Rental market very soft now, how can property prices rise?

SadPlumpGal

Yesterday's newspapers all reported HDB and private market rising again and speculated having more cooling measures.

However, on the ground it feels different. I help agents to process their transactions and sometimes help with show flat logistics.
I cannot do sales because I am not attractive but my talent is in processing information.

This weekend is quite slow partly also because of school holidays. But I notice in the last few weeks, in the rental market, more landlords are slowly willing to rent to India Indians

India Indians are known in the market as tremendously annoying - extremely miserly, negotiating to the smallest detail, changing mind so often even after deal signed, demand all kinds of discounts, then messing up the place and creating trouble for neighbours.

Even so, the rental market is very soft and slowly some landlords have become more willing but they still want solid deposit upfront because they know the place will be thrashed.

India Indians are known in the market as tremendously annoying - extremely miserly, negotiating to the smallest detail, changing mind so often even after deal signed, demand all kinds of discounts, then messing up the place and creating trouble for neighbours.

You forgot: unhygienic.

One of my friends (newly married) got a new flat which has a corridor rubbish chute that is shared with neighbours on the same floor.

Guess the race that dumped mountains of garbage OUTSIDE the chute, blocking the narrow corridor's path and creating a stench.

Hint: plates of curry gravy stains and sandalwood smell.

jah's darlings
Guess the race that dumped mountains of garbage OUTSIDE the chute, blocking the narrow corridor's path and creating a stench.

Hint: plates of curry gravy stains and sandalwood smell.

SadPlumpGal said:
I cannot do sales because I am not attractive but my talent is in processing information.

Don't say that !You must love yourself before other people can love you !

This weekend is quite slow partly also because of school holidays. But I notice in the last few weeks, in the rental market, more landlords are slowly willing to rent to India Indians
Don't lose sleep over it. Pappies will by all means keep HDB 'affordable' and 'stable'. It's in their interest for Sinkees to owe money to the pappies for the rest of Sinkees' lives. Preferably, next and next next generations too.

there's a lot of chinese and euro cash flooding into countries which have open "money laundering" policies and exhibit asset bubble tendencies. it's global gambling on a massive scale. not safe to park money in europe for now, not good to leave cash in china, so offshore they go. but since u.s. is going thru' a slump, the liquidity has very few places to find a home (no pun intended) to earn a decent roi. sg has great roi opportunities for now, so is becoming a darling respite and haven for the time being. the recent cooling measures are mainly intended for this tsunami of foreign cash which naturally homes in on property for speculative reasons. very little to do with the local rental market.

Yesterday's newspapers all reported HDB and private market rising again and speculated having more cooling measures.

However, on the ground it feels different. I help agents to process their transactions and sometimes help with show flat logistics.

Even so, the rental market is very soft and slowly some landlords have become more willing but they still want solid deposit upfront because they know the place will be thrashed.

That's being very contradictory isn't it ? ; what's transLated in the papers do not equates to the ground..:cool:
Perhaps the papers are just pLaying with the figures ?..:confused:

Condos are just too affordable now, the govt must increase prices to cool the market.

Yah lor, your Parents HDB Flat that is currently you staying with them, when r u going to upgrade to Landed/Bungalow huh ? ;)

Cheap Cheap for you few millions ..Don't stay HDB Pigeon hole ;)