• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TCB Exhorts PE Voters to Vote Wisely

[h=2]Dr Tan Cheng Bock: Every vote counts![/h]
PostDateIcon.png
January 11th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

TCB1.jpg
Dr Tan Cheng Bock

Finally PM announced the by-election for Punggol East . To some this is too swift a move. I think those who want to contest must always be ready.
The PAP has come out strong naming its candidate Dr Koh Poh Koon, a colorectal surgeon. To the party it is important that they win, as a loss could reflect the residents unhappiness for letting them down and unhappiness over the lingering bread and butter issues like transport, housing and health cost. But they have the advantage. They had 54.5% votes in the last GE.
To the WP this is an important seat as Punggol East lies adjacent to their Aljunied Hougang stronghold. A win would consolidate their position in the East for the next GE. Moreover they had 41% support in the last GE. Their advantage is the recent win in Hougang by-election which could have some spill over effect on Punggol ward.
SDP, RP, and SDA view this as a platform to reveal their manifestos and also offer another alternative opposition voice in parliament. The disadvantage of having the opposition ‘splitting’ votes is generally accepted by pundits.
EVERY VOTE COUNTS!
So think and Vote wisely.
Dr Tan Cheng Bock
* Dr Tan was a Presidential candidate in the 2011 Presidential Election. The article first appeared in Mr Tan’s Facebook post titled, “The Showdown in Punggol East

why won't TCB just throw his weight behind the WP?

that would definitely be a huge boost to the Opposition efforts!

My opinion is that there is no reason for voters in PE to swing to WP unless there is so pressing a local issue (or issues) for them against the government.

I can safely rule out any other opposition parties in getting much credible votes. The WP must therefore go for any pressing local issues AND general issues that have bearing on their lives and how they are presently being governed. They must be made to feel that their votes will make a major difference in passing a clear message to the PAP that they really must change - not just in so-called promises and having "conversation".

Unfortunately the tactics of Chee and KJ are making more voters wary of the creditabliity of the opposition.

Half true - these two are destroying whatever good work and goodwill they have generated in recent year or two. If KJ keeps plugging away at those financial issues, come 2016, he would be well positioned as a credible candidate. Much more credible than the President, who campaigned on a "financial expert, looking after reserves" platform but who has uttered not a word on financial developments here. And who is quoted as saying that his 'highlight' of his first presidential year was supporting the Olympics team in London.

CSJ has demonstrated his immaturity and impatience yet again. He could have used the time before 2016 to reach out and would have presented himself/SDP quite credibly as a party which knows what they are talking about. Ah well, you cannot change a leopard's spots, I guess.

tcb should tell the voters not to repeat his experience and support wp!

Cheh.... I though it was Teo Chee BYE exhorts....

The disadvantage of having the opposition ‘splitting’ votes is generally accepted by pundits.
EVERY VOTE COUNTS!
So think and Vote wisely.
Dr Tan Cheng Bock

yes, Dr Tan, me hear you loud and clear :):):)

There is only one overriding issue and that is the PAPzis have outstayed their time. Policies that only serve to enrich the government and deliberately flooding the country with FTs and inneficiency by the SPF and other garment boards should end immediately.

another doctor coming in to split the votes further..

what do you mean by vote wisely??? i old uncle don't understand...

vote wisely for the pap?
vote wisely for the wp?
vote wisely for the sdp?
vote wisely for the independent?
sda? nsp? rp ?
vote wisely how? can give some glues???

i think the wisest thing is to VOTE FOR THE PAP!! - that is very wise indeed! tiohboh???

vote wisely for the pap?
vote wisely for the wp?
vote wisely for the sdp?
sda? nsp? rp ?

i think the wisest thing is to VOTE FOR THE PAP!! - that is very wise indeed! tiohboh???

kopi solid siah!

vote wisely for the pap?
vote wisely for the wp?
vote wisely for the sdp?
sda? nsp? rp ?

Knowing him (from what we read) I don't think he means vote for SDP but both WP and PAP probably wouldn't be far wrong from his perspective.

why doctors must be so intellectually dubious and confusing? they speak in tongues or what?

just say simply lor: VOTE WISELY.VOTE FOR PAP. so easy.....hor. Thanks FS.