• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sultan declares Friday, Saturday as rest days in Johor from January 1

evisionary

In fact the Muslim Malaysians are very Unhappy! They have one less day to eat snake. :rolleyes:

Johor's Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar has declared that the state's rest days will be on Friday and Saturday instead of Saturday and Sunday from January 1, a move that would have implications for the fast growing Iskandar economic corridor.

The much-anticipated decision to revert back to the Friday-Saturday weekend was announced during the investiture ceremony in conjunction with Sultan Ibrahim’s 55th birthday.

Prior to 1994, Johor had Friday and Saturday as non-working days.

"The decision was made following feedback from various quarters to allow Muslims to perform their religious obligation on Friday in a more peaceful manner" he said in his speech at the event held at Dewan Jubli Intan Sultan Ibrahim in the royal town, the Star online reported today.

Speculation has been rife about the change after a state government document was leaked on the internet.

Currently, states such as Kedah, Kelantan, and Terengganu have put Friday and Saturday as their off days.

Malaysia's sovereign wealth fund Khazanah Nasional Bhd had poured in billions for the Iskandar zone, which has been fashioned after Shenzhen in mainland China, across from Hong Kong.

Iskandar, which has seen booming property market, has also begun to attract small-and-medium enterprises and industries while other industries mull their investments in the area.

But the new rest days could affect future investments as it is not in sync with neighbouring Singapore or other states in the west coast of the Malay peninsula. Among businesses and services that could be affected include banking and international colleges that cater to students from the island republic.

One business that could see an increase in visitors is the Legoland resort as the new weekend will attract visitors from Johor itself while others turn up on Sundays, say analysts.

The intention is simple. To screw up the Christians because their prayer is on Sunday.

Have a three-day weekend then. Nobody should work more than 32 hours a week.

In any case, it's business as usual for the Jews who go to their synagogues on Saturdays.

evisionary

Those JB Malaysians working in Singapore will have shorter family time, in fact it raises productivity.

congo9

The intention is simple. To screw up the Christians because their prayer is on Sunday.

I think it is not so important, whether you worship on Sunday or Wednesday. Since, Malaysia is a Muslim country, you got to work according to their routine and schedule. Some Christian's brain are all stuck in the m&d for too long. They have to move on.

Some churches in JB are really stuck in the m&d ? Ever heard of UNIFICATION CHURCH ? This is truly a cult church !

They just keep getting more stupid as the years pass by. What do all these mean? Can they be more productive or be more intelligent from doing this?

fanta

Seventh Day Adventist worship on Saturdays which is Sabbath day. Christians in Johor seek time off for Sunday services.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013/11/24/Christians-seek-time-off-for-Sunday-services.aspx

Christians seek time off for Sunday services in Johor

PETALING JAYA: The Council of Churches Malaysia (CCM) will seek time off for Christians in Johor to fulfil their religious obligations on Sundays following the change of the state’s rest days to Friday and Saturday.

“We will request for time off for both workers and students to attend church services on Sunday,” said CCM general secretary Rev Dr Hermen Shastri.

Hermen, who is not from Johor, said he does not know how Christians in the state managed or went to church prior to 1994 when Friday and Saturday were non-working days.

However, he said all stakeholders in state should have been consulted before the decision was made.

“There should have been broad-based discussions with political parties, civil society and other religious communities,” said Hermen.

This view was echoed by the Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism.

Council president Jagir Singh said it is always best to have consultations so there is a better understanding of the views of other parties and faiths.

Please la. If truly pious, pray on Friday or sat or any other day will have difference?

Which day you pray on depends on which god you worship.

If you worship the Venus god, you pray on Friday (Muslims).

If you worship the Saturn god, you pray on Saturday (Jews).

If you worship the Sun god, you pray on Sunday (Christians).

By their day of worship you will know their true god. Such is the true nature of the three Abrahamic religions.

lianbeng

Have a three-day weekend then. Nobody should work more than 32 hours a week.

In any case, it's business as usual for the Jews who go to their synagogues on Saturdays.

lianbeng replies: do u know that in Israel, the Jews still observe the Sabbath and because it is a rest day they are not allowed to do work? so they set all their lifts and electrical sources on auto-pilot gear, which means, their lifts will open and close on every floor, and all their lights will automatically turn on and off, because pressing the lift buttons or switches is considered work lor!:biggrin:

It's only the minority of the hardcore observing Jews with their silly hats and hairdos.

Most other Jews don't really care about such strict observances.

jewish-man-120510.jpg

Actually Christians and Jews should be happy Sabbath is Friday

lianbeng

Actually Christians and Jews should be happy Sabbath is Friday

lianbeng replies: actually Christians started in Antioch, Asia, and spread to Europe via Rome so they actually follow the European standards, not Jewish lah! :biggrin: all European countries still practise Sunday as rest day leh!

Semaj2357

Which day you pray on depends on which god you worship.

If you worship the Venus god, you pray on Friday (Muslims).

If you worship the Saturn god, you pray on Saturday (Jews).

If you worship the Sun god, you pray on Sunday (Christians).

By their day of worship you will know their true god. Such is the true nature of the three Abrahamic religions.

if you worship the horse god, you pray on saturdays and sundays (the giveth till you bleed type) - at turf club or some say even at chc :rolleyes: