Thanks to the PAP, there are more autocrats in the world

https://www.washingtonpost.com/grap...-europe/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.ba08e6cca19f

We are entering a new era of autocracy. Its hallmarks bear little resemblance to the repressive methods of 20th-century despotism.
Countries that once represented the triumph of liberty and freedom are now using democratic structures as tools of oppression.

That is the PAP style ...see how great an impact Sinkapore has in the world. Despotic rule PAP style is now the new trend....

Some governments in the region, such as Hungary’s, are deep down the road toward indefinite one-party rule. Leaders in other countries, such as the Czech Republic, only seem to aspire to that sort of absolute authority.

But wherever signs of autocracy are emerging, this much is true: They bear little resemblance to the obviously repressive methods so familiar from school textbooks chronicling 20th-century despotism.

There are no strutting soldiers in the streets or cults of personality around the great leader. Opponents and journalists speak openly and loudly, generally without fear of persecution. Instead of building walls to keep their own people in, governments construct tech-laden fences to keep supposed enemies out. Instead of economic isolation and scarcity, a gusher of foreign investment flows.

And yet, ruling politicians and parties have managed to consolidate power to a degree not seen since the communist era. Supposedly independent institutions — including courts and prosecutor’s offices — have become instruments of political control. Newspapers and television stations are bought up by friendly business executives and dutifully preach the government’s line. Elections still take place, but they are used as justification for the majority to impose its will rather than a chance for the minority to have its say.

“In every respect, it looks like Europe. But you don’t actually have the freedoms that makes Europe what it is,” said Michael Ignatieff, a Canadian human rights scholar and president of the Budapest-based Central European University (CEU). “It’s new political technology.”

During the 90s with the rise of the internet... political freedoms etc was said to increase n dictatorships will end bcos the political elites will no longer control information. However the opposite has happened. Political control has increased. N political elites have even more power dispite the internet n in ah tiong land has even greater control than before. One of the reasons is the rise of the left wing bleeding heart liberal fuckwits n their selfish demands which forced the general populace to turn against them. However for singkies...they continue to be ignorant of the ways of the world despite access to the internet. Educated but ignorant

Alamak, even in an article on autocrats, you are able to blame progressives. You are as good as Trump.

These autocrats have learned from the PAP just like China's Deng learned from LKY on how to control the people without them knowing it.

Alamak, even in an article on autocrats, you are able to blame progressives. You are as good as Trump.

He said only MIW Mat ministers/MPs are incompetent. So u know lah who he will vote. Just read all his post pinch of salt. Look at his Nick.:whistling:

These autocrats have learned from the PAP just like China's Deng learned from LKY on how to control the people without them knowing it.
Left wing bleeding heart liberal fuckwits are not progressives. They are just dictators themselves. No different than the so called right wing dictatorships they hope to replace. It's this ugliness and selfishness by yr kind that has pushed society to the right..

He said only MIW Mat ministers/MPs are incompetent. So u know lah who he will vote. Just read all his post pinch of salt. Look at his Nick.:whistling:
I was wrong to say the Malay president is incompetent. Bcos makcik is an ah neh. But u could not even get tat right. U accept her as a m&d bcos she is a mudslime. So to m&ds religious acceptance more important than accepting own race.

m&d ministers are very competent. Once in 50 years only. And m&ds are soo misunderstood. Asking for halal food at the cinema is also misunderstood.

Skip to main content

Idea of the '50-year flood' has been misunderstood
THE SUNDAY TIMES
Jeremy Au Yong
Friday, May 19, 2017
flood.jpg

SINGAPORE - For many people, the sight of all four city-bound lanes of the Ayer Rajah Expressway submerged just over a week ago would have triggered a thought along the lines of: "Isn't this sort of thing only supposed to happen once every 50 years?"
This half-century time-frame entered the national consciousness in 2009, when then minister for the environment and water resources Yaacob Ibrahim said the flooding in Orchard Road that year was a "freak event" that happened once every 50 years.

It is a quote that is now dredged up every time there is a flood (and there have been several) as proof of how badly the authorities misjudged the flood risk here.
The idea of a 50-year flood, however, is one that is often misunderstood. The first problem, of course, is that there is no such thing as a 50-year flood and Dr Yaacob would have been better off never referring to what happened in Orchard Road in such stark terms.
Many factors go into causing floods and these are almost impossible to take into account in weather models. While meteorologists can make some forecasts about rainfall, it is difficult to model the conditions of drainage or tree cover at any given point in the future.
So it may make sense to talk about a 50-year rainfall record or a storm of once-in-50-years intensity, but not about whether they would lead to a once-in-50-years flood.
Even then, there is value in being more precise when talking about 50-year storms. While saying that a freak storm happens once every 50 years makes it easy for the layman to understand, it misrepresents the actual frequency of the storm.
A once-in-50-years storm is a phrase not to be taken literally. Weather, unlike say the movement of the planets, does not follow a predictable timetable, which is why we know when the next eclipse will happen but not the next thunderstorm.
So, when an intense storm is described in such terms, it is a description of probability.
For instance, if I look at rainfall data over the past 100 years and discover that a very intense storm happened twice, I would divide the number of occurrences of the storm by the number of years to get the probability of such a storm happening in any given year.
This sum would give me 0.02 storms per year - or a one in 50 chance of a strong storm in any given year. Could it happen two years in a row? It is unlikely, but it certainly could.
But that is not to say that we have just been incredibly unlucky with our flooding. It may very well be that climate change has rendered the initial estimate irrelevant. It could be that for the past 100 years, the kind of rainfall that could produce floods was rarer than it is now.
We won't know whether the past few years mark the start of a new pattern or are an outlier in the data until we can sample a larger set of weather data.
In the meantime, though, there are worthwhile conversations to be had about how Singapore should go about managing its flood risk.
Just what sort of buffer is being used right now in our planning parameters? How much more land would we have to give up for us to deal with 100-year storms?
But to get to those questions, we first need to get past the idea of a flood that happens only once every 50 years.
[email protected]

Get a copy of The Straits Times or go to straitstimes.com for more stories.

Alot of MIWs are incompetent. Not only the m&ds. But the m&ds seem more incompetent because of the demands that they make. Don't want to do things say haram. Want halal this n that, sympathy and support for ISIS. And of course demanding halal food at tge cinema whereby mudslimes are not suppose to go to the cinema in the 1st place. So if this does not make the mudslimes hypocritical and incompetent. I don't know what does.

Left wing bleeding heart liberal fuckwits are not progressives. They are just dictators themselves. No different than the so called right wing dictatorships they hope to replace. It's this ugliness and selfishness by yr kind that has pushed society to the right..

How are they dictators?
Selfishness is the fundamental character of right-wingnism. And you attribute it to the left?

Before you embrace Jordan Peterson, did you realize what he is selling? If his ideology had taken stride decades earlier, we would have apartheid all over the world. I can assume that you are non-white and thus you would not be welcome in his civilization as you are considered inferior and a threat to his civilization.

Alot of MIWs are incompetent. Not only the m&ds. But the m&ds seem more incompetent because of the demands that they make. Don't want to do things say haram. Want halal this n that, sympathy and support for ISIS. And of course demanding halal food at tge cinema whereby mudslimes are not suppose to go to the cinema in the 1st place. So if this does not make the mudslimes hypocritical and incompetent. I don't know what does.

N yet u voted for them i.e. MIW. :):):)

I was wrong to say the Malay president is incompetent. Bcos makcik is an ah neh. But u could not even get tat right. U accept her as a m&d bcos she is a mudslime. So to m&ds religious acceptance more important than accepting own race.

Despite me saying gct chiakleowbee u dont agree n say hes competent cos president is mat/indian is not competent. U remind me of those ah peh taxi drivers. :)

Despite me saying gct chiakleowbee u dont agree n say hes competent cos president is mat/indian is not competent. U remind me of those ah peh taxi drivers. :smile:
GCT is not competent. But Ur favourite ah neh makcik n yr fellow m&ds MPs etc are also a joke. But of course as long as mudslimes u will support Ur ah bang n ah dik n minahs n ah nehs

Ah Gong's the only thing that makes Sinkie relevant. Now that he's no more, it's his legacy that makes Sinkie relevant. Without him, Sinkie may not survive the next decade.

That is precisely why separation/balance of powers (Executive/ Legislative/Independent Judiciary) and constitutionally guaranteed freedom of speech (esp a free press) is important. Another important element is a limit to the tenure of the people in powers to ensure there is dynastic tendencies.
All these are well known but its whether people have the balls to fight for them and make sure they are not slowly eroded by those seeking to extend their selfish motives.
People do not realise that just like in a war, the non combatants are the first to suffer and die-so its better to fight than to die slowly by boiling water like frogs (or sheepos or lemmings)

Despite me saying gct chiakleowbee u dont agree n say hes competent cos president is mat/indian is not competent. U remind me of those ah peh taxi drivers. :smile:
Makcik jiak Liao bee u keep quiet. Mudslimes minister incompetent u keep quiet. m&ds join Isis u keep quiet too. What a good kid u are. Cina incompetent is ok...but mudslimes incompetent it is racists.

GCT jiakleowbee u kip quiet. Ceena ministers incompetent u kip quiet. Ceena imprisoned 1 million east turkistan innocent being n massacred...gang raped another @ 1 million rohingya muslims u kip quiet. Wat a good uncle u are. Mats incompetent is ok. But ceena incompetent it is racists.

Why should I give a shit about rohingyas? If mudslimes so good..why gulf states don't open their doors to them? N since when I keep quiet about me incompetent MIWs be it their race?I am not an asshole like u sprouting crap.

N since when I keep quiet about me incompetent MIWs be it their race?I am not an asshole like u sprouting crap.

N since whe i keel quiet about my incompetent MIWs be it their race? I am not an hypocrite asshole like u forever sprouting crap.

Why should I give a shit about rohingyas? If mudslimes so good..why gulf states don't open their doors to them? N since when I keep quiet about me incompetent MIWs be it their race?I am not an asshole like u sprouting crap.

I don't too. I don't like dark skin of any kind - food, people. I am no racist ...I just can't stand black colour. Fair skin Muslims, okay lah, we can accept if they don't embrace Islam like it is the all in everything.

N since whe i keel quiet about my incompetent MIWs be it their race? I am not an hypocrite asshole like u forever sprouting crap.
U supported makcik...and since when u criticise m&ds ? Anyway mudslimes support mudslimes...be it Isis or makcik