wah PAP lesd SG garmen so advanced!!

sochi2014

Angmo countries are struggling with old lamps!!

MAJULAH SINGAHURA!!!

Channel NewsAsia Singapore News

LTA replacing 4,000 street lights with LED lighting

The more energy-efficient Light Emitting Diodes (LED) will be installed at 500 roads from this month, according to the Land Transport Agency.

Angmo countries are struggling with old lamps!!

MAJULAH SINGAHURA!!!

Channel NewsAsia Singapore News

LTA replacing 4,000 street lights with LED lighting

The more energy-efficient Light Emitting Diodes (LED) will be installed at 500 roads from this month, according to the Land Transport Agency.

Singaporeans are indeed very lucky. In NZ, most of the streets don't have any lighting at all!!! :eek:

you distort fact again.

u think in UA Ass it is not the same meh ?
that is because these are BIG countries lah.

sillypoo is so so beri beri tiny.

New Zealand

Area
- Total 268,021 km2 (75th)
103,483 sq mi

Singapore

Area
- Total 716.1 km2 (190th)
276 sq mi

Source Wikipedia.org

Leongsam = DUMB ASS + DUMB MIND ;)

NZ Area Size = SINGAPORE Area Size ? LOL

you distort fact again.

u think in UA Ass it is not the same meh ?
that is because these are BIG countries lah.

sillypoo is so so beri beri tiny.

I'm not referring to rural country roads I'm talking about the developed suburbs of Auckland. Even the streets that do have lighting have sub standard old technology lamp posts and lighting that are more than 30 years old.

I'm not referring to rural country roads I'm talking the developed suburbs of Auckland.

Hey king of TWIT

Auckland

1,102.9 km2 (425.8 sq mi)

Why don't you compare PULAU UBIN with Auckland ? LOL :D :D

Hey king of TWIT

Auckland

1,102.9 km2 (425.8 sq mi)

Why don't you compare PULAU UBIN with Auckland ? LOL :D :D

Auckland is twice the size of Singapore but it only has one tenth the number of street lights. Even along the major motorways, the street lighting is extremely dim and lights that don't work are often out of action for months on end.

Auckland is very inefficient when it comes to infrastructure maintenance. Singapore is so much better and it is all thanks to the PAP.

For foreigners?
Or, their own ego...?
Or, their kaki suppliers...?

Why waste money when the old is still working perfect???
How much amount of money it is going to save annually, and what is its payback period... 15-20 years?
If the payback is more than 5 years, forget about replacing with new technology/ material as another new technology will take over the existing one in 2-3 years.

I'm not referring to rural country roads I'm talking about the developed suburbs of Auckland. Even the streets that do have lighting have sub standard old technology lamp posts and lighting that are more than 30 years old.

5-8 years ago, it was reported that Hougang estate is dirty and its streets are not well lite.

Sinkiepore got lousy drivers need more lighting to drive in straight line. Ang moh close eyes still can drive like pro.

because they spend more on the welfare of their citizens , which is correct thing to do.

also , as you admitted in another thread , there are many like your kind becoming citizen
of NZ in order to take advantage of their generous social programs.
so please bear with the "old lamp post" used , at least you got light. :D:D:D:D:D:D

Sinkiepore got lousy drivers need more lighting to drive in straight line. Ang moh close eyes still can drive like pro.

ha ha.. a good note.
Why do we need to light up every corner and the whole stretch of the expressways?
20-30 years ago, friends told me that our Gov. management was on supply-side.
Thus engineering designs were to cater for more usage, rather than saving.
You know who own the power stations that time???

use LED light equal advance?

liddat china must be streets ahead. part of Beijing motorway lamps are power via solar panel.

use LED light equal advance?

liddat china must be streets ahead. part of Beijing motorway lamps are power via solar panel.

Technology and energy usage are of course better than the normal fluorescent lamps.
However, the cost benefit analysis and payback period are to be done to assess whether it is good practice to replace the old with new one.
Our civil services' practices are not that transparent to let us know how the outcome arrived.

Many streets do not need lights at night which are glaring to the residents.

PAP covering their arses with soaring electricity bills and lan lan must find ways to save electricity.

Many streets do not need lights at night which are glaring to the residents.

PAP covering their arses with soaring electricity bills and lan lan must find ways to save electricity.

Now half the country is without power so no street lights and no lights at home either. :rolleyes:

Singapore is very lucky to have the PAP manage the country.

printLogo.png

Stormy weather: Thousands without power

By Brendan Manning
7:36 PM Tuesday Jul 8, 2014

MC080714NADTREEDOWN1_220x141.jpg

A tree brought down by the strong winds blocked both lanes of Three Mile Bush Rd in Kamo. Photo / Michael Cunningham

Are you being affected by the wild weather? Contact the Herald with your stories and photos here.A wild storm which has already cut power to more than 26,000 properties in Auckland and Northland is expected to peak between 2am and 6am.The storm has already brought winds of up to 160km/h to parts of the Far North and is expected to hit Whangarei from about 10pm.

MetService forecasters issued a severe weather warning for Northland, predicting the region's eastern hills could receive 120-160mm of rain over the 24 hours from about midday. Severe easterly gales, with gusts of 140km/h in exposed places were also expected.

Watch: Windy conditions hit Northland
<nzh-inline-video id="144039" position="center" media-id="15821188"></nzh-inline-video>

The winds had already ripped roofs from their houses and felled numerous trees throughout the region.

In Auckland, easterly gales were expected to strengthen with severe gales rising to 120 km/h are in exposed places.

The New Zealand Transport Agency has reduced the speed limit on Auckland Harbour Bridge from 80km/h to 70km/h and warned motorcyclists and drivers of high-sided vehicles to avoid the bridge altogether if possible.

Spokesman Ewart Barnsley said gusts of more than 60km/h had been recorded on the bridge today, with the wind forecast to get stronger overnight.
"We would urge people to travel only if they have to."

Motorists were advised to be aware of fallen trees and branches throughout the night.

Northland Police said heavy rain and strong winds have been battering the area and the weather was expected to worsen between 2am and 6am tomorrow morning.

Northland road policing manager Inspector Murray Hodson said if possible, people should stay off the roads overnight. "Watch out for surface flooding. If you hit a large pool of water it will be like skating across ice and you will have no control."

There had been reports of trees and power lines coming down and the roofs of 12 houses in the Kaitaia area were blown off in the high winds, Mr Hodson said.

A truck has crashed onto its side on State Highway 1 at Mangamuka and a tree has fallen onto a car on SH10 at Awanui, he said. The occupants were not injured.

Vector said strong winds and driving rain in Auckland had caused outages to about 9000 customers in the region. That number had been reduced to 7000 by 8.45pm.

The power cuts had been caused by trees and branches striking lines or bringing lines down, causing outages in Whenupai, Coatesville, Helensville, Takanini, Whangaripo, Waiwera, South Head, Muriwai, Tapora, the Kaipara hills and Kaukapakapa. There is also a larger outage in the Riverhead area.

"The predicted high winds, predominantly from the north east, have caused damage in the northern part of our network. It is predicted that winds will worsen overnight."
Vector crews and support staff were working into the night in an attempt to restore power.

Far North lines company Top Energy said almost 10,000 households in the region were without power at 5pm due to the severe storm. The number affected was expected to drop to 1100 overnight.

Properties remaining without power were expected to be reconnected by nightfall tomorrow, the company said in a statement.

Members of the public were reminded to stay clear of downed powerlines at all times.

Up to 8000 Northpower customers are currently without power and more could be affected - bringing the total number without power in the region to 17,000.

Depending on the severity of the storm overnight, some customers could be without power for days.

However, network damage will be assessed tomorrow.

High winds have caused multiple outages in the Kaipara and Whangarei Districts since 5pm and more are expected.

About 3000 customers in rural areas around Dargaville township are without power and people are also affected in many other locations - Waipu, Maungakaramea, Poroti and Taipuha included.

WeatherWatch: (July 7) School holidays
<nzh-inline-video id="144019" position="center" media-id="15802628"></nzh-inline-video>

Who to call:
* Vector electricity: North Shore, Waitakere or Rodney 0800 948 100 (option 1) Auckland, Manukau or Papakura call 0508 VECTOR (0508 832 867)
* Vector gas distribution (Auckland-wide): 0800 764 764
* Vector gas transmission (Auckland-wide): 0800 734 567
* Northpower (Kaipara and Whangarei districts): 0800 104 040
* Top Energy (Far North district): 0800 867 363
By Brendan Manning
- APNZ

Copyright ©2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Now half the country is without power so no street lights and no lights at home either. :rolleyes:

Singapore is very lucky to have the PAP manage the country.

printLogo.png

Stormy weather: Thousands without power

By Brendan Manning
7:36 PM Tuesday Jul 8, 2014

scroobal, GoldenDragon et al.:

Given the scale and frequency of such awesome disasters, do you still wish to and encourage Sinkies to emigrate to NZ?

Auckland is twice the size of Singapore but it only has one tenth the number of street lights. Even along the major motorways, the street lighting is extremely dim and lights that don't work are often out of action for months on end.

Auckland is very inefficient when it comes to infrastructure maintenance. Singapore is so much better and it is all thanks to the PAP.

Gong Kia admin ,

Since you like pap so much, why would you want to be a QUITTER ? Come back here and stop being a stray dog.

Auckland is so much bigger than singapore. Of course it is easier to manage light install.

Anyway don't be a quitter, come back and contribute. Too much adult stuff for you is very unhealthy. ;)