• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ten of thousands of maids carrying students bag after school

†††††

A young generation of 'softies'?
Parents, experts weigh in on issue of today's mollycoddled children
By Jessica Lim
ST_IMAGES_LJBAG31.jpg

WHEN classes ended at a primary school in Bishan yesterday afternoon, several pupils trotted out, followed by women carrying their school bags.

Over in Sengkang in the evening, maids and parents milled outside a primary school. When its gates opened, children rushed out and some immediately handed over their bags to the adults.

It is a daily sight - maids, parents and grandparents taking on the load, even when the child is clearly able to carry the bag himself.

But 20 out of 25 Singaporean parents interviewed see nothing wrong with this. They say school bags are so heavy these days that it is perfectly fine for adults to help carry them, especially if the children are in primary school.

So either parents do it, or they ask their maids to, out of 'motherly love', said one parent.

But other parents caution that it can become a problem if children demand that their maids lug their bags for them all the time - and they are not around to put a stop to that.

Indeed, might this habit even persist when they are into their late teens?

That, at least, has been a talking point since a photograph surfaced on The Straits Times online portal Stomp last week.

It showed a full-time national serviceman (NSF) in uniform walking with his hands free, and a woman - presumably the maid - behind him carrying his army field pack.

The picture has attracted thousands of comments on Stomp, online forums and social networking site Facebook, with people questioning if Singapore's current generation of youth are 'softies'.

It also led to another photo - believed to be doctored - showing the same NSF, but this time carrying his backpack, and a host of spoofs.

But maids carrying the bags of their employers' children are a common sight.

Mrs Joey Poh, in her 30s, said she or the maid will do so for her two children, aged five and eight, during the 10-minute walk to school.

Asked why, the administrative officer smiled and said sheepishly: 'Spoilt lah.'

Recruitment agent Christina Ho, 38, said she makes sure the maid helps her seven-year-old son with his bag.

'School bags can be very heavy and I have seen kids struggle and fall backwards,' she said.

'It is perfectly all right at this age,' she said, adding that she expects children to carry their own bags when they are 'older and stronger'.

Some parents admit that children who have had things done for them from an early age can grow up spoilt.

Teacher Sarah Lim, 49, said her maid carried her two children's bags till they were in Primary 4.

Now teenagers, they have grown so accustomed to being helped that it can be hard to get them to wash their clothes, boil water and make their own snacks.

But she added: 'My husband and I think that as long as they are polite to the maid and are not demanding, it's okay to ask for help for these things. Once you decide to have a maid, you have to be realistic. It is a different era, and ironing clothes and tidying rooms are things maids do.'

Banking officer Jenny Low, in her 30s, said her daughter would 'bully her grandmother to help carry the bag home from school', and would prefer if her 11-year-old did it herself.

'But we cannot control everything, and grandmothers have a soft spot for grandchildren. We try to counter that by asking her to clean up her room on weekends,' she added.

Some sociologists see the bag-carrying phenomenon as parents mollycoddling their children, and worry that it might lead to a generation of less-than-robust Singaporeans.

'If parents get the maid to do many things for the child, the child will grow up thinking that this is normal and would have internalised the 'I am King' mentality,' said child psychologist Carol Balhetchet.

'That photograph shows that Singapore is becoming quite over-indulgent as a society,' she said.

However, she added that carrying a young child's school bag does not necessarily mean he will grow up to be like the NSF in the photo.

'There are many variables. It depends on nurture, the other people they meet and the values they have,' she said, noting that many families today have maids.

The number of maids here has risen from about 160,000 in 2005 to close to 200,000 last year.

Dr Divjyot Kaur, a senior lecturer in psychology at the Singapore Polytechnic's School of Communication, Arts and Social Sciences, said the way parents treat the maid has a profound effect on the child.

'If the parents also ask the maid to do every little thing for them, the child is likely to do the same. It is about where you draw the boundaries on the role of the helper,' she added.

Some parents make sure they set the right examples.

