6 November 2012
Khaw Boon Wan
Minister
Ministry of National Development
Singapore
Dear Sir,
The Singapore Democratic Party launched our housing plan, Housing A Nation: Holistic Policies for Affordable Homes, on 4 November 2012.
We proposed several initiatives that would make public housing in Singapore more affordable and inclusive. I am sending you a copy of our policy for your study. (Please see attached).
My party would be happy to discuss with you our proposals.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Jufrie Mahmood
Chairman
Singapore Democratic Party
cc.
Lee Yishyan
Senior Minister of State
Tan Chuan Jin|
Senior Minister of State
Dr Mohamad Maliki Osman
Senior Parliamentary Secretary
Dr Lee Bee Wah
Chairman
Government Parliamentary Committee
Dr Cheong-Chua Koon Hean
CEO
Housing and Development Board
Koh Cher Siang
Chairman
================
Public housing in Singapore has become a major issue as prices have risen beyond the means of the average Singaporean.
To remedy the problem, the SDP proposes that NOM flats (ranging from $70,000 to $240,000) be introduced for new buyers. This new scheme of flats will co-exist with current Open-Market (OM) flats.
Unlike OM flats, NOM flats cannot be re-sold on the open-market. OM flat-owners can, however, convert the flats to the NOM scheme and, in return, get paid back to their CPF accounts the difference between their original HDB price of the flat and the price of an equivalent NOM flat.
This will ensure that not only are flats made affordable for new buyers, existing homeowners who overpaid for their flats because the Government included land "costs", will have their retirement funds returned to them.
We had invited the Minister as well as officials from the MND and HDB to the launch. We are now sending the paper to the Minister and inviting him for a discussion on the matter.
- http://yoursdp.org/news/2012-11-06-5433
Khaw Boon Wan
Minister
Singapore
Dear Sir,
The Singapore Democratic Party launched our housing plan, Housing A Nation: Holistic Policies for Affordable Homes, on 4 November 2012.
We proposed several initiatives that would make public housing in Singapore more affordable and inclusive. I am sending you a copy of our policy for your study. (Please see attached).
My party would be happy to discuss with you our proposals.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Jufrie Mahmood
Chairman
Singapore Democratic Party
cc.
Lee Yishyan
Senior Minister of State
Tan Chuan Jin|
Senior Minister of State
Dr Mohamad Maliki Osman
Senior Parliamentary Secretary
Dr Lee Bee Wah
Chairman
Government Parliamentary Committee
Dr Cheong-Chua Koon Hean
CEO
Koh Cher Siang
Chairman
================
Public housing in Singapore has become a major issue as prices have risen beyond the means of the average Singaporean.
To remedy the problem, the SDP proposes that NOM flats (ranging from $70,000 to $240,000) be introduced for new buyers. This new scheme of flats will co-exist with current Open-Market (OM) flats.
Unlike OM flats, NOM flats cannot be re-sold on the open-market. OM flat-owners can, however, convert the flats to the NOM scheme and, in return, get paid back to their CPF accounts the difference between their original HDB price of the flat and the price of an equivalent NOM flat.
This will ensure that not only are flats made affordable for new buyers, existing homeowners who overpaid for their flats because the Government included land "costs", will have their retirement funds returned to them.
We had invited the Minister as well as officials from the MND and HDB to the launch. We are now sending the paper to the Minister and inviting him for a discussion on the matter.
- http://yoursdp.org/news/2012-11-06-5433