The Cock, The Wild Swan and the Gahmen - a Chinese fable

There is a proverb that says “If you receive a drop of water from your benefactor, you must repay him with a gushing spring”. (得人滴水之恩,须当涌泉之报). Surely anyone who has received so many benefits would have to appreciate such pearls of wisdom.

This is not the first time we have ungrateful people biting hands that feed them. It will also not be the last. As long as we go on worshipping the so-called “foreign talents” blindly and indiscriminately, we will have to suffer such insults once in a while. Such inconsiderate remarks will incense Singaporeans even more because these are the very people who could displace them from their jobs or make it difficult for them to compete in the job market by virtue of their “scholar tag”.

If we have more of such people, they will upset the equilibrium of our community, undermine the cohesiveness of our society and chip at the foundation of nation-building. On the balance it may be a big price that we have to pay.

Below is a more than a thousand-year-old Chinese fable.

- http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=7404

There is a proverb that says “If you receive a drop of water from your benefactor, you must repay him with a gushing spring”. (得人滴水之恩,须当涌泉之报). Surely anyone who has received so many benefits would have to appreciate such pearls of wisdom.

This is not the first time we have ungrateful people biting hands that feed them. It will also not be the last. As long as we go on worshipping the so-called “foreign talents” blindly and indiscriminately, we will have to suffer such insults once in a while ...
ya, man! ...

ah loon n his jin gang receive mor dan a few drops of water from sinkie peasants, n dey dutifully repay dem wif n overwhelming, gushing spring of ft's ... :eek: