• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Triads / Street Gangs Fall - In Here

Y

Yip Hon

>

Triads linked to Downtown East murder ?

By Faris – November 9th, 2010

Two street gangs with colourful histories are being investigated in connection with the brutal stabbing and murder of a young student at Downtown East last month.

The Chinese dialect name Fong Hong San, or “Phoenix Mountain” in English, is believed to have been uttered during a confrontation with another gang called “369″ that led to the death of 19-year-old Darren Ng Wei Jie on the evening of October 30th.

Four teens, aged between 18 and 20 , have been arrested and charged with murder. One of Darren’s assailants, Edward Tay Wei Loong, 18, is still under intensive care following his desperate attempt to escape the police.

According to The Straits Times, Fong Hong San’s members are said to be active in Pasir Ris and their favourite hangout is Downtown East.

An ex-triad leader, 56, who declined to be named, told the same paper that the original Fong Hong San had its roots in Indonesia but moved to Singapore in the 1960s when it began betting, protection and loan shark activities first in Bukit Batok and Circuit Road before re-locating to Geylang.

He said: “But it was most famous in Circuit Road, where there were a lot of gangs. It won the turf. It was quite a big gang, 200 to 300 people.”

Meanwhile, police have stepped up patrols at Downtown East and the surrounding neighbourhood.

Police spokesman Lau Kian Keong said on Monday that police “have been conducting regular patrols in the area and have stepped up patrols following the incident”.

MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, Dr Ahmad Magad said he and fellow MP Teo Chee Hean, who is also the Deputy Prime Minister, have also asked police to intensify patrols and to be particularly on the lookout for people behaving suspiciously, especially with the year-end school holidays and festivites around the corner.

A sales promoter who worked at Downtown East and called himself Jonathan was also quoted on ST as saying he has seen gangsters hanging out at the pool hall. Quarrels have escalated into fights, although not necessarily at Downtown East itself.

“They head to the multi-storey carpark here when they have something to settle – each group with about 10 to 20 people,” he said. It is said that ‘talks’ have also taken place at void decks of nearby housing blocks.

>

Robert Half

After reading the above.. I am convinced that our future generation workforce is solely depending on young foreigners here :biggrin:

Y

Yip Hon

>

YOU don't disturb my territory, and I don't disturb your territory.

That was how secret societies operated in Singapore in the 1950s and the 1960s. Gangland activities were rampant then.

Mr Harmon Singh recalls "those bad old days":

"When I first joined (the police force) in the beginning of 1959, I found out that secret societies were rampant. Organised crime, secret societies and gangland clashes were almost a daily affair, and there were gangs all over Singapore. Certain areas were worst than others. I got deeply involved in solving crimes and curbing secret society activities."

"In the course of dealing with the underworld, I learned that there were a few major secret society groups in Singapore. The main ones were groups like the 108, 24, 32 and 36, and the triad societies. Each of these major groups had splinter branches under them, for example, the 108 group had gangs like the Pek Kim Leng."

Click to listen to RealAudio.

Gangs were divided according to different areas in Singapore. The various gangs and their splinter groups were engaged in protection rackets, vice activities, prostitution and extortion in their respective "territories".

A gang would control many of the businesses operating in its area - like four-digit lotteries, opium dens, brothels and gambling dens. As some areas were controlled by different gangs, violent clashes often broke out between the groups.

A table of hot-spots for secret society activities: Who control where
Ang Peh Hor Jalan Membina, Tiong Bahru
Ang Soon Tong 10-milestone Nee Soon area to end of Sembawang
Hai Lock San Tiong Bahru, Seng Poh Road
Leng Hor San Covent Garden, Havelock Road
Pek Kim Leng Bugis, Chinatown
Sar Ji Boat Quay, Mohd Sultan, Kim Yam, River Valley Road
See Tong North Bridge Road, Beach Road, former Odeon Theatre area, Seah Street
Sio Oh Leng Ganges Avenue, River Valley Road

Even the "fairer sex" was not left out. All-women gangs, like the Ang Hor Tiap (or Red Butterfly Gang), were very common during the '60s and the '70s.

"They consisted mainly of cabaret girls, bar girls and hostesses," said Mr Singh. "Usually girls who were jilted by their lovers or who had had some unpleasant experiences with men. They were very mischievous and wild."

Mr Singh said that the women gangs were frequently involved in fights, but they usually did not engage in robberies or housebreaking.

These gangs gave protection to girls working in night-clubs and bars. Their favourite haunts were places like Clifford Pier, Eu Tong Sen Road, Jalan Besar, Tanjong Katong, Geylang and the Capitol Theatre vicinity.

>

Y

Yip Hon

PEOPLE became gangsters for several reasons.

