• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Video] Chio,fair ATB explain you why Intel 18A technology foundry will be success

Eisenhut

This M is jin chio, porcelain fair skin , beautiful eyes. I bet her nips and pussy are pinkish, likely from Xinjiang. Watch liao i really want push my copper Pillar into her narrowly etched hole

https://www.techpowerup.com/344435/amd-ryzen-9-9950x3d2-and-ryzen-7-9850x3d-are-real-coming-this-ces

Dec 31st, 2025 21:11 +08 change timezone

Sign in / Register

Latest GPU Drivers​

New Forum Posts​

Popular Reviews​

TPU on YouTube​

Controversial News Posts​

Friday, December 26th 2025
amd-v1766423580.png

AMD Ryzen 9 9950X3D2 and Ryzen 7 9850X3D are Real, Coming this CES?

by btarunr Friday, 20:11 Discuss (50 Comments)
AMD is preparing to refresh its Ryzen 9000 series "Zen 5" desktop processor lineup with two high-end chips targeting gamers and PC enthusiasts, the 8-core Ryzen 7 9850X3D, and the 16-core Ryzen 9 9950X3D2. The 9850X3D is a speed-bumped 9800X3D, while the 9950X3D2 comes with 3D V-Cache on both its 8-core chiplets, compared to the 9950X3D, which only has it on one of its chiplets. The Ryzen 7 9850X3D comes with a maximum turbo frequency of 5.60 GHz, a 400 MHz increase over the 9800X3D, along with a TDP of 120 W, which is expected to increase its single-thread performance by 5-7%.

The Ryzen 9 9950X3D2 is a different beast. It comes with a maximum boost frequency of 5.60 GHz, which is a 100 MHz reduction over the 5.70 GHz that the 9950X3D comes with, but both its chiplets have 3D V-Cache, allowing for more flexible scheduling and thread migration. With a combined L3 cache of 192 MB, this chip could also be vastly preferred by the workstation and creator crowd that's working on memory-intensive workloads. All this comes at a cost, though, with AMD rumored to increase TDP to 200 W, up from the 170 W of the 9950X3D, which could mean a PPT value nearing the 250 W-mark. Geekbench and PassMark numbers of the 9950X3D2 just surfaced on the web, which show the newer chip to be 2% faster than the 9950X3D despite the marginally lower clock speed, however, the real heft of this chip will be felt in memory/cache sensitive workloads.

Sources: x86isdeadandback (Twitter), Olrak29_ (Twitter), VideoCardz

Related News​

50 Comments

1 to 25 of 49Go to Page12PreviousNext#1cinemaware

"Ryzen 9 9950X3D2", a real tongue twister.
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 20:23Reply#2dont whant to set it"'

cinemaware"Ryzen 9 9950X3D2", a real tongue twister.
Or "X3DX2" or "X3D'' " or "X3D^2" or "X3Dπ"...
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 20:30Reply#3avatar_raq

I believe the CPU sales will suffer from the RAM crisis. I am sure a lot of people will postpone upgrading their PC till the dust settles.
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 21:16Reply#4kondamin

2twitters don’t make summer
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 21:18Reply#5dont whant to set it"'

@Hereticbar

Kind of like the Isuzu D-Max( the his and hers)
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 21:20Reply#6TheDeeGee

Will there finally be AI at CES next year?
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 22:04Reply#7kikimaru024

avatar_raqI believe the CPU sales will suffer from the RAM crisis. I am sure a lot of people will postpone upgrading their PC till the dust settles.
The people who would benefit from a 9950X3D2 already either have a huge amount of RAM and just need the best CPU, or are willing to spend whatever amount it takes for its performance because they can make back the money very quickly.

Average people/gamers don't need this level of compute.
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 22:58Reply#8kondamin

kikimaru024The people who would benefit from a 9950X3D2 already either have a huge amount of RAM and just need the best CPU, or are willing to spend whatever amount it takes for its performance because they can make back the money very quickly.

Yes, for the mythical x3d2 part sure.
the rest of the stack no.
Posted on Dec 26th 2025, 23:56Reply#9_roman_

Same real as last time as someone ran another processor and spoofed the Microsoft Software?
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 0:00Reply#10A Computer Guy

kikimaru024The people who would benefit from a 9950X3D2 already either have a huge amount of RAM and just need the best CPU, or are willing to spend whatever amount it takes for its performance because they can make back the money very quickly.

I suspect AI agents might benefit :rolleyes:
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 0:34Reply#11LastDudeALive

Very interested to see if we'll see another massive leap in gaming performance from the extra L3 cache, or if the dual-CCD design will prove too much of a burden and it'll require AMD's chipset software and Xbox Game Bar to keep games on 1 CCD like the current models.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 0:41Reply#12TheinsanegamerN

LastDudeALiveVery interested to see if we'll see another massive leap in gaming performance from the extra L3 cache, or if the dual-CCD design will prove too much of a burden and it'll require AMD's chipset software and Xbox Game Bar to keep games on 1 CCD like the current models.
It's still gonna need GameBar.

The real treat will be zen 6 with a 12 core CCD and a 144MB L3 cache.

The games that I have that benefitted the most from cache, Starcraft II and Sins of a solar empire, are both single threaded.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 0:51Reply#13A Computer Guy

LastDudeALiveVery interested to see if we'll see another massive leap in gaming performance from the extra L3 cache, or if the dual-CCD design will prove too much of a burden and it'll require AMD's chipset software and Xbox Game Bar to keep games on 1 CCD like the current models.
I'm placing my bets on next to zero impact on gaming. If memory serves they experimented early on with a prototype dual CCD x3d chip and figured out it wasn't worth it. Of course that won't stop them from marketing it as the ultimate gaming chip. After all they are just giving people what they asked for ad-nauseum.

Granted the tech is more refined now with X3D cache on bottom instead of on top allowing better heat management and higher clocks. What I think it will do is normalize the performance of the CCD's when it comes to cache hits and memory access which may benefit some cache sensitive applications especially if threads aren't jumping around between CCD's. This is where a lot of generalized testing for mass consumers might end up showing a nothing burger, like what happened when 9950x/9950x3d was initially released compared to last gen, but those who specialize in benchmarking productivity will find the niche use cases when and where it really shines.

There will still be the issues of latency when crossing the infinity fabric between CCD's (hopefully not as bad when 9000 series launched) and probably they will still have the issue of one strong CCD and one weak CCD to pull gaming expectations back down to muh's and grunts. Hopefully AMD won't have a 3rd round of exploding X3D chips but I'm very nervous at the prospect of putting one in my Asrock motherboard too now that flashback as a failsafe seems now a pretty much useless AM5 feature.

Having said all that I still want one.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 1:00Reply#14evernessince

kikimaru024The people who would benefit from a 9950X3D2 already either have a huge amount of RAM and just need the best CPU,
I'm not really sure what you are basing the assumption that everyone already has the RAM they want for the next few years but I can guarantee you it ain't true.

You are making the huge assumption that everyone buying these parts is an ultra-enthusiast that always buys the latest parts and always buys ahead. That's a fraction of the 0.1% that represent the enthusiast community.
kikimaru024or are willing to spend whatever amount it takes for its performance because they can make back the money very quickly.

People keep saying this is how the high end enthusiast space works but it's not. You can price people at the top end out of buying your flagship part, make them wait longer between upgrades, or even to just to stop caring at all. I would know, I skipped 3 GPU generations due to crap pricing and offerings.

When your memory is now $900+, that will absolutely impact buying decisions. Again, you are presenting a tiny fraction of the market as if it's the whole.
A Computer GuyI'm placing my bets on next to zero impact on gaming. If memory serves they experimented early on with a prototype dual CCD x3d chip and figured out it wasn't worth it. Of course that won't stop them from marketing it as the ultimate gaming chip. After all they are just giving people what they asked for ad-nauseum.
Wasn't worth it to AMD. They never said it wasn't worth it to gamers. People always forget when AMD or any company is telling them something isn't worth it, you have to remember who is framing that answer.

It's like Nvidia or AMD telling you 8GB is enough.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 2:17Reply#15TheinsanegamerN

evernessinceI'm not really sure what you are basing the assumption that everyone already has the RAM they want for the next few years but I can guarantee you it ain't true.

You are making the huge assumption that everyone buying these parts is an ultra-enthusiast that always buys the latest parts and always buys ahead. That's a fraction of the 0.1% that represent the enthusiast community.

People keep saying this is how the high end enthusiast space works but it's not. You can price people at the top end out of buying your flagship part, make them wait longer between upgrades, or even to just to stop caring at all. I would know, I skipped 3 GPU generations due to crap pricing and offerings.

When your memory is now $900+, that will absolutely impact buying decisions. Again, you are presenting a tiny fraction of the market as if it's the whole.
evernessinceWasn't worth it to AMD. They never said it wasn't worth it to gamers. People always forget when AMD or any company is telling them something isn't worth it, you have to remember who is framing that answer.

complaining about "huge assumptions" while building your arguments on huge assumptions is peak irony.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 2:36Reply#16ymdhis

If the X3D2s are coming this CES, then I take it Zen 6 is still a bit further away.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 2:41Reply#17Bigshrimp

I doubt CPUs are going to sell like they used to. If other parts, like memory, SSDs, etcetera are being completely overstocked by enterprise for AI data centers (75% of it not even being used yet, lol) and there is none left for consumers, then what reason do consumers have to buy anything if it costs too much or isn't even available for purchase?

