• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Want To Double Your Salary?

jubilee1919

Want to double your salary? Quit your job!
20/11/2012

By Daniel Hunter

The average self-employed worker earns more than double the national average salary, according to a new report by Boox, the cloud based accountancy service.

Self-employment tax incentives and a recent surge in freelance demand have resulted in a positive increase in freelance pay that dwarfs the national standard annual income.

The findings emerged in a study of 1,000 British self-employed workers which found 70% of the self-driven workforce earn over the UK’s £26,093 average with the average self-employed salary hitting an astonishing £50,820 per year.

The average salary differences are particularly surprising given 25% of self-employed workers became contractors as a result of being made redundant.

“This report really lays bare the remarkable changes happening in the self-employed sector. Self-employed workers now account for 12.4% of the UK workforce, a 20-year high,” said Phillip Venn, Commercial Director at Boox, who conducted the report.

uX3Bl.png

“The economic climate has forced a lot of people out of work and many have used the opportunity to set up business for themselves. Ironically, this employment shift has become one of the positive drivers in the stuttering economy.”

For a group of workers who earn well above the national wage, it may come as little surprise that 59% of freelancers often work on the weekend with 15% working at least 35 weekends a year. Additionally, 40% of self-employed workers work longer than the average 41 hours per week with 15% putting in more than 51 hours of work.

One of the drivers of self-employment, according to Dr. John Glen, senior lecturer in Economics at Cranfield School of Management, is what he calls projectisation.

“The increased projectisation of work and an increasing preference for employees to hire contract workers has all led to today’s self-employed workforce becoming an economic powerhouse," he said.

...comes at an opportune time as it is a significant body of evidence which clearly illustrates the realities of being self-employed in the UK.”

“As the report reveals, becoming self-employed can enable workers to earn more money than they might in permanent employment. Employers value the skills and expertise this diverse group of workers bring to an organisation. The rise in the number of self-employed workers is also beneficial for government because it is a key driver of wealth creation, employment and diversity.”

A freelancer on holiday: The report confirms the long held suspicion that the urge to work on holiday is too overwhelming for many. 24% of self-employed workers take no annual leave at all and when they do make the trip, 45% work whilst on holiday. In fact, the self-employed are twice as likely to check work emails whilst on holiday.

Reasons for the growing freelance population: There are three very clear motivators for going freelance; 30% want to be their own boss, 25% are prompted by a major event such as redundancy, and 19% go in search for a better work-life balance. Struggling to find work is the motivator for just 4% of people going freelance.

The gender and age divide: Just over two in three freelancers are male, 69%, compared to 31% of females. However, the report suggests that women are driving the next generation of freelancer with one in ten women freelancing between 24 to 34 years of age compared to only 4% of men.

Education and skills: As one might expect from a thriving sector of the economy, freelancers are well educated with both men and women revealing similar levels of qualification. Overall 31% have a professional qualification, only 4% have no qualifications, nearly one in four, 23%, are educated to undergraduate level,

...whereas 12% have a masters and 8% another form of postgraduate degree.

Retirement: Freelancers may earn more than the average UK employee but that does not mean they intend to enjoy the fruits of their labour through early retirement. In fact, one in four, 26%, intend to retire after 70 year of age or never at all. 18% intend to retire before the age of 60 and a lucky 1% before the age of 45.

Self-employment and the taxman: No matter how organised they are, as a national average, more than one in four freelancers, 26%, have paid too much tax, and just over one in ten, 11%, have paid too little. Combined it means nearly four in every ten freelancers have got their tax calculations wrong.

http://www.freshbusinessthinking.com/news.php?CID=0&NID=16047&PGID=1

Well most ktv hostess earn more than $10k per month...so that's like double or even triple the average salaries of Sinkies... And most Sinkies would gladly give them more with no complaints!

It's what I've been telling everyone for the last 10 years. A self employed guy who mows lawns for a living earns twice as much as the average accountant.

Its not so simple. If you have a job with good upward mobility, you would be wise to remain an employee. As a self employed bloke myself, I certainly won't butter my side of the bread. You need to be talented, and very good in what you do.

If you're talented and very good at what you do, you'll make millions. If you're average, you can make up the shortfall with good old fashioned hard work. You won't become very wealthy but the monthly take will definitely exceed what you'd make as an employee.

Jobs are simply too risky. Upward mobility is temporary. Your fate usually depends upon how you get along with the boss. Then there's the politics to handle. I've been there. I'd rather mow lawns than manage a department.

There are couple of reasons why people prefer not to be self-employed

1) Just fear, lack of confidence, not a risk taker

2) Have a family including kids and not prepared to risk the status quo or family not keen

3) Motivation provided by the nature of the job - scientist, academic etc

There are also people who become self-employed because they have no choice as they have been displaced and cannot find employment.

But I do agree that people who are self-employed and doing well will avoid giving it up even for higher pay.

If you're talented and very good at what you do, you'll make millions. If you're average, you can make up the shortfall with good old fashioned hard work. You won't become very wealthy but the monthly take will definitely exceed what you'd make as an employee.

Jobs are simply too risky. Upward mobility is temporary. Your fate usually depends upon how you get along with the boss. Then there's the politics to handle. I've been there. I'd rather mow lawns than manage a department.

Self-employed as taxi driver make $7,000

Only thing I don't have driving licence or else I will drive taxi

Nowadays even have people leaving $1.1 million in the back seat wor

No point kpkb. You can always apply for one. No need to be a genius to drive a cab. Pass the necessary test(s) and the license is yours.

Being self employed in peesai is difficult. Competition from others with access to cheap labour,COE and commercial rents are a major factor.

In western cuntries, just owning a truck with a trailer can make good money. A cousin of mine in canana only works a few months a year during summer doing landscaping. Just planting small plants and cutting the grass. His full time job the rest of the year is for passing the time and buying crap.

Being self employed in peesai is difficult. Competition from others with access to cheap labour,COE and commercial rents are a major factor.

You can work from home and freelance over the internet to reach a worldwide market.

Register at eLance or freelancer.com.

I used to do banner design for clients via eLance and in good months USD3000+ was the norm. Of course there are the dry months but by being careful with the outgoings, it's still possible to keep the business humming along.

I intended to open a thread about self-employment but I came across this report which is just as well.

A good example I came across whilst driving pass the a housing estate. I noticed a Malaysian-registered van, it was quite a large one and it was parked outside the HDB central rubbish collection centre. Two Banglas were loading household furniture and I presume anything that may be of use into the van.

What Singaporeans threw away is worth quite a penny to the Malaysians. This Malaysian fella must be quite enterprising and his MO surely is to make contacts with these Banglas to call him should they have items for him to collect. He saw the opportunity and he develop a network and it must be worthwhile. As the end of the year approaches, one can be sure Singaporeans will do spring cleaning throwing away usable items they no longer wanted.

Just not too long ago, a self employed Sinkee earning 80K per annum failed to get housing loan for his pigeonhole.

You can work from home and freelance over the internet to reach a worldwide market.

Register at eLance or freelancer.com.

I used to do banner design for clients via eLance and in good months USD3000+ was the norm. Of course there are the dry months but by being careful with the outgoings, it's still possible to keep the business humming along.

Im useless when it comes to this kind of stuff. Im a more physical sort of person. Also i cant stare at a screen for too long. It makes me dizzy.

Just not too long ago, a self employed Sinkee earning 80K per annum failed to get housing loan for his pigeonhole.

That's rubbish. If he had a track record and filed genuine tax returns, he would have had no problems securing a loan.

Im useless when it comes to this kind of stuff. Im a more physical sort of person. Also i cant stare at a screen for too long. It makes me dizzy.

Personal trainer would be a good bet then. The successful ones in Auckland charge $85 per hour or more.

In western cuntries, just owning a truck with a trailer can make good money. A cousin of mine in canana only works a few months a year during summer doing landscaping. Just planting small plants and cutting the grass. His full time job the rest of the year is for passing the time and buying crap.

i hear nothing but excuses.

It's a matter of having the conviction and taking the plunge to be your own boss, answerable to no one. Swimming instructors, driving a school bus, selling items on eBay and etc., there are many options. Even investing in a heavy duty drill can net you some extra cash by advertising your services as most households do not own one and the light duty ones are not able to penetrate the hard concrete walls of HDB flats. I can think up of many examples.

Be your own boss instead of working for the local postal service. LOL.

Nowadays even have people leaving $1.1 million in the back seat wor

cannot! you're overweight and your taxi fuel consumption will be higher..