This has been long happening in Ah Tiong Land and so many chiobus posting weedios liao. Virgin case in Malailand but not chio leh

WangChuk

https://www.asiaone.com/malaysia/jo...erral&utm_campaign=A1+trending&utm_content=c8

malaysia

'This job has become a part of me': Single mother in Malaysia becomes trailer driver to support family​

'This job has become a part of me': Single mother in Malaysia becomes trailer driver to support family

The single mother of three has been a trailer driver for five years and documents her life on TikTok.
PHOTO: TikTok/izzaraqiesha
PUBLISHED ON June 17, 2025 5:55 PM By Bhavya Rawat

When presented with an opportunity to fulfil her ambitions and earn a living for her family, Irzunika Idris went full speed ahead.

The 39-year-old has been working as a trailer driver for five years, which was around the time she became a single mother to her three children.

Speaking to Malaysian publication, Harian Metro, Irzunika said: "Some people questioned why I chose this line of work when I'm a woman, but I carried on because I enjoy it and I need to earn a living to support my children."

She said she always wanted to become a lorry and trailer driver, even though she knew it would not be easy.

"My father was a lorry driver, I was inspired and developed an interest in becoming (a driver) after watching him work," she said.

"I also enjoy doing challenging things, so this job really suits me."

Irzunika added that while her mother had reservations about her choice of profession, she came around after seeing that her daughter was taking things seriously.

'Driving alone can get emotional'​

Irzunika, who is from Perak, described the first three months of her job as particularly challenging.

"At first, it felt awkward to drive because it's not easy to handle the steering, reverse, and park in tight spaces, but...I didn't give up," she said.

"Another early challenge was dealing with breakdowns on the highway and eventually, I got used to it. I started with light lorries before moving on to trailers."

Irzunika spends most of her time on the road, which means she is away from her children.

"Sometimes I'm only home for one to three hours before heading back out to work," she explained.

"That's my daily routine, and driving alone can get quite emotional when I think about my children, but they understand. I'm also grateful that my mum helps look after them while I'm away."

But an upside to the job is being able to travel around the country and try food from different places, Irzunika said.

As long as she's strong enough, she hopes to continue earning a living in the profession.

She also said that she wishes to meet a man who understands her passion, if she's destined to marry again.

"I want to carry on because this job has become a part of me, and with the income, I can buy my children the things they want," she said, adding that her love for the job also motivates her to share her life on TikTok and inspire other women.

"I've received lots of positive feedback, with many asking how to become a driver. But there are also those who criticise and question me just because I'm a woman," Irzunika said.