Serious The main reason why taxi fares in S’pore is so expensive (whose fault is it?)

tomychua

Article Source: http://bit.Iy/1Uz31EM

Over the years, everything has become more expensive, from your kang kong to your Prada bag. So it comes as no surprise that taxi fares have been increasing in the last few years—not that we are any happier about it, of course.

When it happened, we start complaining about how our hard earned wages are getting “eaten”, about how everything cost more but our wages remained the same and more. But one thing we have forgotten to ask, or maybe we didn’t bother to, is why it happened.

Is it the cost of fuel? Well, fuel prices have dropped but hey, surprise-surprise, the taxi fare hasn’t. In fact, the only place we saw prices drop back down once supply increases are probably FairPrice (just think back to the egg price hikes and subsequent fall).

6765670_orig.jpg

Taxi commuters pay an average of $10, for a distance between Yishun and Kovan which is approximately 20 km. However, this does not include your peak hour surcharges, booking charges, location charges and so on and so forth.

It’s no wonder that we prefer to go along with Uber/Grab, as long as there’s no crazy driver.

So is it the taxi drivers’ fault or is there more to it?

Read the full article here: http://bit.Iy/1Uz31EM

The reason is same as the reason why pap is still in charge ....dumb sinkies

For the world's most expensive city....or one of the most expensive.....
2 things in Sg are still relatively 'cheap'.....that's food and cab fare. That's if you compare with other expensive cities.
So you see the vile pappies jacking these 2 'laggards' up to match our expensive city status.
Dun kpkb because the fucktard 70% voted for it.
Go squeeze with smelly ah nehs on public transport if you can't afford cars or cabs. Invest in a bicycle or mini leg scooter. Never buy a motorbike because pesky bikers get run over by cars.

i see PAP ib are trying a new tactic,they are now trying to identify and sympathise with the issues and fears of the ordinary sinkie on the street,instead of outright denying everything and coming up with ridiculous explanations they are now embracing the truth.

arggghhh im so moved and my heart is shaken!!!!!!take me into your embrace PAP and wipe thy tears from my cheeks and forgive me my sins!!!!!!!for yours is the kingdom in heaven for ever and ever!!!!AMEN!!!!!

An Ang Mo who resides in Singapore told me that Singaporeans, Singapore and the Govt owned GLCs are champions at automating things and processes. But they are non-starters when innovating products, services and even new business models. He said when he first came to Singapore, he was impressed by how fast and efficient things were and thought Singapore was going to be a major hub for innovation. It was only later he realised that automating existing things is different from innovating. To him the last Singapore company to innovate was Singapore Airlines.

NTUC Taxi is a good example. Its essentially a monopoly and its market share carries lots of inherent advantages Its has over the years progressed in terms of service level and customer convenience. Its telephone booking service and the quick response in the early years was the best anywhere in the World. Like everyone else they moved to smartphone booking. Despite their monopoly and decades of years in the industry, it never occurred to look closely at such business models as Uber and Grab. When Uber first started in 2009. They watched. When Grab was started in 2012 by the Malaysian grandson of Tan Chong Motors, NTUC continued to watch. Now Uber is all over and Grab in 3 years is now the dominant player in 6 South East Asian countries and the Malaysian set up his lab in Singapore with the aid of Temasek.

For some reason, NTUC could not delink the physical taxi vehicle from the taxi-haiing business model. They genuinely must have thought that the Singapore Govt would protect them by refusing to issue a taxi licence. Not realising that there is a difference between taxi-hailing and taxi licence. Even now I am told that people are not aware that Grab makes money from NTUC tac drivers.

This is what NTUC said in 2013 - "The largest cab operator ComfortDelGro, which owns 16,600 of the 27,000-plus taxis here, said it already has "a very advanced taxi-booking system", but will consider working with external apps." 2 years later , the Malaysian who started Grab had conquered 6 SEA countries.