And if you need to buy a lot of food, you can keep them all hot until you reached home when you use one of this.If you need to keep your food hot until you reached home.
Get one with insulation.
View attachment 75646
Don't be harsh on us poor sinkies lah. You know we love our hawker food, you must've enjoyed it too at one time. Or whenever you visit. For my family, we cook at home as well as tabao hawker food a few times a week. Carrot cake, oyster omelette, wanton noodles, mutton soup, hokkien noodles, gado gado, lontong, mutarbak, chicken rice, kway chap, and so on. Shiok lahThis is rubbish.
It just means more people going out.
The real message is sinkies cannot cook their own food and HAVE to rely on hawkers.
Don't be harsh on us poor sinkies lah. You know we love our hawker food, you must've enjoyed it too at one time. Or whenever you visit. For my family, we cook at home as well as tabao hawker food a few times a week. Carrot cake, oyster omelette, wanton noodles, mutton soup, hokkien noodles, gado gado, lontong, mutarbak, chicken rice, kway chap, and so on. Shiok lah![]()
I am not a foodie too, honestly. Like you, I go for the shortest queue or no queue. I don't care about how popular or famous a stall is.I am not a foodie. I would never line up in long queues for a particular stall or restaurant.
I would rather go somewhere quiet get my food and be done.
These days my wife cooks all the fabulous food with her thermomix.
I am not a foodie too, honestly. Like you, I go for the shortest queue or no queue. I don't care about how popular or famous a stall is.
For example, Changi Village nasi lemak (which I have not had in a long time btw). There are a few stalls selling the dish. The one at the corner (1st stall) is famous, queue is always very long. If I am there for nasi lemak, I go to the stall with no queue! Don't care if it's not as good, not as famous blah blah. I eat, have my kopi O kosong, then leave for a smoke. Done!
My wife has been cooking everyday since the lockdown, experimenting with new recipes and all. Our maids are helping her, and hopefully they learn new dishes too. I know your opinion on maids, but I am in sinkieland. What to do?!![]()
It takes a unique family to not have a maid, and I have so much respect for those families. Their children will probably grow up to be well-adjusted adults. Like you said, it's just part of life here already. I still do most of the things myself, because I am used to doing things for myself. We are given hands and legs, so we should jolly well use them, instead of merely using our mouths.Ah I see. So you know what I mean.
I thought you have no maid?
It is the Singapore way of life lah.
Same with all these Bangladeshi workers. Part of Singapore already.
can send maids out to buy food now that banglas are incarcerated. no more hanky panky.This is rubbish.
It just means more people going out.
The real message is sinkies cannot cook their own food and HAVE to rely on hawkers.
is she the one with 6.9 in the family, and everyone loves eggs, including her mother?I am not a foodie too, honestly. Like you, I go for the shortest queue or no queue. I don't care about how popular or famous a stall is.
For example, Changi Village nasi lemak (which I have not had in a long time btw). There are a few stalls selling the dish. The one at the corner (1st stall) is famous, queue is always very long. If I am there for nasi lemak, I go to the stall with no queue! Don't care if it's not as good, not as famous blah blah. I eat, have my kopi O kosong, then leave for a smoke. Done!
My wife has been cooking everyday since the lockdown, experimenting with new recipes and all. Our maids are helping her, and hopefully they learn new dishes too. I know your opinion on maids, but I am in sinkieland. What to do?!![]()
It takes a unique family to not have a maid, and I have so much respect for those families. Their children will probably grow up to be well-adjusted adults. Like you said, it's just part of life here already. I still do most of the things myself, because I am used to doing things for myself. We are given hands and legs, so we should jolly well use them, instead of merely using our mouths.
Must beware durians.can send maids out to buy food now that banglas are incarcerated. no more hanky panky.
durian king the sex maniac?Must beware durians.
You mean the famous corner stall? I wouldn't know because the few times I went, queue was long so I've never bought from them.is she the one with 6.9 in the family, and everyone loves eggs, including her mother?
You mean the famous corner stall? I wouldn't know because the few times I went, queue was long so I've never bought from them.
You and your wife did very well without a maid. I respect that. That certainly made the transition to life in Canada much easier. To be self sufficient and self reliant.It just takes effort.
My wife and I never had a maid when we were in Singapore. It was a topic of some quarrels we had. My father in law also said why dont we have a maid.
I didnt want. Partly because becoming reliant on a maid would mean we would have a bigger adjustment when we moved to Canada but also I just felt there was no need for the maid. Kids do what parents do not what they say.
I told my wife I will do the housework. Cleaning floors toilets. Share the clothes ironing. She does the cooking. I clean up.
When I was working at Yishun Polyclinic we were living very close by. Before going off to work I would set the roombavac.
During lunch I would go home and mop the floors.
After work go home and clean toilets. Done. Once a week.
As you know there is food everywhere. So if you didnt want to cook just go to hawker center or coffee shop. Cheap cooked meals.
We were totally fine without maid for the 7 years we lived on our own with our very young children. We did have help of grandparents for before and after school care for the kids.
It can be done. It is not that big a deal. But the maid thing has become such a norm that I am sure people say it is ESSENTIAL.
It is not.