• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Russia tightens control of Sakhalin-2, raises stakes in economic tit-for-tat By Yuka Obayashi

SBFNews

https://www.reuters.com/business/energy/rus...res-2022-07-01/

Russia tightens control of Sakhalin-2, raises stakes in economic tit-for-tat
By Yuka Obayashi

and Emily Chow

TOKYO, July 1 (Reuters) - President Vladimir Putin signed a decree on Thursday to take charge of the Sakhalin-2 gas and oil project in Russia's far east, a move that could force Shell and Japan’s Mitsui and Mitsubishi to abandon their investments as the economic tit-for-tat over Ukraine deepens.

The decree said the new firm would take over all rights and obligations of Sakhalin Energy Investment Co, in which the two Japanese trading companies and Shell Plc (SHEL.L) hold just under a 50% stake. read more
Advertisement · Scroll to continue

The five-page decree, which comes amid Western sanctions on Moscow over the invasion of Ukraine, indicates that it is up to the Kremlin to decide whether foreign shareholders are to remain in the consortium.

Shell made clear its intention to quit the project months ago and has been in talks with potential buyers. But Japan has previously said it would not give up its interests in the Sakhalin-2 project, which is important for its energy security, even if asked to leave.

Shares in Mitsui & Co (8031.T) and Mitsubishi Corp (8058.T) fell 6% in trading on Friday on concerns over impairment losses. They underperformed broader Nikkei index (.N225), which dropped 1.9%.

A Mitsubishi spokesperson said the company was discussing with its partners in Sakhalin Energy and the Japanese government on how to respond to Putin's decree. Mitsui did not offer make any immediate comment.

Its ok for the west to seize russian overseas assets, but russia careful not to do the same unless they abandon the business.

mudhatter

why don't russkies export nuclear bombs and ICBM?

plenty of countries willing to pay top rubles for these highly desirable items

geopolitical balance can be overturned, overnight

why leh?

the fact that russkies and tiongs still adhere to the UN which lists yanks poms & frog eaters as permanent member of security council tells you that russkies & tiongs are equally as responsible for every crime and every failure of the ang moh west.

if u dun like ang moh and dun like UN since its worthless org, you just leave lor.

if u notice, all five permanent members of UN security council recognize zionist terrorist regime and one of the first things UN rubberstamped was establishment of zionist terrorist entity

I propose dropping a tactical (small sized) nuclear bomb on UN headquarters to get rid of this hideous edifice of crime hypocrisy double standards and western ang moh kia duplicity you might as well say an edifice of neocolonialism

tell me when UN holds zionist terrorist yankee pommies frog eaters accountable by blasting them to smithereen and approving military operation against them?

why the donkey Iranians can't build nukes and ICBM when tiny norkies have done so publicly?

IQ & Race

where's the ceca virus @ChristJohnny with his Iq & race map?

even as a ceca ah neh pundek kelingkia himself he has no problems admitting that low IQ is what hobbles ceca virus progress

in fact, natives of warm weather regions have not succeeded in producing an advanced, developed country anywhere on earth, none. no example whatsoever.

you might as well say nowhere did warm weather countries produce developed advanced countries or regions

stinkypura hongkies and to some extents uae are infamous notorious money laundering tax evasion maybe even human trafficing hubs

zionist terrorist regime just like stinkypura or hongkie are no more than leeches who need to leech off some host economy or the other in order to survive, by themselves, they'd wither in a year or two