• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Singtel Down At 10pm! Thursday 18 Oct 2018

SINGAPORE: The Singtel mobile network was down for users in Singapore on Thursday night (Oct 18).

Users from areas including one-north, Choa Chu Kang, Ang Mo Kio and Kembangan reported being unable to access mobile service from around 10pm.

A Channel NewsAsia reader who did not want to be named said he first noticed the network was down at about 10pm.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/singtel-mobile-down-across-singapore-10841650

PAP's infrastructure pride! Lol :biggrin:

I suspect it was sabotage by oppies to distract sinkies from the important issue of today - WP oppies on trial for their crimes against the Aljunied residents! Return us our bloodsweat money!

no problemo. i'm on unlimited data roaming. if singtel is down, it auto roams on starhub or m1 or whichever is available. need uninterrupted service to capture mewtwo.

tun_dr_m

Confirmed! I had called 4 singtel mobile number (sucker customers) all no sound no picture.

Singtel is the WORST at roaming abroad.

SeeFartLoong

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/singtel-mobile-down-across-singapore-10841650

Singapore Singtel users experience mobile network disruption in several areas of Singapore

The Singtel logo outside its headquarters in Singapore. (File photo: AFP/Roslan Rahman)

By Nicole Chang
18 Oct 2018 10:42PM (Updated: 19 Oct 2018 12:47AM)
Share this content

Bookmark

SINGAPORE: The Singtel mobile network was down for many users in Singapore on Thursday night (Oct 18).
Users from areas including one-north, Choa Chu Kang, Ang Mo Kio, Bedok, Serangoon and Kembangan reported being unable to access mobile services from around 10pm.

In a Facebook post at about 11pm, Singtel said its engineers are investigating the mobile network issue.
"We are experiencing some mobile network issues. Our engineers are investigating and we will provide updates as more information comes in. Thank you for your patience," it wrote.

A Channel NewsAsia reader who did not want to be named said he first noticed the network was down at about 10pm.

Advertisement

Engineer Yeow Teik Jin, who lives in Jurong East, told Channel NewsAsia he noticed that there was no service on his mobile phone at around 10.10pm.
His mobile Wi-Fi device was also unable to connect to the network.

singtel-down-1.jpg
(Photo: Yeow Teik Jin)

Frustrated subscribers took to social media to vent their complaints.
"I thought (it) was my phone at first and (kept) restarting my phone. Think many areas affected," commented Facebook user Pearlene Goh.
Another Facebook user wrote on Singtel's Facebook page that she was overseas and was trying to use data roaming but could not connect.
"I am currently overseas and my data roaming for two telephone numbers which I had activated data roaming have been deactivated," she said. "Tried calling you guys at your hotline some many and it's useless. Waste of my overseas roaming calls."

"THIS IS TRULY UNACCEPTABLE"
Others also took issue with how Singtel was handling the disruption.
"I don’t comment on social media much but this is truly unacceptable. No apologies whatsoever," Facebook user Alvin Ho commented on Singtel's status update. "Quite disgusted with the service 'recovery' - no empathy and downtime is too long, extremely bad external comms.
"You made myself and a couple of my friends extremely worried. Tried to call the hotline but call failed even when I have reception although no data."
Another Channel NewsAsia reader said she noticed that her mobile phone had no 4G connection and so tried contacting Singtel's customer service hotline through WiFi calling, but failed to get through to anyone.
"After waiting for more than 30 minutes, the call became total silence instead of the waiting 'music'," she told Channel NewsAsia. "I waited for another five minutes, still in silence; so I hung up and called back after another five minutes. To my surprise, the call failed.
"It’s very disturbing, as we’re paying so much for the monthly subscription and we always get disrupted."
This story came from a reader tip-off. If you would like to send in photos or videos of something newsworthy, WhatsApp our Mediacorp news hotline at +65 8218 8281 or message us on Facebook.
Source: CNA/nc(hm)
Tagged Topics

SeeFartLoong

https://www.straitstimes.com/tech/singtel-rules-out-cyber-attack-as-cause-of-outage

Singtel rules out cyber attack as cause of 3½-hour outage

jtsingtel050718.jpg
Last October, Singtel was fined $500,000 for a 24-hour islandwide fibre broadband outage in 2016 that left about 490,000 users cut off from the Web.PHOTO: ST FILE
Published
Jul 5, 2018, 5:00 am SGT
Facebook Twitter Email

Telco and IMDA conducting separate probes into 31/2-hour widespread disruption

Irene Tham
Senior Tech Correspondent

Singtel is still investigating the root cause of a fibre broadband outage that saw its users cut off from Web surfing for 3½ hours yesterday morning, but it has ruled out a cyber attack.
“We do not believe it was a cyber security-related incident,” a spokesman said.
The telco notified customers of the disruption via a Facebook post around 9am, saying its engineers were investigating the problem. At 11am, the telco said Internet access had been restored.

During the outage, even online payments provider AXS' website and app, which run on Singtel's fibre broadband network, could not be accessed.
The Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) said on its Facebook page that it has started its own investigations into the outage.
Users started complaining online from 7.30am, reporting outage in areas as far apart as Choa Chu Kang, Woodlands, Punggol, Toa Payoh, Bukit Panjang, Tampines and Jurong. An error message appeared, pointing to problems with Singtel's domain name system (DNS), which maps Web addresses to a machine-readable string of numbers to connect Internet users to websites.

ADVERTISING

Mr Aloysius Cheang, Asia-Pacific executive vice-president of the Centre for Strategic Cyberspace + Security Science, a London-based think-tank, said: "Singtel's network could have been overwhelmed by heightened use of certain applications such as virtual private networks (VPNs) and online gaming access as a result of the World Cup."
Besides being used to secure corporate networks, VPN technologies are also used by some people to access blocked or illegal content.
nz-singtel-040718.jpg

Related Story
IMDA probing 3½-hour Singtel broadband outage; Singtel rules out cyber attack
AXS assistant chief executive Chin Mun Chung said the outage affected only its website and the AXS bill payment app. The physical AXS stations were not affected.
Software engineer Zhang Xuanrong, 27, said when he realised that Singtel's DNS was down, he switched to Google's DNS. "It worked for me after that," he said.
University student Howard Wong, 23, was trying to register for a course when his Internet access was disrupted. "In the end, I was not able to secure an important module, which is on first come, first served basis, and I might have to take it next semester," he said.
A senior marketing specialist who wanted to be known only as Ms Di, 40, had taken leave to help her son with his home-based learning assignments. "I restarted the router at least five times, but each time, it worked for less than five minutes before going down again," she said.
Last October, Singtel was fined $500,000 for a 24-hour islandwide fibre broadband outage in 2016 that left about 490,000 users cut off from the Web.
  • Additional reporting by Jasia Shamdasani
A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on July 05, 2018, with the headline 'Singtel rules out cyber attack as cause of outage'. Print Edition | Subscribe