I find HK rules MJ quite bad because loser pays all 3 sides so have to play defensively.Anyone care to share differences between play in HK vs Taiwan vs PRC?
depending on players’ agreement before game, hk payout can involve discarder paying full amount to winner while other 2 pay half.I find HK rules MJ quite bad because loser pays all 3 sides so have to play defensively.
Played PRC rules with some Shanghainese friends before and it sucked even more. Have to let the other players know when you are waiting for winning tile. And when you throw out cards, you are supposed to line them up so everyone can see what cards you discarded. This was just like playing a MJ computer game. I don't consider myself a super good player and even I became the biggest winner that time... And all of them were regular players.
I think the SG/MY rules MJ is the best since there is a balanced offense/defense risk-reward payout. Got a sinkie friend who also used to play mahjong in TW with his clients and he agreed.
Wat about playing the Chicken hand?sg and hk scoring is quite similar except for 4 sextra tiles of chicken, centipede, cat, mouse plus little regard or recognition of 7 pairs. plus hk scoring has a lot more complicated winning hands. tw scoring is more unconventional with 16 playing tiles and 17 winning tiles. for sexample, you can score 1 tai for having any flower or season and 1 tai for not having any honor tiles. plus tw scoring allows pung and sequence tiles from different suits to win.
Wat about playing the Chicken hand?
So chim with chicken hand etc that I never heard of.tw mj allows unsuited mixed pung (with no honor tiles) and sequence sets which is essentially a chicken hand. in sg and hk one cannot win with unsuited mixed pung (no honor tiles) and sequence sets, which is why player shouldn’t pung unless the pung set is red, green, or white dragon honor tiles, or prevailing wind or player wind tiles. must get at least 1 tai to win. in tw mj having no honor tiles means 1 tai which allows player to win with mixed sets constituting a chicken hand.
tw mj is confusing with many winning combos not amounting to 17 tiles. eg. 6 pairs plus a pung instead of 7 pairs plus a pung. in most mj games must have 1 tai to win. if player calls the game with chicken hand game is usually forfeited with penalty of sucking everyone’s cock or tits. i will gladly suck female tits.So chim with chicken hand etc that I never heard of.
I only know chiu gong 抢贡 is not a honourable tiles.
Ah I know now. Chicken hand means no Dai.tw mj is confusing with many winning combos not amounting to 17 tiles. eg. 6 pairs plus a pung instead of 7 pairs plus a pung. in most mj games must have 1 tai to win. if player calls the game with chicken hand game is usually forfeited with penalty of sucking everyone’s cock or tits. i will gladly suck female tits.
I find HK rules MJ quite bad because loser pays all 3 sides so have to play defensively.
Played PRC rules with some Shanghainese friends before and it sucked even more. Have to let the other players know when you are waiting for winning tile. And when you throw out cards, you are supposed to line them up so everyone can see what cards you discarded. This was just like playing a MJ computer game. I don't consider myself a super good player and even I became the biggest winner that time... And all of them were regular players.
I think the SG/MY rules MJ is the best since there is a balanced offense/defense risk-reward payout. Got a sinkie friend who also used to play mahjong in TW with his clients and he agreed.
Now I leecall the rule to call for a 日 only can be done when the banker throws a tile in the opening game and when the 2nd player follow suit the same tile, followed by 3rd player follow suit same tile. So if you are holding a good surface Dai, don't ever follow the banker tiles KNN but if you are the 4th player, cb you cannot prevent this to happen KNNThere is also this dishonorable 日whereby 3 players can animously call for a quit when one of the player is holding upfront good dais with the flowers. Damn kiasu rules KNN
chicken hand to some players may also mean 1 tai or minimum score to win such as having a seated flower or seated wind set or prevailing wind set. it can be a rookie win or a defensive move to prevent someone from winning big. for sexample, if i notice one of my opponents is not discarding a certain set of tiles such as bamboo i assume heshe is stacking bamboo tiles for a full flush or worse, all green or nine gates, thus must deny himher by winning with chicken hand, such as having a seated flower with 1 tai but having a mixed bag of chow (sequence) and pung with no honor tiles. most groups ban chicken hands, especially in tournaments or high stakes games.Ah I know now. Chicken hand means no Dai.
Ah for this, when I played in sg, we will see those players, are they the hero's kind of player or chicken ayam players.
Those chicken ayam ones will insist to game with chicken hand.
There is also this dishonorable 日whereby 3 players can animously call for a quit when one of the player is holding upfront good dais with the flowers. Damn kiasu rules KNN
for fairer play, the discarder pays full amount + pays 2x half amount on behalf of the other 2 player(they pay nothing), this can avoid cheating by 2 players(they are buddies) where they have pre-arranged signal for calling or waiting a particular tile.depending on players’ agreement before game, hk payout can involve discarder paying full amount to winner while other 2 pay half.