Which are the hawkers' food LikeLy you'd kena ketok..

Fishypie

On my watchList are : youg tau foo, kway chap, ngoh hiang..aLways ask the vendors how much $ is your order on the spot right after your seLections.Never choose your items then go away, onLy to aLLow them to dictate the finaL price to you..:cool:
By then aLL your seLections were probabLy cut up, and there's no way for you to recaLL..

Muslim food stalls.

Hope I am helpful for your enlightenment. You're welcome.

Agree with Narong..

When choosing Indian Rojak, must also be careful.. These Mamas will anyhow count..

Must be extra attentive when these Mamas are doin the price counting of the Rojak items you choosed..

Agree with Narong..

When choosing Indian Rojak, must also be careful.. These Mamas will anyhow count..

Must be extra attentive when these Mamas are doin the price counting of the Rojak items you choosed..
BeautifuL part is, mamas never have a need for cacuLators; they just mumbLe grumbLe afew words, and there
comes the finaL figure to you ....:eek::D

I agreed. Always kena kotok .Sometimes I asked for a total countdown and they they apologised and paid me back the excessive amount. Very easy to cheat customers...youg tau foo, kway chap, ngoh hiang....indian rojak.

Very singaporean post.Good posting!

About yong tau hoo....I hate it when those hawkers add an extra piece or two that i did not choose to inflate the price....I dun mind the extra as I am big eater but knn always add in those things that I dun eat.

BeautifuL part is, mamas never have a need for cacuLators; they just mumbLe grumbLe afew words, and there

Sometimes, you have to ask the total amount item by item. They will feel very paiseh.....and then they say sorry, here is your change.Very convenient amount...$5....$6.....$8...and soon. No cents ...

I now make a point to count myself and ask how much before i take my seat. They usually ask you to sit down and they will tell you the amount. So easy to con and cheat. Singaporeans are by and large very nice and very chingchai and we kena easily kotok!

Bro, that's the norm..usuaLLy they want to round up the figure of your order, but it's just so unethicaL.:(
Me kena many times too.

I vote is for kway chap. Two biggest culprits - Kallang Airport market & Tampines round market.

Bro, that's the norm..usuaLLy they want to round up the figure of your order, but it's just so unethicaL.:(
Me kena many times too.

sometimes, i just close one eye. but if it is too excessive, i will ask them to do a item by item count. in most cases, they are wrong and they will say sorry and give you some change back. i remember those days we have the amount of each item, now i dont see the amount hanging there anymore. maybe they have scraped the price guidelines like doctors!!!

I vote is for kway chap. Two biggest culprits - Kallang Airport market & Tampines round market.

I also agreed. They will usually ask you how many people. If you say two, there is a minimum charge. If you say one, there is also a minimum charge. Same thing applies to duck sellers too. And they will usually give you the standard unless you pick and choose the items yourself.Then it will be more expensive!!!

Kallang airport one is ex blanco court.
Knn surviving on fame....daft sinkies as usual see queue follow queue....the stall business booming until occupies 2 units but standards drop a lot already

Most teochew porridge stalls also practice the minimum charge head count thingy

Dont ever pLay into their hands bro..they are certainLy to ask you 1st: how many peopLe.For me i wouLd aLways count 1 person Less; if i have 3 paxs..and if i shouLd have a group, i wouLd choose what i want, and how many bowLs of that chap for us.

Its much more difficult to know the price when these Mamas purposely count the items in Tamil..

Yes, teochew porridge is also another one which can con unwary customers. and it is not cheap to eat teochew porridge.if you order fish you surely kena kotok! now, teochew porridge is no more poor man's diet. only the rich and those who can afford at least $10 can makan.

normally i will take plain porridge, kohlee vegetables and fish cake....about $4.....no duck, no fish, no meat.....then i will ask for a complimentary porridge water to quench my thirst....save money mah. old liao, no income ...so must learn to spend less and talk less.

Most teochew porridge stalls also practice the minimum charge head count thingy

Oh ya, i forgotten this as weLL.i rem those cLubbing days when you bring the gaLs for supper at the then Race Course Road Teochew mooi staLLs, these guys go by the numbers; which is roughLy $12 per pax !
Imagine a tabLe of 10 having porrige, and paying something Like $120 ! ! :eek:
What a ripoff..but Lan Lan bo pian; cos you want to show the gaLs how generous you are ma..:D