• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Richard Cheng the cheap fuck peasant wants gao upgrade for free.

Cottonmouth

Forum: Is it fair to charge more for kopi-o gao?​

UPDATED

APR 11, 2024, 05:00 AM

FacebookTelegram

I can understand coffee shops charging more for takeaway cups as these cost money and it is a business decision (Coffee shops should avoid exploitation in the name of sustainability, April 6).

However, I have come across stalls which charge 10 cents more for kopi-o gao (strong black coffee) just because of a little more coffee and less water. By the same token, what about customers who ask for kopi-o pok (light black coffee)? Shouldn’t they charge less?
While iced coffee costs more because it needs to be more concentrated as the ice melts and dilutes the drink, it makes no sense to charge more for strong coffee.

There are also shops that charge 10 cents more for coffee, citing the recent increase in potable water prices. The increase is 50 cents per cubic metre (1,000 litres) of water, implemented over two phases, with an increase of 20 cents per cubic metre from April 1.

You can get about 5,000 cups of coffee from 1,000 litres of water, so the increase of 10 cents a cup, in just the first phase of the water price hike, amounts to profiteering. The authorities need not form an anti-profiteering committee to look into this, but they can work with coffee shop associations to rein in such profiteering.

Meanwhile, coffee drinkers should just buy from shops with competitive prices or, better still, make their own coffee with instant powder.

Richard Cheng

kopi unkers and aunties brew kopi gao gao first then dilute each kup with hot water depending on kopi ordered. kopi o is diluted with half kup water while kopi gao is 69% kopi gao gao diluted with 1/3 kup water.

CoffeeAhSoh

Errr...
will this Richard Cheng burger
asked for refund of 10 cents
when he decides to drink Kopi O
"poh " ? :biggrin:

A Singaporean

Just a low class coolie gene Sinkie from hdb thinking that by giving himself an Angmoh name is going to make a difference.