The real reason why bad Ang Moh on MRT not prosecuted?

On Tuesday, Law Minister K Shanmugam posted on his Facebook page about the incident involving a Caucasian on the MRT train who was verbally abusing a younger man for wearing a t-shirt the former somehow disagreed with.

The bully had also made threats against the youth, threatening to “throw you off” the train when it pulled into Ang Mo Kio station.

Later, a Malay man, now known as Elfy, stepped forth to defend the youth from the abuse.

The police were called in and both men (the Caucasian and Elfy) got off the train.

From subsequent status updates on Elfy’s Facebook page, it appears that the police had let the bully off, without taking any action against him.

The lady who recorded the incident in the train and uploaded the video online, Nabilah Nasser, also later said the police even allowed the bully to take the same train as them to continue his journey.

It is unknown who the employer of the man is, and what “action” Mr Shanmugam hopes it will take against its employee.

It is interesting to note that the Law Minister asked the employer, and not the police, to “take some action” against the man for what some see as rude behaviour, and nothing more.

Indeed, one comment on the Law Minister’s post says “being an a**hole is not against the law.”

Nonetheless, Mr Shanmugam’s remarks raise questions of another almost similar incident – this time involving 16-year old Amos Yee.

Yee was in the limelight the last two months for having posted a rude video of the late Lee Kuan Yew which the authorities found to have “wounded the religious feelings of Christians.”

A day after he posted the video in March, a man – reported to be a grassroots leader in the Telok Blangah area – posted a threat online directed at the teenager.

The grassroots man, who was later identified as Jason Tan, had posted the following, referring to Yee:

“For me, I would cut his dick and put in his mouth for blemish Jesus Christ.”

Subsequently, a police report was made and police began investigations.

Two months later, the police said it was closing the investigation and was issuing a “stern warning” to Mr Tan “in lieu of prosecution.”

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/201...bully-what-about-man-who-threatened-amos-yee/

Shamugan as the law minister doesn't know the law!

The angmo was more than just an ar**hole; he was belligerent and if good sinkee didn't step in to defend fellow sinkee, the angmo could have beaten up the teen.
Surely, the angmo could have been charged for disturbing the peace.

Opposition should put up a video to highlight how the PAP put angmo first and point out that Shanmugan didn't dare to stand up for sinkee. He asked employer to take action when the SPF could do something.

We have a law minister who doesn't know his job! Shame the PAP and this minister.

The police should also explain why they not only refused to take down the guy's particulars, but even refused to view the evidence when asked to do so by the young lady who took the video. Because they were finishing their shift duty soon?

AMDK .....if you need further proof then ask Shanmugan.
Pinkerton disease is alive and well and doesn't only affects SPGs

The angmo was more than just an ar**hole; he was belligerent and if good sinkee didn't step in to defend fellow sinkee, the angmo could have beaten up the teen.

Opposition should put up a video to highlight how the PAP put angmo first and point out that Shanmugan didn't dare to stand up for sinkee. He asked employer to take action when the SPF could do something.

We have a law minister who doesn't know his job! Shame the PAP and this minister.

What about straight intimidation and verbal assault? Isn't there a charge for that?

Angmo hamtum cab driver until bloodied and go hospital also boh taichee....dun count on them kena such frivolous charges

There was no physical violence.
The verbal hurt was nothing.
The boy was quiet and why you guys make so much noise.
You hear worse vulgarities and expletives everyday at our kopitiam.
Nobody gives a damn!
Why focus so much on the angmoh!!!
Come on you retarded heads.
Give the angmoh a break lah!!!
Go see your knn friend for a kopi!!

The older generation usually call these kind of dark lawyer, " hak law yau".....if you know the insinuations....approximately translated as " black backside"....." hak lau yaw"....how do you expect them, to interpret the law??

Nobody gives a damn!

Oh good....there is no physical....so you feel elated, when an ang mo....f^%###%# your mother ^%^$&^*^*? you yellow slit eye chink of a p%$%##^^ mother?..wah!...you feel so honoured! yah!?

Nobody gives a damn!

Ooi! Don't talk cock lah! You go try yelling KNNBCCB to LHL see got crime or not?

Why should any state for that matter waste resources and be bothered about ;

Sinkie to Sinkie spat

FT to Sinkie spat

Sinkie to FT spat and finally FT to FT spat?

You can spat for all the state cares, for unless your spat resulted into a RIOT, then the state will..

care! LoLoLoLoL

Uttering threats and threatening physical violence is against the law. If the Law minister himself will not uphold the law, then who will? So tomorrow Roy can stand on the street corner and threaten Gay Loong? He will be told by Shagyourmama that his employer will take action against him? Oh wait, he is unemployed. LOL

Nobody gives a damn!

Ah, like that I can also stand in the MRT train and threaten Gay Loong with physical violence, nothing will happen to me, right? Just like nothing happened to the angmo?