Why do sinkies call themselves CEO in the company they started

dancingshoes

looks like sinkies have some inferior and ego problem to me.

I'd call rather myself the financial investor rather than CEO....haha...LMFAO... :p

Jover Chew never call himself CEO what, so what are talking about?

i have associates who call themselves CEOs, they appointed themselves. they are unlike HC who got appointed by her own Lee family.:p

Jover Chew never call himself CEO what, so what are talking about?

I'd call rather myself the financial investor rather than CEO....haha...LMFAO... :p

It's an ego thing. Just like 'Founding Father' for an usurper who sort of inherited an island. :rolleyes:

In the course of my work, I was taught to pay special attention to name cards which does not show the Designation (no mention of CEO, Manager, etc).
Just plain names on the name card and company information.

This type of boss is the tok-kong type.

Because of slave mentality? All "C-class" officers are employee, no matter how fanciful the title be.
The financial investor sound like 大款, after invest and waiting for returns, not involved in the business operation, just like our GIC, success or failure not your problem.

humble speaks volume about this type of personality, i enjoy working with these type of people.

In the course of my work, I was thought to pay special attention to name cards which does not show the Designation (no mention of CEO, Manager, etc).
Just plain names on the name card and company information.

This type of boss is the tok-kong type.

When you are really, really good, a plain name card is all you need.

EJOIL8s.png

When you are an insecure asshole, this is what you'll do:

guangbia-businesscardmain.jpg

I have this friend who has a very big ego. He was once working for a MNC. So he started his own company together with other investors he founded.

So after a year or 2 , the investor want to buy him out. I can see him sweating and stress over starting his own company. It is just a service company, renting bandwidth from MDA to run it as a internet service provider.

So he came and pour out and say that he is being "Forced out" of the company. Mine you , he say he is the founder of the company and stop short he is CEO.

PUB has a CEO, High Courts has a CEO too. The word CEO is too overly used and abused.

If you start your own company and are the highest ranking person in the company, then you are the CEO leh, what's the problem? :p

Some people who start the company are not the main or only financial investor, even though they may be a shareholder. ;)

When someone calls himself CEO, you should also check what the company does and the financials. If you are that kaypoh of course. :D

my point is that sinkies started off their companies and appoint themselves as some half past six CEOs, it is the personality problem in them that they think all look up to him like some CEO of big MNCs.

If you start your own company and are the highest ranking person in the company, then you are the CEO leh, what's the problem? :p

Some people who start the company are not the main or only financial investor, even though they may be a shareholder. ;)

When someone calls himself CEO, you should also check what the company does and the financials. If you are that kaypoh of course. :D

angmoh created another good humble term "principal" for business owners cum CEOs.

By right, "principal" can means shareholder, CEO, managing partner, managing director, director (important positions) in non-legal, non-accountancy term.
However in Asia, it is also abused by many. Many list themselves as principals of MLMs or Ponzi companies even when they are sleeping partners holding 0.000000001% of the share.
So if i want to smoke people, i will use the term "principal".

humble speaks volume about this type of personality, i enjoy working with these type of people.

Like rich boss of SMEs who wanna keep a low profile
Few companies will authorize staff to leave "designation" blank in corporate name cards.

So if you treat them nice, they will assume that you treat them with respect without knowing they are rich.

principal is very british, i think... long time ago, i know one principal from britain. he is another tua kang angmo talking about his connection with virgin CEO, richard branson.

angmoh created another good humble term "principal" for business owners cum CEOs.

By right, "principal" can means shareholder, CEO, managing partner, managing director, director (important positions) in non-legal, non-accountancy term.
However in Asia, it is also abused by many. Many list themselves as principals of MLMs or Ponzi companies even when they are sleeping partners holding 0.000000001% of the share.

Many people will think of principal as the bespectacled stodgy looking man holding a cane. :D

principal is very british, i think... long time ago, i know one principal from britain. he is another tua kang angmo talking about his connection with virgin CEO, richard branson.

americans also used it.
But when asians used this term, i know it is tua kang
Now i see property or MLM agents also use it.

Many people will think of principal as the bespectacled stodgy looking man holding a cane. :D

I came across former bank people starting consultancies, using this term also.
Really makes the consultant sounds bigger or with international favour