• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This is what happened to you when you have dementia in time to come...

SBFNews

Maid suspected employer had dementia, withdrew S$18,710 from elderly woman's account
www.channelnewsasia.com

SINGAPORE: Suspecting that her elderly employer was suffering from dementia as she displayed memory loss, a maid used her employer’s debit card to withdraw money for herself.

Over about a year, Indonesian national Mimin withdrew S$18,710 from her 71-year-old employer’s bank account and remitted most of it home.

Mimin, who goes by one name, was sentenced to five months’ jail on Monday (Feb 13). The 39-year-old woman turned up in court with luggage in tow.

She pleaded guilty to one charge of theft by servant. Another two charges were considered in sentencing.

The court heard that Mimin began working for the victim and the victim’s bedridden husband in October 2020 for a monthly salary of S$670 to S$690.
Her tasks included caring for the elderly couple, cleaning the house and accompanying the victim to the hospital and supermarket.

While caring for the victim, Mimin realised that the victim had symptoms of memory impairment and formed the impression that the victim suffered from dementia.

On one occasion, the victim was withdrawing money and Mimin caught a glimpse of the PIN that she entered. The maid memorised the number and took note that the victim kept her debit card in her handbag.

As the victim’s memory deteriorated over time, the victim entrusted Mimin with withdrawing money for her on occasion.

When Mimin withdrew money for her employer, she would also take some money for herself. She also stole the card on occasion to withdraw money.

Over 46 occasions between January 2021 and December 2022, she withdrew a total of S$18,710 from the victim's bank account and remitted most of it home, except for S$30 that she used to buy a pair of earrings for herself.

VICTIM'S DAUGHTER NOTICED LOW BALANCE​

On Feb 11, 2022, the victim's daughter used the debit card to withdraw money on the victim's behalf. She realised that there was a balance of about S$100 in the account and felt that something was amiss, as she remembered there was a balance of about S$13,000 as of August 2021.

She told her brother what she discovered and they discussed the matter before lodging a police report three days later.

Mimin initially maintained in her first two police statements that she neither stole the debit card nor any money. She claimed that her employer had voluntarily given her the card and authorised her to withdraw money.

She said she either passed the money to her employer or used it to buy groceries on her employer's instructions.

The maid only admitted her crimes in her third police statement, after she was confronted with remittance slips recovered through investigations.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Colin Ng asked for four to six months' jail. He said no restitution was made except for the pair of earrings.

He said Mimin had exploited the victim's deteriorating memory and denied the offences at first.

"As of 2021, there are about 246,300 migrant domestic workers employed in Singapore, serving roughly one in five households," he said. "While the vast majority of these domestic maids are honest, there will always be black sheep who seek to abuse the trust reposed in them."

District Judge Eugene Teo said he took into account the fact that Mimin's father had died and that she was going through a difficult period.

Mimin's lawyers from Shook Lin & Bok highlighted that Mimin had used the money to help pay off her family's debts.

"If this was a case where you took the monies for entirely frivolous purposes, like for gambling or for luxury goods, your sentence would easily have been doubled in this case," said Judge Teo.

However, he said this was still a serious offence, with a maximum of up to seven years' jail.
Source: CNA/ll(mi)

Mimin's lawyers from Shook Lin & Bok highlighted that Mimin had used the money to help pay off her family's debts.

"If this was a case where you took the monies for entirely frivolous purposes, like for gambling or for luxury goods, your sentence would easily have been doubled in this case," said Judge Teo.
I find the Judge’s logic flawed. Steal to pay off her family’s debt is a mitigating factor? Steal is steal leh.

Can I step out of my car and pee in public in the middle of PIE because it’s urgent?

realDonaldTrump

children aim HDB. Now many seniors are sitting on HDBs worth $600K-$900K. Suddenly all very filial these days, and lawyers very busy amending wills.

Rising worry in Singapore - Financial abuse of seniors by their children​

https://www.thestar.com.my/aseanplu...ren-is-being-looked-into-says-social-ministry

SINGAPORE (The Straits Times/ANN): Elderly parents forced by their children to sell their assets – to their children’s benefit but to the seniors’ detriment – is an emerging issue raised by social workers and other stakeholders.

D

Deleted member 178254

You can help reduce your risk of dementia by:
  1. eating a healthy, balanced diet.
  2. maintaining a healthy weight.
  3. exercising regularly.
  4. keeping alcohol within recommended limits.
  5. stopping smoking.
  6. keeping your blood pressure at a healthy level.

Norty

You can help reduce your risk of dementia by:
  1. eating a healthy, balanced diet.
  2. maintaining a healthy weight.
  3. exercising regularly.
  4. keeping alcohol within recommended limits.
  5. stopping smoking.
  6. keeping your blood pressure at a healthy level.
Good list, thanks. I read several articles on the topic as my grandmother had dementia.
Preventing dementia is a complex process, but there are steps one can take to promote brain health. These include staying mentally and physically active, maintaining a healthy diet, getting regular exercise, managing chronic conditions, avoiding smoking and excessive alcohol consumption, and staying socially engaged.
While medications can be beneficial for certain conditions, it's important to consult healthcare professionals. You can also check the info about them on the canadian pharmacy site if you need the details.

play mahjong otherwise kum gong.
pong (requires luck and alertness)
kong (requires more luck and alertness)
(mah)jong (requires most luck and high alertness)
bong (requires luck and fuck)

maid aims savings account

children aim HDB. Now many seniors are sitting on HDBs worth $600K-$900K. Suddenly all very filial these days, and lawyers very busy amending wills.
Your own Childrens are ok, lah. However, dumb sinkie gave their HDB to their foreign wife, who subsequently evicted their sinkie husband. In anticipation that sinkies are stupid sheeps, LKY made the decision to lock up Sinkies' CPF for good.

Moral of the story that Elderly Sinkies and young foreigners are not a perfect combinations to live together.