Shatec closing down: Lianhe Zaobao​

No longer taking in new students.

author profile

Belmont Lay
clock

July 01, 2025, 05:37 PM​

Telegram

Whatsapp

Shatec, a Singapore institute that has trained individuals for the hospitality industry over the last four decades, is closing down.

Lianhe Zaobao reported that it has been gradually winding down operations since April 2025, citing the reason that its current operating model is difficult to sustain.

ADVERTISEMENT​

Its Bukit Batok campus building has been put up for sale in May for S$18 million.

Orchard branch closed​

Its Orchard campus in Tourism Court, which had been in operation for a year, closed at the end of June this year.

Courses are still ongoing at the main Bukit Batok Street 22 campus but will be discontinued.

Zaobao reported that the courses include the final round of pre-employment training (PET) courses, which are professional diploma programmes, as well as continuing education and training (CET) courses for adult learners.

All courses are expected to be discontinued by the first quarter of 2026.

A Shatec receptionist who responded to queries on Jul. 1 said there will not be any further intake of new students at the moment, but more information is not readily available.

Email about winding down operations​

Zaobao reported that it saw a Shatec email to alumni dated Mar. 27 that stated that the institute would gradually suspend its operations from Apr. 1.

It was revealed in the email from its executive director that Shatec was evaluating its operations and business practices after a new management team took over in January 2025.

It was concluded that the current model of operations was not viable and would be wound down from Apr. 1, which was a difficult decision for the board to make.

Real estate company CBRE was appointed as the marketing agent to sell the Bukit Batok campus building.

The three-storey building is priced at about S$18 million and the lease ends in 2051.

Shatec chairman Loh Lik Peng told Mothership: "Shatec is currently in the early stages of reviewing its long-term plans. The sale of the building is part of Shatec’s asset management strategy."

"As the review is still ongoing, we are unable to provide further comments," he added.

On Zaobao's queries on why the operation was suspended and the school building was sold, the number of students affected, and whether it planned to stop permanently, Shatec and the Singapore Hotel Association (SHA) did not give a direct answer.

In August 2024, Shatec announced that it was moving away from pre-employment training to continuing education and training programmes.

The writing was apparently already on the wall when the Sapling Restaurant, run by Shatec, closed on Mar. 7, 2025.

42-year history​

Shatec was established by SHA in 1983.

The pioneer institution has about 40,000 graduates so far, many of whom are industry leaders in the local and overseas tourism and hotel industries, Zaobao reported.

Since 2012, it has been appointed by the government as a continuing education and training centre, where students are given subsidies when enrolling in courses as part of Workforce Skills Qualifications (WSQ) system.

Why wasting time to study in shatec when u can study in Mumbai university with $10 tuition fee a year

Should have closed shop long ago if not for pap support.
Who the fuck will enrol in hotel industry?
The so called leaders in the hotel industry are all miserably paid mgt.
Stupid.

Stupid.
Enrol to brush hotel toilets and making bed for the guests ?

Stupid.
Be apprentice to a jiukia chichar stall taochew. You will learn more, and faster too.

Those with hi hat end up also need to becum own boss.
They need to be slaves in hotel and work split shift. Long hours with miserable pay.

The mgt staffs are not spared.
Low pay with high expectations.

Endup is not the mkt for sinkies.

Since 2012, it has been appointed by the government as a continuing education and training centre, where students are given subsidies when enrolling in courses as part of Workforce Skills Qualifications (WSQ) system.
Also when you see wsq come into the picture, you can hong kan.
Wsq is leesigned to con sinkies into cheap enslavement. Ccb.

Those with hi hat end up also need to becum own boss.
They need to be slaves in hotel and work split shift. Long hours with miserable pay.

The mgt staffs are not spared.
Low pay with high expectations.

Endup is not the mkt for sinkies.
You mean 2nd uncle who consumes opium ?

Also when you see wsq come into the picture, you can hong kan.
Wsq is leesigned to con sinkies into cheap enslavement. Ccb.
I leemember long ago after I beaten a mgr to puppy while having not found a job yet, I attended a leecruitment exercise in the hospital industry with wsq, to find out what was it all about. The openings were eg ot assist, patient service asst, customer service asst etc.

The room were filled with losers like me, hundreds of them.

Those courses needed cash payment of about $1.5-2k for the training course.
And upon grad, there is also no guarantee that you will be hired. Although there should not be any problem getting one due to the low pays.

None in the class dare to beat the spokesman to puppy, except me.

I shout out loud from behind, people here already no Job and looking for job, you still asking them to pay cash?
And cpf not allowable.

End of the day, at least 80% of the attendees signed up.
The other 20% simply just fucked off.

You can see how ter nao sinkies can be.

I leemember long ago after I beaten a mgr to puppy while having not found a job yet, I attended a leecruitment exercise in the hospital industry with wsq, to find out what was it all about. The openings were eg ot assist, patient service asst, customer service asst etc.

The room were filled with losers like me, hundreds of them.

Those courses needed cash payment of about $1.5-2k for the training course.
And upon grad, there is also no guarantee that you will be hired. Although there should not be any problem getting one due to the low pays.

None in the class dare to beat the spokesman to puppy, except me.

I shout out loud from behind, people here already no Job and looking for job, you still asking them to pay cash?
And cpf not allowable.

End of the day, at least 80% of the attendees signed up.
The other 20% simply just fucked off.

You can see how ter nao sinkies can be.
U should had work in IT industry. With your secret code can hack them jialat jialat.

As a matter of fact, most of the jobs I had taken in my 32 years of work, were in the IT industry.
That's why I had beaten countless people within this industry to puppies.

Those ctos, directors, proj mgrs etc all die flat with my nuke KNN

As a matter of fact, most of the jobs I had taken in my 32 years of work, were in the IT industry.
That's why I had beaten countless people within this industry to puppies.

Those ctos, directors, proj mgrs etc all die flat with my nuke KNN
Not say I want to boast or what.
My secret code is leelee no horse run one.
There were only 5 matches today for betting
I scored 4/5, with the other 1 miscued by human error while decoding it KNN

1000021940.jpg

Ft 1-0

1000021941.jpg

Ft 1-0

1000021942.jpg

Ft 1-3

1000021944.jpg

Ft 0-1

:whistling: