• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie Engineers will get BETTER PAY... earn more than BANKER!

Wunderfool

SINGAPORE - Public engineers can expect higher salaries and a more structured career path in a move to draw and keep talent in an industry that has been losing its shine.

Engineers have "played a big part in Singapore's development over the past 50 years", and have put in place housing, public utilities and communications infrastructure to improve residents' lives, said Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security Teo Chee Hean.

Speaking at the opening of The Institution of Engineers' (IES) building at Bukit Tinggi on Tuesday (Feb 16), he added: "As we transition into an innovation economy, we need to build up capabilities in newer engineering and multi-disciplinary fields.

To meet future challenges, the government will hire an additional 1,000 engineers this year, a 13 per cent increase compared with 2015, Mr Teo said.

It will also introduce a leadership programme to groom engineers to take on positions such as chief engineers, chief technologists and chief scientists in ministries and public agencies.

Structured training and development opportunities to help public engineers "continually refresh and upgrade their skills" will also be available.

Furthermore, a salary review will be conducted this year to make sure that "engineers are fairly compensated for the work that they do", the minister said.

"Specifically, we will be revising the salaries for fresh graduate engineers, as well as in-service engineers to keep pace with market benchmarks," Mr Teo said.

Apparently, the Gahmen heard JohnTan and decided to rebutt his claim that engineers are losers.

Promising sign for a high-flying engineering career ....

mark-pm-lee.jpg

The wave is turning ...

thumb up.jpg

SUNNYLANDS, CALIFORNIA - Singapore needs to change its perceptions of engineers if it hopes to emulate the success of Silicon Valley and attract some of the Singaporeans based there to return home, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

He had met several Singaporeans working in the tech industry during his visit to Silicon Valley and San Francisco this week and said they have much to offer the country.

"We hope that one day they will come back, and I think a good number at some stage in life, will decide to come back because their children are growing up and parents growing old, and they want to come home. So we must be able to bring them back and to offer them challenges similar to what they can get here in Silicon Valley, which is not easy," Mr Lee said to the Singapore media during a wrap-up interview of his week-long visit to the United States.

"It's not just a matter of pay or having a job - they can find jobs. But to have the same challenge, same excitement, the same kind of technical demand on the person so feels he is stretching the envelope and doing something meaningful. And we need to work at that. We need companies who can absorb them - engineering companies, companies which put engineering at the core of their business."

He added that the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore was working on proposals to try and get some of these Singaporeans to return home and would announce them soon.

THE BEST WAY TO ATTRACT THEM BACK IS TO PAY THEM BETTER THAN WHAT THEY ARE PAID IN US.

The rest are BS.

Engineers will earn more than lawyers, accountants and doctors when pigs fly. My kids will win prestigious scholarships to read law or medicine at the top UK or US universities.

Can get million dollars paychecks or not?

like that I come back lah!! :D

I saw many posts hiring asst engineer 1.8k. Sales engineer 2.5k
Is that consider high or low ?

very low. when i left sg for sillycon valley, straits times classified ads were advertising for sgd1.2k. the increase is a puny sgd600 per month after 30 years. in the valley, average engineer pay is now usd10k per month. average household median income in the sj-silicon valley area is now over usd100k per year, highest in the u.s., and it includes lower paying non-tech jobs and professions. back in 2012, the average tech pay in the valley had already surpassed usd100k per year.

http://www.wsj.com/articles/SB10001424052970204624204577179193752435590

It means that bankers will get salary cut till same as engineers..

more structured more controlled path,that means they are going to turn engineers into a braindead bunch of fucktards losers like the SAF military.pretty soon the "SAF engineer corp" will be waving their dicks around like slide rules and coming up with thesis on how the earth is flat and the PAP is the greatest.

Engineers will earn more than lawyers, accountants and doctors when pigs fly. My kids will win prestigious scholarships to read law or medicine at the top UK or US universities.

ho jinx is an engineer,should u be telling ur kids to worship ho jinx everyday?

i think this change to focus on engineers came a bit too late, only after they realise banking is all about chasing the fool's gold.:oIo:

the fact that public sinkie engineers need a more structured career path means sinkie engineers are useless and needs to climb the corporate ladder like the other public administrators and government officials and military yes men/personnel.

they are unable to innovate and create on their own,and forge new products and businesses like in USA silicon valley.....

the very best a sinkie public engineer can hope for is to climb up the ladder of the sinkie pecking order and become a overpaid minister or a paper general in the SAF or a parachutist ceo in a glc or perhaps a investment banker in temasek like ho jinx or maybe some glorified asshole in ST engineering or ST logistics.

there the sinkie engineers will rejoice and feast upon the public trough of taxpayers money,contend to lead a blissful uniterrupted life even though they might fuck up one or two companies in the process and Temasek having to lelong off some assets.

An engineer can be a banker, but a banker can never be an engineer. Engineers rule.

More jobs for Ah Nehs ...the free trade agreement with India allows that country to send unlimited number of Ah Nehs to steal jobs from sinkees. Then there are the naturalized Ah Nehs.

Sinkees are toast.

An engineer can be a banker, but a banker can never be an engineer. Engineers rule.

in ur dreams,banker jobs are reserved for high caste shitskins that live in tan jong rhu condos and shop at cold storage,sinkie engineers are destined to be taxi drivers and NTUC insurance salesmen.....u think u ever dream of smelling the lobbies of one raffles quay or KPMG where the ceiling glitters and the pillars of pure roman italian marble?in ur dreams!!!!!!scurry back to ur filthy little SAF cubicle or st engineering cubicle u filthy little rat,go and give ur taxi bumper a good polishing.

More jobs for Ah Nehs ...the free trade agreement with India allows that country to send unlimited number of Ah Nehs to steal jobs from sinkees. Then there are the naturalized Ah Nehs.

Sinkees are toast.

51rjdps3ffL._SY300_.jpg

Got a sinkie woman earn 6 figure sum per year and she didn't wait for someone to tell her to get a salary increase.. oh my god.. fucking low life.