Some looked upon gangs as a means of making a living, while others were influenced by friends. Some enjoyed the feeling of power of being associated with gangs.

But every new member had to go through the same initiation ceremony.

A finger of the new member would be pricked and the blood collected in a bowl. All the new members would then be required to drink from this bowl. The members also need to swear their allegiance before the Chinese Warrior God.

Mr Harmon Singh said that the gangs at that time adhered strictly to their "code of ethics":

"For example, when something goes wrong in a particular area involving two different secret societies, the headmen of the gangs will arrange for settlement talks.

"One headman will name the place, the other party will name the time. Then they will meet to talk. One party will bring five people, the other will also bring five people. If all goes well, they shake hands and forget about the incident. But sometimes things couldn't be resolved.

"For example, if someone overturns the table, it means that he is unhappy. A curfew is then declared between the two gangs, and from that moment on, if one member is found in a rival gang's territory, there is a high chance that he will be stabbed or beaten up."

Click here to listen to RealAudio.

The gangs created a lot of problems during the '60s and the '70s. Gangsters were involved in all sorts of illegal activities, extortion, even murders and arson. Fortunately, gangs were gradually wiped out after tougher criminal laws were introduced.

"When a law called Section 55 came into effect -- it helped put a lot of gangsters behind bars," said Mr Singh.

Under the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act, or "Section 55" as it is more popularly known, suspected gang members were detained or placed under police supervision without the need for open trials. Victims were allowed to identify gang members from photographs in secret, and not face-to-face.

"Some young kids today consider themselves gangsters but they are no comparisons to those old-time gangsters who did it as a living and who had certain codes of conduct," said Mr Singh. "To me, these kids are just hooligans."

Today, most gang members of the past have already gone clean to start legitimate businesses. Occasionally, Mr Singh still bumps into one or two former gang members whom he had once put in jail. And he even sits down to have coffee with them.

"If not for you," one ex-gangster told him, "I would have gone to prison for much worse crimes, and maybe even hung. I would have been a much more hardened person."

Y

Yip Hon

>

THERE were hundreds of opium dens all over Singapore way back in the 1960s.

And it was easy to detect a den, said Mr Harmon Singh. Just follow your nose.

"All you need to do is to stand at a particular spot, and just breathe -- you can smell opium, and quite easily know that there's a den in the vicinity. But today it's hard to detect in that manner.

"There were hundreds of opium dens all over the island, especially in places like See Kar Teng (Tiong Bahru area), Poh Lee Long (Henderson Road area), Ho Chwee Shua (Bukit Ho Swee), Sembawang, Johor Road, Queen Street and Geylang. "

Click here to listen to RealAudio.

According to Mr Singh, the opium smokers were mainly elderly Chinese people in those days.

"Some of the gangsters those days used to smoke opium before they went out to commit crime, especially housebreaking. It gave them the needed courage."

Mr Singh recalled how easy it was to carry out raids on opium dens.

"There were hundreds around -- you could see 30 to 50 dens in Tiong Bahru or Sungei Road area easily. Maybe even 50 or 100 in Chinatown alone."

Due to police efforts in wiping out drugs, the opium dens began to disappear in the 1970s.

As most of the dens were located in attap huts, urban renewal also helped to decrease the number of possible venues that could be used as opium dens.

"With newer drugs coming into the market, opium just went out of fashion."

REMEMBER the James Bond movie, Goldfinger? That is what some people call Mr Harmon Singh.

And the nickname could not be more appropriate for the private investigator, since the 14 gold rings that adorn his fingers have become something of a "trademark" for him. The significance is that he was born on the 14th day of December.

Another trademark: Mr Singh always wears white.

"I'm just a straightforward person," he said, "I'm not superfluous. Maybe that's why I like white, a colour that symbolises purity and cleanliness."

But don't, for a second, think that it would be easy to spot him from within a crowd. A master of disguises, Mr Singh will not hesitate to put on dirty clothes if his job requires him to do so. One moment, he is a kacang putih seller at a cinema. The next, he is a taxi driver making his rounds.

And if you ever encounter a shabbily-dressed road sweeper, look again. It could just be Mr Singh behind one of his many different "faces". His disguise kit includes items like a fake beard, a moustache, a songkok and a turban.

"I'm a very easy mixer and I can blend into any situation very easily.

"As an investigator, you should be very versatile. You must be able to act as a vagabond when the need arises.

"I don't drink any whiskey, brandy or beer but yet I pretend to be drunk when I'm at a bar or a tavern. I just keep my eyes and ears open."

Click to hear Mr Singh talk about blending in.

Mr Singh is the holder of The Most Celebrated Private Detective in the World title, an award bestowed upon him by an international panel at a 1995 event organised by the Indian Institute of Security and Safety Management. Over the years, he has been awarded more than 30 medals and commendations.

