• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why no Cantonese At GE 2025 Rally? Only Hokkien and Teochew?

k1976

GE2025: Dialects – Do Singaporeans care if politicians speak them?​

Shawn Hoo
Updated Fri, 2 May 2025 at 5:43 AM SGT8-min read

ST20250419_202548700242: Gin Tay/ shge/ Shawn Ho/Portraits of Minister for Digital Development and Information Josephine Teo photographed during the SG60 Neighbourhood Party at Blk 42A Beo Crescent, on April 19, 2025.

Minister for Digital Development and Information Josephine Teo, who speaks multiple Chinese dialects, attending the SG60 Neighbourhood Party on April 19.
Follow our live coverage here.

SINGAPORE – Over a bowl of Teochew fishball noodles, PAP candidate Daniel Liu is getting an impromptu language lesson from a senior volunteer. She tells Mr Liu, 40, who is Hokkien by descent, that while Teochew might sound like Hokkien, it has a lighter intonation – the kind you might hear on an opera stage.

Mr Liu spent over a decade serving in Nee Soon GRC, where Hokkien is the go-to dialect at temple dinners and grassroots events.

ADVERTISEMENT

But since his move to Aljunied GRC in February 2025 – where Teochew is more commonly spoken – he has been racing to pick up the basics of the dialect. With Polling Day on May 3 fast approaching, he knows he has a short runway to get up to speed and speak to residents in the dialect that resonates most.

His senior volunteer, however, has a teaching trick up her sleeve.

Lately, as Mr Liu makes his rounds at the food centre at Blk 105 Hougang Avenue 1, he has been caught off guard by store owners calling him “dua gu” before chatting with him in Teochew. “Dua gu” means “big cow” – a Teochew translation of the Mandarin term “da niu”, which sounds like his name, Daniel. Given his albinism, dialect banter is something he rarely encounters.

It turns out that his senior volunteer had prepped the store owners, pulling an old trick in language learning: total immersion, Hougang style.

KNN, GE cannot speak Cantonese lah. Otherwise, all the presumptions will be thrown at you:

Cantonese = Malaysians = Dogs = Sons of chicken mother.

Must clarify until siao, and finally if your clarifications not convincing, must swear to die a violent death.

This is my ex-mentor's 組合拳。Even hotshot like @sbfuncle with John Lone's good looks tio beaten into a puppy by my ex-mentor's 組合拳 until he becomes a Karchng bin.

KNN, GE cannot speak Cantonese lah. Otherwise, all the presumptions will be thrown at you:

Must clarify until siao, and finally if your clarifications not convincing, must swear to die a violent death.

This is my ex-mentor's 組合拳。Even hotshot like @sbfuncle with John Lone's good looks tio beaten into a puppy by my ex-mentor's 組合拳 until he becomes a Karchng bin.
Then, we will know where are the HanTu clustering mah…Oppie can avoid these area and focus on key battle grounds

知已知彼百战百胜

Everything look correct except the part beaten to puppy.
I kana beaten into a wild dog that will bite off her long dark nipple.