Take the case of restaurant owner Chris Hooi, 42, who has two children in Primary 1 and 3. They have their own water bottles at home which they fill and drink from. The maid is barred from putting away their toys when play-time is over.

'We make sure the maid knows that she answers only to one person - my wife. The kids are not allowed to instruct the maid to do anything,' he said, adding that they carry their own bags too.

Businessman Thomas Pek, 50, is also strict with his two teenagers.

'We have a three-storey house and if my children want water or food, they are not allowed to ask the maid to take it up to them. The maid is not there to be their servant,' he said.

[email protected]

Additional reporting by Rocco Hu

WHEN HELP IS OKAY

'My husband and I think that as long as they are polite to the maid and are not demanding, it's okay to ask for help for these things... It is a different era, and ironing clothes and tidying rooms are things maids do.'

Teacher Sarah Lim, 49, whose children had their bags carried to school by their maid until they were in Primary 4.

WHEN IT'S NOT

'If parents get the maid to do many things for the child, the child will grow up thinking this is normal and would have internalised the 'I am King' mentality. The photograph shows that Singapore is becoming quite over-indulgent as a society.'

Child psychologist Carol Balhetchet, on the photograph of a woman carrying the army field pack of an NSF in uniform

Sinkapoor got maids wan meh ?
I only can see slaves lor...

Stooo...piak.... :o

Uncle botak middy.., your maid got hair not ? :D

Must up the maid levey to $600/month min. With no special discount.

It's actually already silly and spoiling to have maid accompanying the student to/fro home/school. My parents brought me to school and showed the way on registration day and the first day of pri. 1, handed me over to the teacher. Thereafter, I was on my own, all the way to sec. 4 and US uni. Even selection, application and registration all by myself. My parents were in charge of paying only. :D

When young like in kindergarten or playschool, ok lah..but boy boy already doing NS??
Might as well ask maid to follow and carry rifle also.

I wonder if bodyguard carried schoolbag for Ah Loong also?

The bodyguard carried ah loong schoolbag from home until the school gate. from the school gate, the principal took over from the bodyguard. :eek::D

thank u. i cannot up your points back as i have up you b4. the system said so. thanks anyway.

Hi all, your maid got carry your briefcase when you go to work, meetings or conferences or business trips not!!

:(

I think it is alright. Just don't ask the maids to do NS for them. :eek:

Some maids take on additional duties, they clean their master's 'rythm stick' also, while the madam is not paying attention.:D

All one need to do is, go to any bus stop near to any schools, sit there and watch how spoilt the kids are today. Many come to school with their maids walking behind, carrying for them their school bags, whatever bags, their water bottle etc. Quite many arrive by vehicle, wheter family car, company's vehicle & even taxi. The rest by hired bus service. Only a few poor handful come by public bus.

The maid walking behind reminds me of the past where the Sahib sits on the elephants and the coolies carry the bags or the Chinese in sedan chairs, the servants walking behiind..

Can we blame the child?...they are too few of them and they are very expensive investments....so must mollycoddle them:p

I remember my mom only send me on the first day of pri 1.. After dat i go to sch on my own.. Nvr once did i complain infact its better coz aft sch got alot of extra ccas e.g catch spiders, play catching, marbles, soccer, play tamiya cars etc etc.... :D

The bodyguard carried ah loong schoolbag from home until the school gate. from the school gate, the principal took over from the bodyguard. :eek::D

1. there could also be some principal personal secretary doing his arse whenever he shit.

It's actually already silly and spoiling to have maid accompanying the student to/fro home/school. My parents brought me to school and showed the way on registration day and the first day of pri. 1, handed me over to the teacher. Thereafter, I was on my own, all the way to sec. 4 and US uni. Even selection, application and registration all by myself. My parents were in charge of paying only. :D

More than 20 decade ago very few parent or no maid at all will wait for the student at the school. Now before student knock off whole st/road line up with car , parent/maid waiting at the gate.
The situation become very different.