His first book, "The Private Investigator: Licence to Peep", is written jointly with Straits Times journalist Rav Dhaliwal.

"The book touches on my life," said Mr Singh, "My police days, my childhood, my private investigator days, and also the secret societies and gangs that existed in the late '50s and the '60s."

He was an expert on busting gangs when he was in the police force and had received many commendations for his bravery and good conduct. Aside from rounding up gangsters and breaking up street fights, he also solved many crimes like robberies and housebreaking.

Mr Singh now handles mostly matrimonial cases (like divorce and adultery) and commercial crime, instead of dealing with hardcore gangsters.

To the aspiring investigators, Mr Singh offered this advice:

"You must have honesty, integrity and dedication. You must (be ready to follow) the principle of promising less and doing more. And you must be on call 24 hours a day."

Y

Yip Hon

Singapore secret societies

Labels: thought

Downtown east murder which is said to be related to gang fight leads me to wonder about the existence of secret societies in Singapore.

And guess what? Wikipedia does have an entry about this topic. In its article, "Secret societies in Singapore", there are some names mentioned (not so secret afterall, huh?): '21 (Dhee It)', Sio Kun Tong(Salakau) (369) (Chao), 18 Zhup Puey (Siao)(Sio Yi Ho), 'The 04 Gang' (Inactive), 24 Ghee Hia Di(Dhee Xi)', 'Kong Puey 08(Kong)', and some other 'Independent gangs'.

Interesting to note also the list of the gangs under the category of 'Independent gangs':

* Sarajumbo (Indian Gang)
* Veerasamy (Indian Gang)
* Riyadi gang( Malay Gang)
* Omega (Malay gang)
* WuNaga (chinese,malay gang) 5NG (Inactive)
* 806 Woodlands Woodlands, Singapore Coffeeshop(Mixed gang)
* Seven stones(mix gang)(Inactive)(powerful)
* Cinababi (chinese gang)
* Nasibabi (malay gang) *Ondru Saernthu Paaduvom (indian gang)
* Mata Siao(999)(very powerful)
* no limit(tampines kia)kepala:ammar
* melayu ribot(city hall,bawah ketiak mak kau,ade bulu,carik dalam2

Y

Yip Hon

Triads, The: Chinese Secret Societies In 1950S Malaya & Singapore

by Comber, Leon

Price: US$20.16 (SGD28.00*)
Format: Paper Back, 200 pages
Published: 2009, Singapore, 1st Edition
ISBN: 9789810814670
SB#: 047780 (113)

About This Book
Written for the non

-specialist in the 1950s as two short books, this volume reissues Dr Leon Comber's introduction to Chinese Secret Societies in Malaya and Singapore. The original purposes and later criminal and other roles of the Secret Societies (or Triads) are discussed. Rituals, regalia, oaths, symbols and codes used are illustrated and described. With Chinese and English indexes.

* Omega (Malay gang)

Very funny names.....why would a chinese gang call themselves as CINABABI :confused:

Y

Yip Hon

Secret Societies

Posted by kevinkwekjh under Uncategorised

(0) Comment • (3804) Reads • Permalink

36 oaths of the Hung Society, Tiandihui initiation ceremony altar paraphernalia (William Stirling Co)
Early 20th century
Singapore
1996-02795
NHB Collections
National Museum of Singapore

Many of us have heard about the secret societies of Singapore’s past, the dark and shady precursors of today’s gangs. They have always been portrayed as evil-doers who liked nothing better than to stir up violence. But were they?

This set of 36 oaths taken during the induction ceremony shows that perhaps, secret society members were not the horrible gangster-style troublemakers they are often portrayed as. Their loyalty to society and their blood brothers is a rare and admirable trait. Many members lived their lives according to these oaths; their actions were probably driven by them too.

Many may ask, why join a secret society? Imagine if you were miles away from home and were given an opportunity to join a society of people from your homeland, wouldn’t you join? Many of these secret society members were the manual labourers who toiled endlessly beneath the sun, day after day. They only wanted to maintain that sense of belonging to their homeland, never intending to create trouble or start fights.

Many of our forefathers were members of secret societies. They may have given their blood and tears during the fights but their sweat and toil were given to building our nation.

Y

Yip Hon

Hokkien-Teochew Riots of 1854By Tan, Bonny written on 2003-07-08
National Library Board Singapore

Comments on article: InfopediaTalk

The Hokkien-Teochew riots began on 5 May 1854, set off by an argument over a rice purchase. The riots spread through Singapore, leaving 400 dead and 300 homes destroyed. It was a conflict between the secret societies of the multi-ethnic Ghee Hin (which included Hakka, Cantonese as well as Teochew members) and the Hokkien Ghee Hok members. It was aggravated by immigrant rebels from China. The riots were considered probably the most violent and lengthy amongst the secret societies.

