SMRT take a month to repair escalator breakdown

Leepotism

A month to repair MRT escalator is too long

Letter from David Kwok Ng Kan

In light of the recent Mass Rapid Transit breakdowns, I wish to raise a concern about escalator repairs in the stations.

At Queenstown MRT Station, one of its escalators has been shut down, and a notice stated that repairs will take nearly a month to complete. Meanwhile, commuters either use the stairs or the one escalator left.

This is not the first time an MRT escalator has been shut down for up to a month for repairs. Commuters want to know why this takes so long. Is it due to the unavailability of spare parts
?

It will be cheaper to repair than replace. inconvient is the commuter, but SMRT save $$$

If escalators already take so long, then what about lifts?

A month to repair MRT escalator is too long

Letter from David Kwok Ng Kan

At Queenstown MRT Station, one of its escalators has been shut down, and a notice stated that repairs will take nearly a month to complete. Meanwhile, commuters either use the stairs or the one escalator left.

This is a result of former CEO Saw's maintainence regime of spending the bare minimum by cutting corners on headcount.

If escalators already take so long, then what about lifts?

Lift - one year for the committee to study & make recommendation to the CEO, six months for tender, another six to award tender, six to approve budget, another year to commence work. In other words, lesser mortals at location of least important, gets serve last.:D

Sinkies too pampered lah, climb a few steps also complaint

Maybe you should try the MRT stairs before you shoot off your mouth!, it is like practising for a vertical marathon; and you have five heavy weights in front of you, an elephant walk. Maybe you should try, worth the experience!, good for your legs, heart & health!;)

Maybe it's true that there's no spare parts as the escalators could be made in China. Just like all China Iphones, once it's not working, gone case liao.:D

There's an escalator at Toa Payoh MRT station that breakdown one month at least 5 times. 3 days okay 5 days sick.

Too many people in Sinkieland. Even escalators get hurt and have feelings.

Maybe you should try the MRT stairs before you shoot off your mouth!, it is like practising for a vertical marathon; and you have five heavy weights in front of you, an elephant walk. Maybe you should try, worth the experience!, good for your legs, heart & health!;)

Even when the escalator are workings I always chose to climb up the steps. It helps to work some of my leg muscles and strengthen it.

"Chey..Take escalator for what?"

20111222.140601_tnp_sawphaikhwa.jpg