why Asian TV only got Angmos on ads?

harimau

No Asians? In angmo countries, only Angmos on TV leh!

Few Asians! Why Asia dun support Asians?

Its not only on TV. Printed media like bill boards prefers angmoh as well. In china, most billboards you see prefer angmoh models as well.

No Asians? In angmo countries, only Angmos on TV leh!

Few Asians! Why Asia dun support Asians?

Good morning Hari :)

One the reason is cost. If you are not aware, TVCs are predominantly produced by FMCG companies for food, hairwash, bodywash, icecream, shavers, handwash, detergents.

You will notice the TVC that is produced is region specific and used in the countries in that region. Most models for hairwash are from Thailand and the voiceover language is then dubbed accordingly for a particular country.

I recalled a TVC on Singapore TV on Lifebuoy handwash using India Indian kids and found it strange for use in Singapore. In any event, I don't use Lifebuoy as I find it extremely "toxic" on my hands. I prefer Kirei Kerei which is much better.

I doubt any FMCG MNC would want to incur specific costs for specific country TVCs.

Good morning Hari :)

One the reason is cost. If you are not aware, TVCs are predominantly produced by FMCG companies for food, hairwash, bodywash, icecream, shavers, handwash, detergents.

You will notice the TVC that is produced is region specific and used in the countries in that region. Most models for hairwash are from Thailand and the voiceover language is then dubbed accordingly for a particular country.

I recalled a TVC on Singapore TV on Lifebuoy handwash using India Indian kids and found it strange for use in Singapore. In any event, I don't use Lifebuoy as I find it extremely "toxic" on my hands. I prefer Kirei Kerei which is much better.

I doubt any FMCG MNC would want to incur specific costs for specific country TVCs.

I like this thai hair shampoo commercial

[video=youtube;DLxXgWNlQmU]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DLxXgWNlQmU[/video]

Times are a-changing. With the rise of China, India and East Asian markets, Asian faces are now increasingly in demand. And the ads are now reflecting this increased consumer spending power.

Godfrey Gao, the global face for Louis Vuitton:

Godfrey-Gao-Louis-Vuitton.jpg

Lee Min Ho, Dunkin' Donuts commercial:

[video=youtube;qz6Sd71EBX8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qz6Sd71EBX8[/video]

This is the real deal from China. It shows they recognized good male actors and there is little age discrimination. Look at Tissot with 黄晓明 and Tag Heuer with 陈道明. If I was shopping for a new watch, I think Tag Heuer carries the message well.

20131015155039-file2.jpg

Times are a-changing. With the rise of China, India and East Asian markets, Asian faces are now increasingly in demand. And the ads are now reflecting this increased consumer spending power.

Godfrey Gao, the global face for Louis Vuitton:

Godfrey-Gao-Louis-Vuitton.jpg

Godfrey Gao is a RSG - Rich Second Generation. Plenty of contacts.

He looks like Pierre Png, but with all due respect Pierre Png looks much better.

In the past maybe.
Now imo, there is a change.

In Indonesia locals dominate the advertisement scene & not the Angmo.