• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious ST Premium News Free Here! School Fees At Polys And ITEs To Go Up By 3 to 7% In 2019!

SINGAPORE – Students entering the polytechnics and Institute of Technical Education (ITE) next year will have to pay more than their seniors.

Checks by The Straits Times found that their annual fees, which apply to newcomers in the 2019 academic year, will go up by between 3 per cent and 7 per cent, like the year before.

The new fees were posted on the schools’ websites on Friday (Nov 16). The polytechnics’ term starts in April, while ITE has two intakes in January and April.

Singaporeans entering the five polytechnics next year will pay an annual tuition fee of $2,900, up from the current $2,800. The polytechnic tuition fees for permanent residents (PRs) will go up by $200 to $5,800, while that for international students will go up by $400 to $10,400.

At the ITE, fees for full-time Nitec courses will go up by $20 for Singaporeans, while PRs will pay $300 more and foreign students $900 more. Fees for the Higher Nitec courses remain unchanged.

Tuition fees for higher education have been going up yearly in the past few years, but the Ministry of Education (MOE) said on Friday that the Government continues to heavily subsidise the cost of polytechnic and ITE education for Singaporeans – at about 85 per cent and more than 90 per cent respectively.

In a reply to The Straits Times, a spokesman for the ministry said: “Tuition fees are reviewed annually and adjusted, where necessary, to defray increased costs and enable the polytechnics and ITE to keep investing in capability-building initiatives that can deliver a high-quality education to Singaporeans.”

The spokesman added that no deserving student is denied a polytechnic or ITE education due to financial difficulties, and that government bursaries are reviewed regularly.

Government bursary amounts were raised last year, with polytechnic students able to get up to $2,350 a year and ITE students up to $1,400 a year, depending on household income.

“The household per capita income cut-off to qualify for the bursaries was also increased from $1,900 to $2,250 per month, which translates to a gross monthly household income of $9,000 for a family of four,” said the MOE.

Overall, fees across universities have also gone up since 2010, after taking into account factors such as rising costs due to inflation and improvements to teaching quality.

Foreigners and PRs have also had to pay more, starting this year until 2020, to enrol their children in local schools, in a move to reflect the privilege of citizenship.

Their fee increases range from S$25 to S$150 per month for foreigners, and S$25 to S$60 per month for PRs, depending on the school level.

Secondary 5 student Brice Goh, who has a place to study mechatronics and robotics in Nanyang Polytechnic next year, said he hopes fees do not go up too much, although they are still heavily subsidised.

“But I will still go to polytechnic because junior college is not for me. I’d rather have hands-on activities and learn by doing projects with classmates,” said the 17-year-old.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...e-students-to-pay-higher-tuition-fees-in-2019

Hypocrite-The

The fees should be raise more for the Foreigners (PRs r foreigners) n price cut for locals. Bursaries n scholarships only for locals. Tat should be the way

Song bo. everything also increase prices.

Come 2019....they will give out 'PAP Balm', the best balm, some say, from here to eternity; better than Tiger Balm. This Balm to soothe the pains of all the prices increases at current moment before the 'erection' & then, when the 'erection' is here, they will cum together with the 70% or maybe 99.9%. After that, they shafting will continue & then "PAP BALM' is given out again...

U2Reflect

Oppie people only tokcok. day day also complain and complain no stop.
No wonder 70% also sick of oppie. sama sama lah
oppie ownself tak boleh tahan but only tokcok singsong
70% n oppie no diff mah.

borom

"Singaporeans ...pay...$2,900.....PRs...$5,800, while...international students..$10,400"
What I want to know is how many PR/Foreigners are on scholarships and how many are actually paying anything.

U2Reflect

Come 2019....they will give out 'PAP Balm', the best balm, some say, from here to eternity; better than Tiger Balm. This Balm to soothe the pains of all the prices increases at current moment before the 'erection' & then, when the 'erection' is here, they will cum together with the 70% or maybe 99.9%. After that, they shafting will continue & then "PAP BALM' is given out again...

u good. can see properly. pap win 99.9%. oppie only know how to comprain but can do fugg nothing. pap can give. oppie only tokcok singsong but can do nothing except comprain and comprain.

You have traitors like Goh Meng Seng...how can the WP, who is the better of all the oppositions survive? The rest does nothing but undermine each other...the next erection expect a 99.9% win...

"Singaporeans ...pay...$2,900.....PRs...$5,800, while...international students..$10,400"
What I want to know is how many PR/Foreigners are on scholarships and how many are actually paying anything.

But the nuts reading this...doesn't care..

U2Reflect

You have traitors like Goh Meng Seng...how can the WP, who is the better of all the oppositions survive? The rest does nothing but undermine each other...the next erection expect a 99.9% win...

Wp good meh? we wait n c lor. CPT Goh traitor meh?
Undermine each other? More like the people here undermine the other parties.
I come here c c but c diff people killing each other.
I c like dat where got hope.