• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thank you Goh Chok Tong for this one good act

Force 136

One good thing Goh Chok Tong did during his tenure was his doing away with compulsory Hanyu Pinyin names for chinese schoolchildren......

In his push to cozy up to China, LKY adopted the Hanyu Pinyin system. This resulted in the massive change in the names of places eg.... Nere Soon became Yishun and Tekka became Zhuqiau

Many youngsters still carry the sad stigma with them... their names in Hanyu Pinyin in brackets......making these people having PRC sounding names......

Are you one?
:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

I have my hanyu pinyin name in brackets on my NRIC. You can opt to leave it on or remove it.

Now I know why LKY called him Lee Ka Yu

Those people who dunno Chinese should be smacked in the head, yes, including erection and joetsy :D:D:D

You guys should be ashamed of yourself for not knowing your own mother tongue well :D:D:D

TS, hanyu pinyin is the right way to pronounce Chinese names. That is how Chinese teachers pronounce the names. On the other hand, the dialect names are relic from colonial past, when English educated nurses gave arbitrary English phonic spelling of the dialect names. That's why we have Tan, Tin and whatever weird spelling for the same Chinese surname. :*:

Get your facts and history right before spewing nonsense.

Those people who dunno Chinese should be smacked in the head, yes, including erection and joetsy :D:D:D

You guys should be ashamed of yourself for not knowing your own mother tongue well :D:D:D

Its 1:26am now, New Year over liao. Now I can scold people liao.

Nabeh Alamaking, li kong simi lanjiao wei? Wo say I don't know chinese? Hokkien not chinese meh? Hokkien Indian ah? Nabeh new year you want my to "kwee" your year for you is it? Go sleep la you ka-na-sai.

Tekka can become zhuqiau?

Where the heck did you receive your Chinese education?

Or what the heck were you doing when you were having Chinese classes?

Its 1:26am now, New Year over liao. Now I can scold people liao.

Nabeh Alamaking, li kong simi lanjiao wei? Wo say I don't know chinese? Hokkien not chinese meh? Hokkien Indian ah? Nabeh new year you want my to "kwee" your year for you is it? Go sleep la you ka-na-sai.

Whahahaha.......

You may know these members personally, but that does not give you the right to divulge personal information about them. Let them declare openly in this forum about their race and their inability to speak their mother tongue if they want others to know.

You may think this is a harmless joke and it may even be your way to show others you are better than them. Seriously, I think you have an inferiority complex. It has been told time and time again by some members why it is not a good thing to meet other SBF members as one's anonymity will be compromised. This is one good example. I can go on and on about this but it will be tl;dr.

TS, hanyu pinyin is the right way to pronounce Chinese names. That is how Chinese teachers pronounce the names. On the other hand, the dialect names are relic from colonial past, when English educated nurses gave arbitrary English phonic spelling of the dialect names. That's why we have Tan, Tin and whatever weird spelling for the same Chinese surname. :*:

So you want your children to have a surname spelt differently from your old dialect surname? Or do you have a surname different written in English from your dad? Think about the implications.... In the minds of the non-Chinese, you are either a step-child or worse, illegitimate......

You may know these members personally, but that does not give you the right to divulge personal information about them. Let them declare openly in this forum about their race and their inability to speak their mother tongue if they want others to know.

You may think this is a harmless joke and it may even be your way to show others you are better than them. Seriously, I think you have an inferiority complex. It has been told time and time again by some members why it is not a good thing to meet other SBF members as one's anonymity will be compromised. This is one good example. I can go on and on about this but it will be tl;dr.
Ehh cheebye, we are real life friends and how I joke with them is none of your fucking business, who the fuck are you to give comments about our jokes? mind your own business and stop being a shit stirrer lah, LOL

You want to know more about their personal life? I let you know ok? both dunno how to use chopsticks, and 1 dun wear underwear, you believe or not? :D:D:D

I believe that the surname Tan, Chan, Chen are the same in Chinese characters.

So you want your children to have a surname spelt differently from your old dialect surname? Or do you have a surname different written in English from your dad? Think about the implications.... In the minds of the non-Chinese, you are either a step-child or worse, illegitimate......
You yearn to become a colonial servant with no knowledge or pride in your own heritage. The old dialect English spelling is a joke and slaughtered the Chinese language, yet you want to preserve this colonial "tradition" that pop up only in the last two centuries?

Perhaps you like to regrow your pigs tail so that you can retain the hair style of your great grandfather? Or bind your feet like your great grandmother?

What about Hongkies, they also use Lam etc because of colonial slavery?

I believe that the surname Tan, Chan, Chen are the same in Chinese characters.
Yes, they are of the same Chinese word. Many other chinese surnames and names are randomly spelt based on dialect phonic. Another variable was that many of our grandparents did not pronounce their surname properly because most of them were hardly educated. Even the Cantonese spoken in Guangdong, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia has slightly different pronunciation.

The things to preserve are the Chinese characters and proper pronunciation of these Chinese names in the universally used hanyu pinyin. Keeping the weird and random spelling of colonial dialect names will only add confusion.

My heritage is Peranakan....... Mandarin is not my mother tongue. Hanyu Pinyin is alien to my Malayan Chinese culture..... It was forced upon me by the Ministry of Education.

Your chinese culture may be closer to the PRC..... mine certainly isn't.

China is not my Motherland.

And I certainly resent the way my Peranakan culture had been destroyed by the PAP, although LKY was himself a Peranakan......

Ehh cheebye, we are real life friends and how I joke with them is none of your fucking business, who the fuck are you to give comments about our jokes? mind your own business and stop being a shit stirrer lah, LOL

You want to know more about their personal life? I let you know ok? both dunno how to use chopsticks, and 1 dun wear underwear, you believe or not? :D:D:D

I believe about the1 that don't wear underware bc at home I don't wear underware too :) But the chopstick part maybe bc my wife keeps telling me my finger are in a wrong position using them seems like I should hold them with a finger between them instead of like holding a pen

My heritage is Peranakan....... Mandarin is not my mother tongue. Hanyu Pinyin is alien to my Malayan Chinese culture..... It was forced upon me by the Ministry of Education.

Your chinese culture may be closer to the PRC..... mine certainly isn't.

China is not my Motherland.

And I certainly resent the way my Peranakan culture had been destroyed by the PAP, although LKY was himself a Peranakan......

Oh? LKY is peranakan? Thought he is a hakka.

Plse lah. We all should also respect our ancestors and parents names/wishes too.

I am teochew. I still speak teochew. My children speak teochew to their grandparents! We can speak Mandarin though. But my parents fairly only.

My children dont have hanyu pinyin names in their IC. I dont see the necessity there, imo. I dont wish my life or my children to be dictated or controlled by 2nd or 3rd parties. Its my life and my family lives and future. Its my decision.