What is the Real Purpose of SPF if They Cannot Help SGs?

Posted on 20 May 2012
'Cheap' double stroller scam: Parents, be careful when buying things online

cheap_double_stroller_scam-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Mayuri purchased a double stroller online but the seller later asked the STOMPer for more money to 'release her package from customs'. The STOMPer realised that the 'customs email' was the same as the seller's and advises parents to be careful when buying things online for their children.

Said the STOMPer:

"I was looking to buy a double stroller online for my baby boys when I came across this attractive ad from Gmarket. They were selling the City Mini Double Stroller by Baby Jogger for only $250. The retail price of this exact model is $999.

"Eager to purchase a double stroller for my sons, I did not bother thinking about why it was so much cheaper than the retail price and immediately purchased it with my credit card.

"On that same night, I received an email from Gmarket telling me that the seller had cancelled my order and have refunded me the payment. There was also a memo from the seller stating that they only sold bulk orders on Gmarket and that I had to email [email protected] to place my order for single unit.

"I then thought, 'fair enough, they are selling in bulk, that's why it is cheap'. I then proceeded to email the seller directly to place my order for 1 unit.

"He then instructed me to make payment through Western Union, which I was a bit apprehensive because I did not know how it works. The receiver is a Yusuf Masitha from KL.

"The seller was quite helpful, he listed several Western Union locations near my address and instructed me on how go about it. Following his instructions, I remitted a payment of $280 the following day. After which, the seller told me he would prepare my order for shipment.

"To my horror, I received the following email (refer to pic 3) after I asked for the tracking number. I realised immediately that I have been conned because that so-called 'customs email' matches the one in the seller's info at Gmarket.

"Not only was he not able to provide me any tracking number, he insisted that I pay up the 'release fee' soon otherwise I would incur extra charges.

"I made a police report immediately after that. Disappointingly, I was advised by the officer who took down my statement that the police will not be able to help me to recover the money.

"Not only did I not get the stroller for my boys, I lost $280. Parents are easy preys because we will do anything for our children. Let us be more cautious and not fall prey to the exploits of these scam artists."

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Keywords: scam , cheat
<!--<script src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US" type="text/javascript"></script>-->
LOL
10%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Cute
0%

Shiok
0%

Fail
7%

OMG
0%

Bochup
0%

Ewww!
0%

So Sad
0%

Enraged
83%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->

BosSam will have something abusive to say about this if he sees it.

the poodles protect only the rich.
if u are a PAP minister or related parties, i am sure you will get due attention.
however, u are just a peasant....

Police open road for VIPs.
Police are dedicated private security for VIPs.
Without these VIPs Sinkieland cannot function, so police are doing very important job

You do not need the police if you have a cheap and efficient small claim court system for private citizens to settle these small cheats and claims inexpensively. However, becos of LKY's big ego to keep the court system out of reach of most middle-class citizens, no one is willing to go to court unless you have lots of money to spent.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/P7xPsd3K_Rk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This clown wonders why it was so cheap and yet he fell for it. He forgot the aged old saying that "if its too good to be truth, it always does".
Who to blame but himself.

As for the poodles, you'll need to bring to them enough evidence to secure conviction before they will hew you.

Stop whining. Singapore didn't progress from a fishing village to a modern metropolis by being dependent on others. Self-reliance is the hallmark of the Singapore success story. You got cheated? Recover the money yourself lah. Only know how to complain complain complain. Complaint got use meh? Actions are more practical. Be practical lah please. :rolleyes: