• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

USA says Singapore has no data integrity when dealing with China virus statistics

gingerlyn

"If a destination does not provide data, their travel health notice level is designated as 'unknown' and travellers are advised to follow travel health notice Level 4 recommendations," said the CDC.

Other countries that the US CDC has classified as having an "unknown" level of COVID-19 include Afghanistan, Cambodia, North Korea and Syria.

gingerlyn

In other words, the level of data integrity in Singapore is the same as Afghanistan, Cambodia, North Korea and Syria.

Have Sinkies already forgotten the data leaks from MOH and some telcos? Or how Tracetogether has turned into something far beyond a simple Bluetooth contact-tracing system? :wink:

covertbriar

The U.S. has reclassified its travel advisory alert for Singapore to "unknown".

The move was made by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Protection (CDC) on Jan. 4.

It also suggested that travel to Singapore should be avoided.

Other countries whose status are at the same classification include North Korea, Yemen, Syria and Afghanistan.

The advisory said, "Because the current situation in Singapore is unknown, even fully vaccinated travellers may be at risk for getting and spreading COVID-19 variants."

More at https://shrtcô.de/hZDIdF

cowbellc

The U.S. has reclassified its travel advisory alert for Singapore to "unknown".

The move was made by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Protection (CDC) on Jan. 4.

It also suggested that travel to Singapore should be avoided.

Other countries whose status are at the same classification include North Korea, Yemen, Syria and Afghanistan.

The advisory said, "Because the current situation in Singapore is unknown, even fully vaccinated travellers may be at risk for getting and spreading COVID-19 variants."

More at https://shrtcô.de/hZDIdF
Expected. Our govt has no clue too about what is happening whatsoever.
1 side locals all mask on, the other side got major new year celebration with amdk no mask on.

borom

I always suspect we have a lot of things in common with North Korea- so much so that we actually organised the Trump KIm summit on June 12, 2018.
Now we are also grouped with Yemen, Syria and Afghanistan -how come no POFMA and FICA?
Are we keeping quiet and accept it or going to sue CDC until pants drop.?
Where is OYK-busy with snake and ladders or cycling downhill?

Cottonmouth

U.S. CDC Cautions Against Travel to Singapore in ‘Bizarre’ Move​

By
Vincent Lee
and
Derek Wallbank
5 January 2022, 04:12 GMT+8 Updated on 5 January 2022, 12:12 GMT+8

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on Tuesday urged Americans to avoid traveling to Singapore entirely, reclassifying its Covid-19 advisory for the city-state and saying the situation there is now “unknown.”

The change stems from a lack of testing data that the CDC used to get from data aggregator Our World in Data. That information hasn’t been updated since Nov. 8, the CDC said in an email to Bloomberg.

The designation came as a surprise in Singapore, which maintains far stricter testing and social distancing measures than in the U.S., and where the city-state’s Ministry of Health posts detailed virus statistics, in English, on its website every day.

“I do think it’s bizarre,” said Ooi Eng Eong, a professor of emerging infectious diseases at Duke-NUS Medical School, adding that Singapore tests so much that “we know more than what most people look for.”

“Clearly some are more comprehensive than others, and I would think that Singapore is among those that are extremely comprehensive in our surveillance,” said Ooi.

Singapore, which was previously classified under the CDC’s highest Covid-19 risk level, has seen local cases fall from more than 4,000 a day in late October to less then 400 a day now. The city-state has resisted closing its borders again amid a surge of imported omicron cases that have arrived from the U.S. and Europe, where the variant is widespread.

Singapore’s hospitalizations remain low, with more intensive care unit beds available than in use. The country is also bolstered by one of the highest vaccination rates in the world -- 87% of the total population are fully inoculated and more than 40% have gotten their booster shots.
Yet for the CDC, Singapore is now placed in the same classification category as Afghanistan, North Korea and Syria, as well as microstates in the Pacific that don’t have the infrastructure for complex data reporting.

The latest Covid updates

Make sense of the headlines and the outbreak's global response with the Coronavirus Daily.

Email

By submitting my information, I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and to receive offers and promotions from Bloomberg.
CDC said in a statement to Bloomberg that it evaluates primary criteria including cumulative new case counts and case trajectory information provided directly by health ministries to the World Health Organization. Secondary criteria data, such as tests conducted per capita and test-to-case ratio, are obtained from places like Our World in Data and ministry of health websites. It’s measured over a 28-day period and reviewed daily.
More from