Background
A number of Hokkiens who had participated in the ill-fated Short Dagger Rebellion in Amoy in 1853 escaped to Singapore. They were associated with members of the Ghee Hok clan. However, ill feelings developed toward the local Teochews who refused to join in a subscription to aid the rebels. Added to this, both Teochews and the Hokkiens were involved in an increasingly competitive rice trade. With improved shipping, the British had made inroads in the rice trade in Singapore. A reduction in rice supply from Java and increasing local population saw a greater demand for rice and an increase in the price of local rice. All these factors culminated when a purchaser and shopkeeper fought over the price of rice. The argument ignited the tensions between the Hokkiens and Teochews.

Consequences
Fighting began in the town and radiated to the rural areas where the Chinese communities resided, including Paya Lebar, Bedok and Bukit Timah. Extending for 12 days, the riots became more violent in the rural areas leaving 400 dead with even more injured and 300 homes destroyed. The police, under Superintendent Dunman (Dunman Road is named after him), were overwhelmed. They recruited the help of the sepoys and marines, along with 200 Malays and various European volunteers, both residents and those in outlying ships.

Rumours of the riots spread to Malacca and Johor and similar outbreaks threatened to occur in these states. At least 500 were arrested with 250 tried, six sentenced to death but only two executed. The trials lasted 17 days. It was noted that the riots reached such heights because the rural areas were less policed and one particular clan was overwhelmingly larger than the other. With the help of influential Chinese merchants, the various Chinese parties were appeased. The riots though did not harm any member of the policing forces nor people from the other races. The riots saw the need for volunteer help in keeping law and order and thus saw the formation of the Volunteer Rifle Corps. Dunman was awarded the Sword of Honour for his efforts.

Author
Bonny Tan

Balls2U

Singapore secret societies

Labels: thought

Downtown east murder which is said to be related to gang fight leads me to wonder about the existence of secret societies in Singapore.

And guess what? Wikipedia does have an entry about this topic. In its article, "Secret societies in Singapore", there are some names mentioned (not so secret afterall, huh?): '21 (Dhee It)', Sio Kun Tong(Salakau) (369) (Chao), 18 Zhup Puey (Siao)(Sio Yi Ho), 'The 04 Gang' (Inactive), 24 Ghee Hia Di(Dhee Xi)', 'Kong Puey 08(Kong)', and some other 'Independent gangs'.

Interesting to note also the list of the gangs under the category of 'Independent gangs':

* Omega (Malay gang)

U left out the most powerful triad/gang of all times - PAP

wizard

Once i was drinking beer with a few frens in a coffee shop at bukit batok..

A man in his 40th approach us. Polo shirt and white short and with tattoo, from my experience he is a low rank gangster ( i use to live in beach road STEEL market when i was young )..

He was holding some coupons and was extemely polite.. He address us as AH Hiang ( Brothers) and wanted to sell us the coupons.. After looking at it .. it was some Dinner for RCs or grassroot or something like that..

We politely decline and he was shocked as if we are stupid to reject an offer of only about less than $20 we can have a full 10 course dinner with entertainment..

Before he left he tried his last sale pitch to sell us the ideas that we may have to chance to shake hand with LHL as he is the GOH.. I politely declined again and he left..

We had a good laugh after that as we were thinking even if they pay us $ 20 we will not attend as it spolit my appetite..

Now I know why opposition posters mysteriouly pulled out of the lamp posts
threw on the floor during election time ...

...VOTE Wisely...

boundThunter

Ang Hor Tiap

AR628C-3003.jpg

Velli sexy too...:o

from what I've heard, cinababi and nasibabi are prison gangs. dunno if they are still active outside.

I have never been to prison so maybe that's why i have never heard of them :biggrin:

I know Omega is for ex-convicts. Used to be if you never been to jail you cannot join.
They show off time spent in the slammer as a badge of honour - Spider web tattoos on the elbows.

I have never been to prison so maybe that's why i have never heard of them :biggrin:

I know Omega is for ex-convicts. Used to be if you never been to jail you cannot join.
They show off time spent in the slammer as a badge of honour - Spider web tattoos on the elbows.

spider wed tatt on elbow is american. so is the teardrop. i heard from a malay campmate those dumbasses has so much time in the slammer that they start inserting pieces of plastic (cut from toothpaste caps) into their dicks. Later i got to know it's called "pearling". something that latino prisoners like to do in US too.

with this kind of fucked up "hobbies" in prison, who will come out being reformed? sure join gang lah..