the new MAS ruling on housing and its impact on the new buyers

me read with great interest in this new ruling from MAS, and couldn't help it, but ask for help from the pool of learned bros here...

the new rule states, 1st mortgage would require a downpayment of 40%, does anyone any idea how much of the downpayment could be paid using CPF?

let's do some maths, supposing a HDB 4 room costs about SGD$350,000.00 , then 40% would be around SGD$140,000.00 . assuming this sum is fully deducted from the CPF from 2 people, that would be SGD$70,000.00 each. further assuming cash component is 10% instead of the usual 5%, one has to prepare SGD$7,000.00 in cash and SGD$63,000.00 in CPF OA.

assuming an individual earns SGD$3,000.00 per month, me think it will take a long time for 1st time buyer to smell the fresh coat of paint in their new home. did someone mention raising the TFR?

After NS and getting a degree a sinkee male will already be in their mid 20s. Immigrate is the best option. Sinkees are dumb to be fuck over and over again.

No, you are not a sheep, but you are a low IQ male species

The new ruling is so clear but you are still confused

The new LTV applies to loans beyond 30 years tenure or if term ends beyond 65 years age of borrower

Even if 10% down you also don't have, all given to the PRC foxes given your low low IQ

I think the government is sending a strong signal that the property market has overheated and telling good honest folks not to join in the madness, nevermind the TFR. Better wait a few quarters for the market to cool down than to slog an eternity for an asset worth half its price paid, no?

We are fortunate to have somebody in the cabinet willing to take away the punch bowl when the party is getting good.

In Singapore,it's surprising PAP created all this red hot property prices all these years and they are still in power.In HK,the people would have protested and the housing minister would be forced to resign in no time.

me read with great interest in this new ruling from MAS, and couldn't help it, but ask for help from the pool of learned bros here...

the new rule states, 1st mortgage would require a downpayment of 40%, does anyone any idea how much of the downpayment could be paid using CPF?

let's do some maths, supposing a HDB 4 room costs about SGD$350,000.00 , then 40% would be around SGD$140,000.00 . assuming this sum is fully deducted from the CPF from 2 people, that would be SGD$70,000.00 each. further assuming cash component is 10% instead of the usual 5%, one has to prepare SGD$7,000.00 in cash and SGD$63,000.00 in CPF OA.

assuming an individual earns SGD$3,000.00 per month, me think it will take a long time for 1st time buyer to smell the fresh coat of paint in their new home. did someone mention raising the TFR?

The fact you give HDB example means you do not have to worry about it as this applies to getting rid of dumb SGPoreans wanting to speculate in the corrupt rich from overseas needing money parking spaces. Even at 500K, ZH, you can afford to buy HDB, with or without your other half, so long as you continue to work.

ZH can show the link of what you have posted? Something is not right.

The most logical result would be pple would be stopped from buying houses beyond their means. If they cannot afford HDB that cost 350K they should get a 3 rm which cost at least 50-100K less

I think the targets are those middle age upgraders, who sell existing flat, take a bigger loan with a longer repayment period and receive immediate cash to tour (some go batam too).

Bank got so stupid will lend middle age dudes 50yr loan meh? It's not even possible to get it back. I thought those were targeted at greedy young couples or those doing property investment. Even if the deal goes bust they are young enough to work and repay the money

More rules to make life more complicated :mad:

Anyone still remember the rules that MAS forced on the banks to make it more complicated to use one's ATM & credit card when one is overseas:rolleyes: What's worse they left it to the banks to decide on the details:rolleyes:
Now when I go on a trip I contact all my banks to activate ALL my ATM AND credit cards because I can't remember the different rules on which country I can use an ATM or Credit cards:(

Bank got so stupid will lend middle age dudes 50yr loan meh? It's not even possible to get it back. I thought those were targeted at greedy young couples or those doing property investment. Even if the deal goes bust they are young enough to work and repay the money
Oh dear, we have different idea for middle year. 50 yr is middle age to you but it is lau kok kok to me. I was thinking of those in late 30s to mid-40s to be considered as middle-age where they are at the prime of their career.

The Straits Times
Home buyers unfazed by new restrictions on home loans
Some condo showflats packed, business brisk a day after new limits on mortgages kick in
Published on Oct 07, 2012
By Rachel Chang & Amanda Tan

Despite new restrictions on the length of home loans that took effect on Saturday, house hunters did not stay away from condominium showflats islandwide.

At new launches like Riversails along the Punggol waterfront and Cityscape at Farrer Park, showrooms were packed and agents said that business was brisk.

At a 748-unit development in Bedok South called eCO, for example, at least 20 units were sold on Saturday. The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) said on Friday that it was capping the length of a home loan at 35 years.

It also lowered the loan limits for those who take loans past 30 years, or which extend beyond the retirement age of 65. Such buyers can take a loan of only 60 per cent of the property's value, down from 80 per cent, starting on Saturday.

[h=2]MAS warns property buyers against false confidence[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
October 7th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

“The maximum tenure of all new residential property loans will be capped at 35 years. In addition, loans exceeding 30 years tenure will face significantly tighter loan-to-value (LTV) limits. This will apply to both private properties and HDB flats. The new rules will take effect from 6 October 2012. ~ Monetary Authority of Singapore
This is a welcomed move by the Monetary Authority of Singapore helmed by Finance Minster Tharman Shanmugaratnam, to cool the property prices, especially the HDB prices, which seem to be spiraling upwards, out of control (link: http://bit.Iy/U3HRRL).

In three short years, from 2009 to 2012, prices of HDB flats have increased by at least a hundred thousand dollars across all flat types. Recognising this unsustainable upward trend in the prices of public housing, the Ministry for National Development (MND) has directed HDB to build more flats and in a few years, there will be more apartments in the market. MND hopes that this will stabilise the escalating prices. But in the meantime, it is important to prevent a price bubble and to instill more stability into the public housing market.
This move by MAS is expected to affect older buyers more than those that are younger. For example, someone who buys a property when he is 40 years old, will only be able to get a 25-year mortgage. The 40-year-old who wants to take more than a 30-year loan, or extend the loan past the age of 65, will have to fork out more cash. If it is the buyer’s first mortgage, such loans can only be up to 60 per cent of the property’s value, and if it is is the buyer’s second, the buyer’d get a loan at no more than 40 per cent of the property’s value. This would mean that the buyer would have to fork out 40 – 60 per cent in cash to purchase that property.
The PAP Government of Singapore has chosen enhancement of public housing as a social policy to support old age, instead of targeted social transfers.
The Senior Minister of State for National Development, Tan Chuan-Jin, for example referring to Gintai’s friend Anak Abu said:
Eventually, when Anak Abu moves on in years, and when his children are older, he would own his Bedok flat. If he needs to supplement his retirement needs, he could rent out a room or move to a studio flat. If Anak Abu had bought a more affordable flat, he would have had more for retirement. If he had chosen not to buy the flat at all, he would have rented and would have more money in his CPF; but he would have had more cash outlay over the years and he would not have owned his own home (link: http://on.fb.me/IFkl4h).
Because this Government has substituted asset enhancement for an adequate social safety net, the premature bursting of the asset bubble will prove devastating for the PAP. This is the reason why this Government is intervening in the red-hot property market, only a few months after it last stepped in (without much success).
The PAP Government also seems to be backtracking from its Asset Enhancement Policy, and is now saying to HDB owners not to assume that they can always sell their flats at a higher price. The rising property prices may give a false confidence, it warns.
Ravi Philemon
* This article was first published in Ravi Philemon’s blog at http://www.raviphilemon.net.