• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Since We Might Go Into A Recession

Windsor

Recent events indicate we might be in for another recession. What do you guys think we should prepare in the event it really happens?

- Tighten belts?
- Stock on basic necessities?
- Sell items we don't need?
- Sell HDB and move to 3rd world nations?
- Withdraw all your monies in the bank and keep at home?

What do you all suggest will be good?

Should tighten the belts.. Do less shopping at Orchard with the missus, cut down on horse bettings, Sold my old Bell & Ross watch to a friend last month.. Don't think I need that watch as I got 2 other watches.. All in all, think its best to be thrifty and careful in this uncertain times...

Yes, I have to stop buying things that are not a necessity and luxury food as well as curtail the spending by eating more at home. I have to stop buying durians.:(

Recent events indicate we might be in for another recession. What do you guys think we should prepare in the event it really happens? ...

ah loon n his jin gang shud slash their salaries 2 lessen ze cuntry's burden ... dey shud start immediately so as 2 set a gd eg 4 coys 2 follow later ... :(

Look for a govt job - any type! They will not retrench

Given our history of dealing with recession, even at the height of the Asian and Global Financial Crisis/SARS there isn't that much widespread retrenchment(relatively speaking) so we're not that likely to lose our jobs. If really worst case scenario they will close the FT gate again like they did back in 08-09. Just make sure you're not knee deep in debt, have a bit of cash in hand and you should be fine. U might want to take the money out from the stock market and stock up on Ammo to get ready to go in again when it starts shooting up

Recent events indicate we might be in for another recession. What do you guys think we should prepare in the event it really happens?

- Tighten belts?

You don't SELL during a recession. you BUY!

Selling is done during a boom.

Just look at citibank. If this isn't a buying opportunity, I don't know what is.

http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=...osshair=on;ohlcvalues=0;logscale=off;source=;

- Tighten belts?

Tighten belts should be based on personal circumstances and not necessarily recession.
Sell items we don't need - do it even if no recession. Always believe in having less possessions.
Stock on necessities, move to 3rd world country and withdraw money from bank, no need lah. :o

Those with the means should take the opportunity to rejiggle their investment portfolio.
Those without just work hard.

My belt tak boleh tighten anymore already .... kalau lagi tighten .... kena constipasi already .....

Given our history of dealing with recession, even at the height of the Asian and Global Financial Crisis/SARS there isn't that much widespread retrenchment(relatively speaking) so we're not that likely to lose our jobs. If really worst case scenario they will close the FT gate again like they did back in 08-09. Just make sure you're not knee deep in debt, have a bit of cash in hand and you should be fine. U might want to take the money out from the stock market and stock up on Ammo to get ready to go in again when it starts shooting up

==
bro, like i told you in another post - don't believe in what you read in the papers. How can they leeport widespread retrenchment at those times? They will cause morale to be sapped further.

alot of retrenchments are done in the quiet.

- Tighten belts?

All are good except everyone tighten belt will cause recession :D

This is not true just 2 years alone NLB have retrenched or made 200++ lower position staff reduntant . Mainly diploma,O level and lesser academic . Almost all are 40 years old and above. Many new post are given out PRC and S Pass holders and and also PR who did not serve NS. As from last till now hiring have been froze and only limited contract staff are recruited.

New management? Or just another round of "restructure"?

This is not true just 2 years alone NLB have retrenched or made 200++ lower position staff reduntant . Mainly diploma,O level and lesser academic . Almost all are 40 years old and above. Many new post are given out PRC and S Pass holders and and also PR who did not serve NS. As from last till now hiring have been froze and only limited contract staff are recruited.

Repositioning for new dawn age ....

Also they outsource more staff , get the ex staff back from outsourcing firm, pay them lesser by hourly rated, no leave, no bonus, no aws. New tender for outsourcing yield zero tender from external firm