Some seek PR status only to get hands on CPF savings

metalslug

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100531-219249.html

Mon, May 31, 2010
my paper

20100531.060819_cpfbuilding_350x175.jpg

LAST Saturday, I was upset by a former colleague who had relinquished his permanent-resident (PR) status in Singapore.

He bade me farewell, saying: "I am going back to the Philippines to retire. I cashed out all my CPF (Central Provident Fund) savings but I will come back, as a tourist."

He showed me photos of his new home in the Philippines, renovated luxuriously and comparable to a Good Class Bungalow here.

His attitude made me see red.

Have we taken measures to ensure that only people who genuinely want to settle down in Singapore and contribute to the nation's economic growth are made PRs?

I work in human resources, and some of my foreign colleagues who earn less than $2,500 monthly are PRs.

Almost all the foreigners in my workplace are vying for PR status. Some do so because the mandatory contributions to their CPF accounts result in savings which they can take out when they decide to leave.

For new PRs, the CPF contribution rates are graduated, but they get full rates from the third year onwards (the same contribution rates as Singaporeans).

Perhaps the CPF Board should revise the contribution rates for PRs to make it less attractive for those who want the status only for the CPF savings.

Foreigners who have become PRs find it easier to apply for jobs in Singapore, compared to those who are on employment passes.

PR status aside, are employers providing fair employment opportunities to Singaporeans?

Are graduates from Singapore universities not comparable to graduates from foreign universities, such as those in the Philippines, China, Myanmar, Hong Kong and Indonesia?

Before employers decide to hire a foreigner, have they exhausted all reasonable recruitment options in Singapore first?

It is a myth that foreigners have lower salary expectations than Singaporeans.

Of the foreigners who graduated from a university in their home country, the majority whom I have met and interviewed expect much higher salaries than, or salaries comparable to, what a Singaporean with a good local degree would get.

Their reasons include having to pay rental fees and utility bills, to remit money to their families and to pay for their children's education in their home country.

But Singaporeans also have similar burdens: mortgage payments, utility bills, children's education fees, as well as a sum of money to be put aside for elders as a form of filial piety.

Besides, a foreigner's salary could turn out to be quite a substantial sum after currency conversion.

I hope that employers will provide employment opportunities to Singaporeans before considering foreigners.

MRS ANNA LEE

For more my paper stories click here.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100531-219249.html

Mon, May 31, 2010
my paper

20100531.060819_cpfbuilding_350x175.jpg

Perhaps the CPF Board should revise the contribution rates for PRs to make it less attractive for those who want the status only for the CPF savings.

For more my paper stories click here.

wah lau eh Anna! Like this will make them even cheaper to hire and your boss will sack you to make room for them.

Only way out is to make changes to the PR policy lah. Last time where got so liberal!

There used to be a joke on what is the criteria to be an insurance agent / financial planner.

A friend summed it up the best "as long as u have a head, you can be an agent liao!"

Isn't it somewhat similar to becoming a PR in Sinkapore?

It is a myth that foreigners have lower salary expectations than Singaporeans.

Of the foreigners who graduated from a university in their home country, the majority whom I have met and interviewed expect much higher salaries than, or salaries comparable to, what a Singaporean with a good local degree would get.

If foreigners have much higher salary expectation or are on par with local Ah Beng expectation as Anna Lee claims, then there must be other reasons why line managers are passing up locals in favor of foreigners. This does not reflect well on Ah Beng at all. Surely our Anna Lee who works in HR can figure this out. If she can't then she deserves to be replaced by a FT. :D

How do all the foreigners and PRs how work in this firm get hired in the first place given Anna is suffering from an acute case of xenophobia?

No one give a shit to sinkieland. Face it, sinkieland is for milking money out and then off to a real country to live a good life.

So sinkie, what you gonna do? hide in your HDB? WAHAHAHH!!!

If foreigners have much higher salary expectation or are on par with local Ah Beng expectation as Anna Lee claims, then there must be other reasons why line managers are passing up locals in favor of foreigners. This does not reflect well on Ah Beng at all. Surely our Anna Lee who works in HR can figure this out. If she can't then she deserves to be replaced by a FT. :D

How do all the foreigners and PRs how work in this firm get hired in the first place given Anna is suffering from an acute case of xenophobia?

Is there a reason why foreigners are preferred over certain races like the one which u belong to for instance?

List of factors against the 'DARK' FORCE group like yellow_people:
Smell bad? tick.
Ham sup and prone to be molesters / rapists? tick.
Talk alot of cock but cannot do actual work? tick

I see two helpless freaks here whining away. Guess who are they. Whahahaha!!!!

Have we taken measures to ensure that only people who genuinely want to settle down in Singapore and contribute to the nation's economic growth are made PRs?

many are brainwashed by FAP be believe that FTs are here to contribute to Singapore but the fact is that they are here to take whatever they can from sinkies. who in the right mind would contribute to a foreign country.

Yup... Stupid govt too...

many are brainwashed by FAP be believe that FTs are here to contribute to Singapore but the fact is that they are here to take whatever they can from sinkies. who in the right mind would contribute to a foreign country.