• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Shoppers’ wallets stay shut in 3Q16 and possibly beyond

SNTCK

Singapore’s retail environment continues to be challenging in 3Q, and weaker-than-expected economic growth and the soft job market is likely to affect spending for the rest of the year, Cushman & Wakefield.

This is also reflected by consumer confidence in Singapore, which has dived to its lowest since June 2009 based on figures from the Mastercard Index of Consumer Confidence for 1H2016.

Although 2016 tourist arrivals have grown 7.2% and 6.7% y-o-y in June and July respectively, the real-estate services company notes that retail sales continued to stay in the doldrums, falling 3.2% and 2.3% y-o-y in June and July.

Big ticket items saw significant declines in sales figures, and even retail sales of the food and beverage (F&B) segment registered a 7.4% y-o-y fall in July 2016.

The numbers are a testament that tourists are spending less and the Great Singapore Sales (GSS) has lost its lustre, says Christine Li, Cushman & Wakefield’s director of research, Singapore.

To make things worse, average prime rents in Orchard Road have declined by 1.2% q-o-q. However, average prime rents for suburban areas have only declined by 0.5% q-o-q.

This is because take-up rates at newly completed retail mall projects – such as Punggol New Town’s Waterway Point and Compass One in Sengkang, both under Frasers Centrepoint Trust – was “relatively strong”, according to Li, who believes Compass One is expected to enjoy strong footfall from the steady population growth in the neighbourhood.

“Vacancies in retail malls could worsen with the ongoing retail business consolidations arising from higher operating costs and competition from e-commerce,” she adds.

On the subject of retail business consolidations, Li refers to the recent phenomenon of what she views as landlords taking a “more proactive approach to engage and excite shoppers by promoting lifestyle retail”.

For example, Funan mall (CapitaLand Mall Trust) is due to reopen in 2019 as an “experiential hub” that features a rock-climbing facility and indoor cycling path among other sports facilities, while Cathay Cineleisure Orchard has introduced an indoor trampoline park to its premises.

The upcoming OUE Downtown (OUE Commercial REIT), which is due for completion in early 2017, is said to bring in a “social kitchen” and an “auto deli area” where lockers and a casual dining area will enhance customer experience, points out Li.

Other malls undergoing redevelopment works include Park Mall (Suntec REIT) and Century Square, with the latter being expected to undergo Asset Enhancement Initiative (AEI) next year.

Units of Frasers Centrepoint Trust, CapitaLand Mall Trust, OUE Commercial REIT and Suntec REIT closed at $2.13, $2.13, 70 cents and $1.75 respectively.

http://fifthperson.com/shoppers-wallets-stay-shut-in-3q16-and-possibly-beyond/

Blood sucker landlords should face a full season of empty shops with no one to rent them.

Only temporary lah. Your wallet shut, your gerfriend pussy also shut! :eek:

Thrift is a virtue and should be cultivated from a young age.

they forgot about the skin shopper economy in geylang. wallets with sex-starved sinkie uncles will always be open, and both liquid money and bodily fluids are flowing unabated in geylang brothels, ktv's, and hfj's. it's high-retail-rent-proof and recession-proof.

Blood sucker landlords should face a full season of empty shops with no one to rent them.

I just find no reason to shop in Singapore. I get a few items from taobao and all over and pay RMB 39 for shipping over to Singapore.

Good! Cut out all the middleman, the same things you bought from taobao would have cost triple and more here.

Only temporary lah. Your wallet shut, your gerfriend pussy also shut! :eek:

To open GF pussy you don't need to go to the malls. Cheap trinkets can be bought off Chinky websites, and luxury items can be ordered at discounted prices (with free shipping and even gift wrapping) from Angmo e-commerce sites and shipped directly into GF's pussies.

yes sir , u are dead right on tis one.

these greedy landlords have the same traits as Lehman richard fuld, jimmy cayne of bear stearns -
all worship money as their god
and their bible emphasize avaricious ,ruthlessness ,selfishness as the new normal.

The PAP has killed the Golden Goose of Spore.

They have eliminated the cost competitiveness that Spore enjoyed in this region. Even the Spore brand has been tarnished by the replacement of disciplined Sporean work force with cheaper & less skilled workers from the 3rd world.

It is so obvious because you can see the cock ups & fiasco on a daily basis.
RIP the golden years of Spore

This place is one of the most boring places in the world to shop and one of the most expensive to boot.

Why would people want to pay more for the same products in a boring place where the salespersons either cannot speak English (from PRC) or speaks English you cannot understand( while speaking tagalog to each other and the cashier!).

I don't mind if most of the Orchard Malls close down-as they employ mostly Pinoys anyway and it feels more like Makati/Shoemart than Zikapore. All the malls there can become like Lucky Plaza catering to the growing millions of Pinoys here. Let the Pinoys celebrate their National Day at Orchard Road .

Tourist can still shop at Marina Bay/Suntec City/Changi Airport/Vivo City ect2 while locals can shop in their neighbourhood mall.

This place is one of the most boring places in the world to shop and one of the most expensive to boot.

i get my resupply of jimbo or feiloong shorts from the sundry shops at hdb open air malls or tented pasar without fail. i can't find the same comfy shorts anywhere in this world except in sg. sg is shopping paradise to me.

economy is down. tourists not coming singapore because we are boring.
dont do retail sales....
no future :(

yes sir , u are dead right on tis one.

these greedy landlords have the same traits as Lehman richard fuld, jimmy cayne of bear stearns -
all worship money as their god
and their bible emphasize avaricious ,ruthlessness ,selfishness as the new normal.

Variety has been killed, small scale local brands and entrepreneur all weeded out. What I see now are grossly marked up international franchises. I can easily get them at much better prices when I travel, other tourists will feel the same.

so when is the sales starting so i can open my wallets again?businesses and retailers and PAP must understand newton's first law of physics,what goes up must come down.

if the reits and retailers join hands together in lowering their rents and prices,we can turn the economy around,upturn the downturn,expansion the recession,perhaps we can make singapore a shoppers paradise and make SIngapore great again!!!!

You know the economy is bad when brothel keepers kpkb no business. HFJs are suffering too. Imo, will get worse.

As long as levies are collected and taxes paid promptly, the public wallet is always half full.