• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Scholar, ex-general still cannot stop NOL from sinking

At the end of October, NOL announced: that losses continued in the third quarter with the company $23m in the red compared to a net profit of $20m a year earlier, hit by port congestion in Southern California.

“We see a slowdown in emerging markets, partly driven by a lower need for raw materials from China. Europe – it’s very slow growth, if any, at the moment, and there’s no reason to expect a big change here,” said Nils Andersen,Maersk’s chief executive.

Revenues for the third quarter were flat at $2.06bn. For the first nine months of 2014 NOL lost $174m, compared to a $61m profit in the same period last year that included a one time gain from the sale of its headquarters building.

NOL claimed cost savings of $290m so far this year but these had been “largely offset” by lower rates, lower volumes and increased costs for port congestion.

http://www.seatrade-global.com/news...e-red-port-congestion-hits-liner-arm-apl.html

But about a week later, FT carried this report: Denmark’s largest company by sales reported better than expected profits in the third quarter and lifted its profit outlook for Maersk Line, its container shipping business.

Maersk has bucked the trend in a container shipping industry dogged by overcapacity, losses and weak demand. Thanks to aggressive cost cutting and lower use of fuel, Maersk Line is by far the most profitable container group.

Maersk Line estimates its operating margin, which was 8.2 per cent in the second quarter, was 8.5 percentage points higher than the average of its rivals.

It lifted it again in the third quarter, posting an operating margin of 10.5 per cent, and leading Maersk Line to boost its guidance for the year for net profits to more than $2bn compared with $1.5bn previously. Net profit in the third quarter rose by a quarter to $685m.

“The days of rapid growth in containerised trade are over. We have to be happy as an industry that we are still growing . . . But we can still make good business,” said Mr Andersen.

SMRT & NOL run by ex-military men. What do you think?

NOL continues to sink, offering all kinds of excuses for their non-performance.
But Maersk. operating in the same environment continues with higher profits.

SMRT receives all kinds of financial incentives from their masters (who incidentally are also the key shareholders) but cannot fix even basic problems like security (especially shameful, since SMRT is ponded by ex-military experts) and packed trains and cluster buses.

Question: really, do these ex-military guys know what they are doing in the real world?

What do you think?

Re: SMRT & NOL run by ex-military men. What do you think?

Mistake lah. If NOL has risen rates earlier like SMRT, it would not be in this predicament. Time to ask Mdm Ho for a lifeline.

Nowadays for container ship serving the main line routes you need super sized container ships to bring down the unit cost.if don'tch has, then tough luck.

Mistake lah. If NOL has risen rates earlier like SMRT, it would not be in this predicament. Time to ask Mdm Ho for a lifeline.

cant raise rates when u have outside competition.time to ask mdm ho to buy mersk and OOCL.

Nowadays for container ship serving the main line routes you need super sized container ships to bring down the unit cost.if don'tch has, then tough luck.

So you think the mother of all ships is the solution? Pls lah China join built a port in spratley all siam here Liao. Nol problem is part of larger problem. China growth do not need Singapore much to contrary of pinkie wish list.the r publishing this to inform you standby for job cut.

aggressive cost cutting and lower use of fuel

monkey see, monkey do.

but where does the cost truely lie?

NOL can raise rates anytime, just that their customers will switch.

with general especially those graded 'scholar", NOL would sink faster than titanic.

the foundation built by GCT was rotten to start with.......... Did Cedric Foo fucked it up too??

with general especially those graded 'scholar", NOL would sink faster than titanic.

that is the value of generals admirals we have........... proof of their inability without govt power

Its pretty obvious no? NOL has to compete internationally, SMRT merely need to leech on Sinkie.
Scholars and ex-admirals run corporation can only survive by leeching on local people which proves the point civil servants are not made for running businesses.

Its pretty obvious no? NOL has to compete internationally, SMRT merely need to leech on Sinkie.
Scholars and ex-admirals run corporation can only survive by leeching on local people which proves the point civil servants are not made for running businesses.

You are just jealous of their Harbird and Standbird pedegree. Not healthy lah, like this.

our jiak liao bee scholar generals are given a magical dice by our loving gahmen. this dice is to gamble with only their own countrymen, namely singaporeans.

this dice in their frigid hands is such that every time they roll, head - they win and tail, we lose. look at how SMRT operates by rear ass admirer lui. since when he sided with the commuters and stop them from increasing the fares? there is also a "validated" reason.

What about Oxbird? ;)

You are just jealous of their Harbird and Standbird pedegree. Not healthy lah, like this.

If you think about it, there is not one ex SAF scholar General who has succeeded in their second career, whether in the Civil Service or in the GLC ( so called private sector ). Even LCP who survived a longer time than others as PS was eventually moved to A Star. On the other hand the ex Police SAC/DC types at least survived in the Civil Service. My guess is that this is because they had experience in dealing with real life situations post studies/training. The SAF ones have only TEWTs, training in mock battles etc under their belt. An exception will be those involved in humanitarian missions. Maybe if we send some to serve in real battle situations, they will perform better. Btw I dont buy the argument that it is to renew leadership that serving senior uniformed officers are routinely rotated and mandatorily retired. There is the risk that if they remain too long in Key Appointment positions, they can be a threat to an inept civilian government .

the best battle simulation, learn from the pinoys @ scape. but you play with fire, you will get burnt.

how do you put out a fire if there is no water?

you take a piss on your best friend.