Whose Town Council is this?

This start to happen after they start to cut corners and stop having periodic checks on lifts in HDB estate. There used to be a paper in each lift stating when was the last service and the validity of the paper. I remember that they stop it a few years ago.

Lift in multi-storey carpark drops suddenly

20130506.190245_lift.jpg

SINGAPORE - Just seconds after the HDB carpark lift door closed on the third storey, she found herself "weightless".

Then, she and her husband were slammed against the floor of the lift.'

What started out as an ordinary trip on Saturday afternoon to repair her husband's glasses had turned into a nightmare.

Mrs Lisa Lee, a lawyer, said they were on their way to their car on the fifth storey when she felt the lift "plunge", then stop suddenly.

But the Town Council said their initial checks showed that the lift, located at Block 54, Chin Swee Road, "overran the level" at the six-storey carpark.

Whatever the cause, it left Mrs Lee's husband with a fractured leg. He underwent an operation on Sunday.

Mrs Lee said of the incident that happened at about 3.15pm: "There was no warning or screeching sound. My feet just lifted off the ground and I landed painfully on my knees."

The lift had also stalled.

Mrs Lee was left in a daze for several seconds. The moment she recovered, her instinct was to check on her husband, who is in his early 40s.

She said: "He was holding on to his right leg and groaning in pain. Luckily, we weren't hit by any falling panels from the (lift's) ceiling."

This start to happen after they start to cut corners and stop having periodic checks on lifts in HDB estate. There used to be a paper in each lift stating when was the last service and the validity of the paper. I remember that they stop it a few years ago.

Mrs. Lee is a lawyer, she can sue HDB.

the periodic checks are still in place but notice inside the lift no more there

Exactly. At least we know who was the last person who did the maintenance.

This doesn't makes any sense. I don't see the problem of having notice if they really do periodic checks.

Occurrence like this, lift accident, happen only ONCE IN FIFTY YEARS, we have a spotless maintenance records, the users of the lift, had either existed the permitted load or were jumping violently inside, ha ha ha ha..guess who?? http://www.mktc.org.sg/www/

in the past, every lift has a safety cert inside signed with a signture that look like a fish. and most of lifts were japanese brands. ie... hitachi or fujitech

now hdb lift are service by contractors who won the tender with the lowest bid. and most of the upgraded lifts installed recent years were made in ahtiongland, ie.. Sigma. lousy made lift maintain by contractors who cut corner to save cost.

btw, cannot sue hdb as it none of their biz. SUE Tanjong Pagar GRC Town Council.

Lift-Certificate-2.jpg

Now you know why. Remember that the next time someone you know plunges to his/her death inside a HDB lift.

PAP town councils, plenty of money for dubious overpriced software and minibonds, not a dime for lift maintenance. :rolleyes:

This whole country has been mismanaged by a bunch of incompetent self-serving pricks.

Everything is crumbling down and falling apart: trains, buses, trees, buildings, road potholes.

in the past, every lift has a safety cert inside signed with a signture that look like a fish. and most of lifts were japanese brands. ie... hitachi or fujitech

There are no more lift maintenance certificates displayed inside HDB lifts. In fact, I virtually can't recall having ever seen a lift undergoing maintenance these days.

now hdb lift are service by contractors who won the tender with the lowest bid. and most of the upgraded lifts installed recent years were made in ahtiongland, ie.. Sigma. lousy made lift maintain by contractors who cut corner to save cost.

Yeah, Sigma lifts are horrible. The ventilation inside is poor, the lift is noisy and breaks down often... even when it's new and had only experienced a few months of usage! And most residents have to pay for the lift upgrade. Town councils are laughing all the way to the bank.

it not the town council who laugh all the way to the bank. it the farker who award the tender for the LUP and the service contract after LUP that laugh on the way to the bank. the contract for each LUP lift+lift shaft was quoted ard a million each. a fujitech lift cost ard S$200k-250k each inclusive of installation. the farking lift shaft cost $800k each? i doubt it, somemore fujitech will give bulk discount and further discount if use their service maintainence contract. but instead they use the cheapo Sigma lift. even 1% charge on "kopi lui" of the LUP contract is a huge amount. of course the LUP contractor also laugh all the way to the bank.

Once in 50 yrs event: Lift in multi-storey carpark drops suddenly

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20130506-420686.html

20130506.190245_lift.jpg

subtitle_bg_line.gif

subtitle_arrow.gif

share_word.gif

A hopeful passenger waits for the cargo lift to open its doors. Yet, a flashing "lift under maintenance" sign is reflected on the top right of the lift door at a multi-storey carpark at Chin Swee Road. On May 4, a couple experience a horrific lift ride when the lift suddenly dropped, leaving the couple injured.
By Zaihan Mohamed Yusof
The New Paper
Wednesday, May 08, 2013
SINGAPORE - Just seconds after the HDB carpark lift door closed on the third storey, she found herself "weightless".
Then, she and her husband were slammed against the floor of the lift.'
RELATED STORIES
subtitle_arrow.gif

What started out as an ordinary trip on Saturday afternoon to repair her husband's glasses had turned into a nightmare.
Mrs Lisa Lee, a lawyer, said they were on their way to their car on the fifth storey when she felt the lift "plunge", then stop suddenly.
But the Town Council said their initial checks showed that the lift, located at Block 54, Chin Swee Road, "overran the level" at the six-storey carpark.
Whatever the cause, it left Mrs Lee's husband with a fractured leg. He underwent an operation on Sunday.
Mrs Lee said of the incident that happened at about 3.15pm: "There was no warning or screeching sound. My feet just lifted off the ground and I landed painfully on my knees."
The lift had also stalled.
Mrs Lee was left in a daze for several seconds. The moment she recovered, her instinct was to check on her husband, who is in his early 40s.
She said: "He was holding on to his right leg and groaning in pain. Luckily, we weren't hit by any falling panels from the (lift's) ceiling."

it not the town council who laugh all the way to the bank. it the farker who award the tender for the LUP and the service contract after LUP that laugh on the way to the bank. the contract for each LUP lift+lift shaft was quoted ard a million each. a fujitech lift cost ard S$200k-250k each inclusive of installation. the farking lift shaft cost $800k each? i doubt it, somemore fujitech will give bulk discount and further discount if use their service maintainence contract. but instead they use the cheapo Sigma lift. even 1% charge on "kopi lui" of the LUP contract is a huge amount. of course the LUP contractor also laugh all the way to the bank.

I only step onto a so called Sigma lift once and upon entering and luckily walking out of it in ONE PIECE told my kaki ..

'Is this a REAL lift or a toy lift?LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

======================================================================
The sheer amount of money Sinkie pigeon holers have to pay for things, 80% goes into someone's pocket and 15% for the material and 5% for the workmanship! LOL

I only step onto a so called Sigma lift once and upon entering and luckily walking out of it in ONE PIECE told my kaki ..

'Is this a REAL lift or a toy lift?LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

It is a potential ready-made coffin for you.

Lift accident caused by component failure
http://archive.news.gov.hk/en/categories/infrastructure/html/2010/10/20101025_121319.shtml

Lift accident in Hong Kong skyscraper kills six
http://en.wikinews.org/wiki/Lift_accident_in_Hong_Kong_skyscraper_kills_six