H.K.’s Omicron Cluster; Singapore Travel Warning: Virus Update
Singapore’s Covid Infection Rate Jumps as Omicron Cases Rise
U.S. Schools Close in Droves as Omicron Drives Staff Shortages
CDC Sticks to New Covid Isolation Guidance, Rebuffs Extra Tests
In a statement on its website, CDC said that “if a destination does not provide data, their THN level is designated as ‘unknown’ and travelers are advised to follow THN Level 4 recommendations,” which is to avoid travel there entirely. “Because the current situation in Singapore is unknown, even fully vaccinated travelers may be at risk for getting and spreading Covid-19 variants,” the CDC said.
The U.S. agency has reversed errant designations before. In September, the CDC mistakenly flagged Hong Kong as a growing risk for Covid, despite minimal cases there at the time. It later revised the designation down to its lowest risk level.
Singapore reported a total of 842 new Covid-19 cases as of noon on Jan. 4. Of those, 334 were in the community, 6 were in foreign worker dormitories, and 502 were imported.
— With assistance by Kyunghee Park, and Low De Wei

borom

Is this call punching above our weight -will LHL use it to say we have done well and praise himself?

U.S. CDC Cautions Against Travel to Singapore in ‘Bizarre’ Move​

By
Vincent Lee
and
Derek Wallbank
5 January 2022, 04:12 GMT+8 Updated on 5 January 2022, 12:12 GMT+8

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on Tuesday urged Americans to avoid traveling to Singapore entirely, reclassifying its Covid-19 advisory for the city-state and saying the situation there is now “unknown.”

The change stems from a lack of testing data that the CDC used to get from data aggregator Our World in Data. That information hasn’t been updated since Nov. 8, the CDC said in an email to Bloomberg.

The designation came as a surprise in Singapore, which maintains far stricter testing and social distancing measures than in the U.S., and where the city-state’s Ministry of Health posts detailed virus statistics, in English, on its website every day.

“I do think it’s bizarre,” said Ooi Eng Eong, a professor of emerging infectious diseases at Duke-NUS Medical School, adding that Singapore tests so much that “we know more than what most people look for.”

“Clearly some are more comprehensive than others, and I would think that Singapore is among those that are extremely comprehensive in our surveillance,” said Ooi.

Singapore, which was previously classified under the CDC’s highest Covid-19 risk level, has seen local cases fall from more than 4,000 a day in late October to less then 400 a day now. The city-state has resisted closing its borders again amid a surge of imported omicron cases that have arrived from the U.S. and Europe, where the variant is widespread.

Singapore’s hospitalizations remain low, with more intensive care unit beds available than in use. The country is also bolstered by one of the highest vaccination rates in the world -- 87% of the total population are fully inoculated and more than 40% have gotten their booster shots.
Yet for the CDC, Singapore is now placed in the same classification category as Afghanistan, North Korea and Syria, as well as microstates in the Pacific that don’t have the infrastructure for complex data reporting.

The latest Covid updates

Make sense of the headlines and the outbreak's global response with the Coronavirus Daily.

Email

By submitting my information, I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and to receive offers and promotions from Bloomberg.
CDC said in a statement to Bloomberg that it evaluates primary criteria including cumulative new case counts and case trajectory information provided directly by health ministries to the World Health Organization. Secondary criteria data, such as tests conducted per capita and test-to-case ratio, are obtained from places like Our World in Data and ministry of health websites. It’s measured over a 28-day period and reviewed daily.
More from
H.K.’s Omicron Cluster; Singapore Travel Warning: Virus Update
Singapore’s Covid Infection Rate Jumps as Omicron Cases Rise
U.S. Schools Close in Droves as Omicron Drives Staff Shortages
CDC Sticks to New Covid Isolation Guidance, Rebuffs Extra Tests
In a statement on its website, CDC said that “if a destination does not provide data, their THN level is designated as ‘unknown’ and travelers are advised to follow THN Level 4 recommendations,” which is to avoid travel there entirely. “Because the current situation in Singapore is unknown, even fully vaccinated travelers may be at risk for getting and spreading Covid-19 variants,” the CDC said.
The U.S. agency has reversed errant designations before. In September, the CDC mistakenly flagged Hong Kong as a growing risk for Covid, despite minimal cases there at the time. It later revised the designation down to its lowest risk level.
Singapore reported a total of 842 new Covid-19 cases as of noon on Jan. 4. Of those, 334 were in the community, 6 were in foreign worker dormitories, and 502 were imported.
— With assistance by Kyunghee Park, and Low De Wei

阿龙死了 得罪了 bee cock... more intimidation coming from angmoh kao...

borom

“Even from my sickbed, even if you are going to lower me into the grave and I feel that something is going wrong, I will get up."
I hope soon

Is this call punching above our weight -will LHL use it to say we have done well and praise himself?

He said this is a year of transition. I hope he transitions from the mortal realm to the nether realm. Preferably painfully and over a protracted period of time.

How can the USA cast doubt on our integrity? Must take umbrage against such wild accusations!

It's a ridiculous claim and purely geopolitical cock swinging.

Once again US is tightening the screws on sinkieland for siding with China.