Watch these pathetic and greedy companies crash and burn, then come crawling back since there is no profit in AI with this circular financing of each other's companies. They are just chasing the next big thing in hope for profits. It has to be the biggest grift in history.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 4:02Reply#18evernessince

TheinsanegamerNcomplaining about "huge assumptions" while building your arguments on huge assumptions is peak irony.
Only if you aren't aware that almost every scientific field relies on assumptions and axioms to form fundamental laws. There are absolutely different levels of proof behind various assumptions which primarily differentiate the rambling of joe smoe from, say for example, Isaac Newton. Quantum entanglement for example demonstrates and operates with the idea that particles exhibit non-locality despite the fact that it may violate other fundamental laws, like not being able to travel faster than the speed of light. It operates on that assumption because it works.

There's a reason I noted his assumption was "huge". It's a rather far fetched idea to imply almost everyone buying these CPUs already have the memory they need. That's against basic human nature and observed behavior we've seen in this market time and time again.

You've provided no argument here. You are here only to poopoo on others without providing anything of substance.

Also, I should point out that the following statement from me was absolutely not an assumption yet you took the time to quote it specifically.:
Wasn't worth it to AMD. They never said it wasn't worth it to gamers. People always forget when AMD or any company is telling them something isn't worth it, you have to remember who is framing that answer.
That is an epistemological reminder, not an assumption. It serves as a means to inform the reader that AMD's interpretation of it being "worth it" is not the same as the customer's.

On that matter, quoting that and calling that an assumption, you are undoubtedly incorrect.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 5:23Reply#19A Computer Guy

evernessinceWasn't worth it to AMD. They never said it wasn't worth it to gamers. People always forget when AMD or any company is telling them something isn't worth it, you have to remember who is framing that answer.

So hello, my paraphrasing it was a bit inaccurate I admit. To clarify (

reference
hqdefault.jpg

) to get the gaming benefit you need to stay cache resident says the AMD guy in the video. One can then reasonably extrapolate that dual CCD cache is not worth it for gaming unless games of course are optimized to solve the cache residency problem with dual CCD's.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 6:01Reply#20Steevo

I’m debating buying the 9850X3D to replace my 7800X3D.

Why? Cause why not and I already do have 64GB RAM.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 6:50Reply#21evernessince

A Computer GuySo hello, my paraphrasing it was a bit inaccurate I admit. To clarify (

reference
hqdefault.jpg

) to get the gaming benefit you need to stay cache resident says the AMD guy in the video. One can then reasonably extrapolate that dual CCD cache is not worth it for gaming unless games of course are optimized to solve the cache residency problem with dual CCD's.
Probably not for games, yes. Maybe a couple percentage points faster than single cache die chips (excluding the frequency improvements of course). I can forsee a few situations where if you have multiple programs open, it can help more game data stay resident on the correct die. Kind of makes sense for that ultra-high end segment in that scenario, because those are the people most likely to do something like that. A streamer for example or a person who's heavily multi-tasking. I know I run mutiple virtual desktops myself with RD sessions open while gaming. For most people, they are better off sticking to single CCD. At least so long as X3D parts command such a large premium.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 7:08Reply#22springs113

SteevoI’m debating buying the 9850X3D to replace my 7800X3D.

Depending on how good the 9950x3d2 vs the 9850x3d, I may go that route. I've got enough spare parts to make 2 more pcs.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 7:10Reply#23SL2

I still don't think the extra L3 will do much difference alone, just like I don't think Bartlake Lakeᴸᵃᵏᵉ would be anything special today. (Yes, that's unrelated)

Getting ready to eat one hat.

The 3D2 sounds cool and all, but in the end it's just a minor release, even if a bit more exciting than a Hz bump. Now if the V-cache would be unified underneath both chiplets that would remove the bottleneck it would change things, but it's probably not feasible for now anyway.

Zen 6/7 is the way to go for upcoming AMD buyers, if current models won't do.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 11:12Reply#24Bagerklestyne

SteevoI’m debating buying the 9850X3D to replace my 7800X3D.

Same, though we have differing vid cards.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 15:26Reply#25LabRat 891

L3 cache access across chiplets, is still faster than paging to disk due to lack of RAM,
and
2x8GB DDR5 is being given away w/ boards.

Just sayin'.
Posted on Dec 27th 2025, 16:44Reply1 to 25 of 49Go to Page12PreviousNext
Dec 31st, 2025 21:11 +08 change timezone

Sign in / Register

Latest GPU Drivers​

New Forum Posts​

Popular Reviews​

TPU on YouTube​

Controversial News Posts​

Copyright © 2004-2025 www.techpowerup.com. All rights reserved.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners.