into the EPL next season. (But that's another story...)

If anyone has been invited to a corporate box or tent, will immediately realise what is going on. These are not expensive spectator tickets. You need to be invited, drinks, food and specially chosen clients and contacts.

The UMNO divisional delegates though Kampung Hajis are powerful when AGM starts. These guys won't now what a sand wedge is or what a DRS is but they sure know what football is.

You accept $10 tickets for free you can be charged for corruption. But if you are invited to a corporate box with food and drinks thrown in for networking, they cannot touch you.

Ever heard of Peter Lim and Motorcity Sports. Liverpool is the red herring that he threw and people know why.

This is for information sake for those not familiar with corporate boxes - look at the one with QPR. When you are there you will see Air Asia and Tunes heavily advertised.

The VIP Suites at Loftus Road cater for twelve people, but there are only 18 suites in total so availability is extremely limited. The suites provide a spectacular viewing position, with unrivalled proximity to the pitch. This gives you the perfect environment to entertain important clients whilst being looked after by your own dedicated waiting staff, so you can sit back and enjoy the first class hospitality in stunning surroundings.

The VIP Suites are available to book on a seasonal and match by match basis.

VIP Suite Package includes:

Unrivalled views of the pitch
Seats up to 12 people
Three Course Gourmet Meal
Half time/Full time refreshments
Complimentary Beers, Wines and Soft drinks
Individual Match Hostess
Parking on request and subject to availability
Plasma screen with satellite TV

Here is a typical operation for a corporate box.

You get an invite. You accept. A chauffeur driven car will be despatched to pick you and your spouse. They know that the spouse has an influence and closer to F&B than you are. These are not Ah Beng Restaurant for towkays who drink martel. The car is so that you do not fight the jam and the entry is heavily marshalled.

Typically you arrive 3 to 2 hours before the event. Networking begins with the drinks and finger food served by formally dressed waiters and waitresses. This is then followed by a 3 to 5 course meals (in the west, 5 course is the max). Your special menu will list which country they sourced the food). In the middle of the dinner, one bright spark will run a raffle on who is going to win but if it football, no raffle as everyone will defer to the home team out of respect. No raffles if the host is also the sponsor of a team.

Some corporate boxes have access to their own partitioned terrace seats, other are built in or the guests make way to their reserved seats.

More drinks and tidbits.

It never ends.

After you entertain all the Hajis, your next application for licence, permit, extension of commercial loans etc etc and you know what happens.

The VIP Suites at Loftus Road cater for twelve people, but there are only 18 suites in total so availability is extremely limited. The suites provide a spectacular viewing position, with unrivalled proximity to the pitch. This gives you the perfect environment to entertain important clients whilst being looked after by your own dedicated waiting staff, so you can sit back and enjoy the first class hospitality in stunning surroundings.

I cannot see where the demand for Corporate Suites will be coming from next season when QPR have the honour of hosting the likes of Huddersfield and Burnley.
Championship football will be a financial disaster for QPR.

Btw, Loftus Road is the smallest and probably least impressive stadium in the Premier League, it really is in need of an upgrading or for a completely new one to be built (at least 40,000 capacity).

Agree. It will be interesting to see what next.

I cannot see where the demand for Corporate Suites will be coming from next season when QPR have the honour of hosting the likes of Huddersfield and Burnley.
Championship football will be a financial disaster for QPR.

Btw, Loftus Road is the smallest and probably least impressive stadium in the Premier League, it really is in need of an upgrading or for a completely new one to be built (at least 40,000 capacity).

Here is a typical operation for a corporate box.

You get an invite. You accept. A chauffeur driven car will be despatched to pick you and your spouse. They know that the spouse has an influence and closer to F&B than you are. These are not Ah Beng Restaurant for towkays who drink martel. The car is so that you do not fight the jam and the entry is heavily marshalled.

Typically you arrive 3 to 2 hours before the event. Networking begins with the drinks and finger food served by formally dressed waiters and waitresses. This is then followed by a 3 to 5 course meals (in the west, 5 course is the max). Your special menu will list which country they sourced the food). In the middle of the dinner, one bright spark will run a raffle on who is going to win but if it football, no raffle as everyone will defer to the home team out of respect. No raffles if the host is also the sponsor of a team.

Some corporate boxes have access to their own partitioned terrace seats, other are built in or the guests make way to their reserved seats.

More drinks and tidbits.

It never ends.

After you entertain all the Hajis, your next application for licence, permit, extension of commercial loans etc etc and you know what happens.

Wahhh! How come u know so much?? U ever sit in corporate box before??

Have you seen the state of QPR? Whats so prestigous abut it that you can entertain your deision makers there?

You need to read properly. They need to entertain the decision makers. They need the association. You buy a football club and which decision maker you going to entertain. None of the cabinet ministers follow soccer. As far as they are concerned, its for the plebians.

Look at which private entrepreneur is involved with Formula 1. Which Singapore enterprising businessman built 2 golf clubs, one in Perth and one in Singapore and sold packages to the political elite including a housing package that came with the Club. GCT bought one.

You buy a BPL club and entertain who ? - grassroots leader, union members etc.

This is for information sake for those not familiar with corporate boxes

Manipulative kaypohchee Scroobal, can you try to post in a more pompous and condescending manner next time?
Your posts don't sound pompous and condescending enough. LOL.

India calling the shots at Blackburn

Venky's Indian chicken farmers are destroying Blackburn Rovers FC.

In fact, Blackburn is close to getting relegated to League One next season.

Foreign ownership is no guarantee of success if the club is owned by idiots.

Are you definite that SBO has a "Spore" connection?

The owner is a sinkie.

However it's an association not to be envied.. Wife and kid were kidnapped and released last year after ransom paid.

Oh shit. Did I say too much?

The owner is a sinkie.

However it's an association not to be envied.. Wife and kid were kidnapped and released last year after ransom paid.

Oh shit. Did I say too much?

No. You didn't.
But next time try not to use your father's scholarship. LOL.

Contrary to popular belief, owning a football club is a loss making business. You must have other business interests in UK or worldwide and use your FC as an advertising/networking platform. So unless the person has super deep pockets with a steady stream of income (ie mining, energy etc), it does not make any financial sense to own a club. Besides OBS, PL and PAP ministers, who in sinkieland has that kind of financial clout? How would they make money from buying Exeter FC or Swansea?

Of course, the other reason for buying a club is to use it as a money laundering vehicle. But that's another topic altogether..