• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Is it just me, or are stalls doing "Silent Price Increases" more often now? My regular kopi just quietly jumped 20 cents...

Flibbertigibbet

Stupidman

Is it just me, or are stalls doing "Silent Price Increases" more often now? My regular kopi just quietly jumped 20 cents, but the menu board hasn't changed. ☕

Went to my usual heartland kopitiam this week. Ordered the exact same Kopi-O Kosong I always get. The fading menu board still says $1.30, but the uncle casually charged me $1.50. No "price revision" notice, nothing. Just a quiet adjustment.

I was looking into why this is happening everywhere lately. Apparently, this "Silent Price Increase" is a very deliberate survival strategy for local SMEs and F&B stalls in 2026.

Here is the dilemma: If a stall announces a 50-cent price hike to cope with crazy rent and CPF changes, customers get angry and boycott them. But if they quietly raise it by 10 or 20 cents every few months (or just shrink the portion size—hello, shrinkflation), most of us barely notice until months later.

Basically, consumer psychology shows that we punish transparency but forgive "gradual price creep."

I actually put together a deep dive into how this tactic works in SG and the real pressures forcing hawkers to do it. If you want to read the full breakdown, I dropped it here:The “Silent Price Increase” Strategy

But I want to hear from you guys: Do you think this is a fair survival tactic for struggling SME owners, or is it just sneaky? What is the most ridiculous "silent hike" or portion shrink you’ve noticed recently? Let's spill the tea.

Is it just me, or are stalls doing "Silent Price Increases" more often now? My regular kopi just quietly jumped 20 cents, but the menu board hasn't changed. ☕

Went to my usual heartland kopitiam this week. Ordered the exact same Kopi-O Kosong I always get. The fading menu board still says $1.30, but the uncle casually charged me $1.50. No "price revision" notice, nothing. Just a quiet adjustment.

I was looking into why this is happening everywhere lately. Apparently, this "Silent Price Increase" is a very deliberate survival strategy for local SMEs and F&B stalls in 2026.

Here is the dilemma: If a stall announces a 50-cent price hike to cope with crazy rent and CPF changes, customers get angry and boycott them. But if they quietly raise it by 10 or 20 cents every few months (or just shrink the portion size—hello, shrinkflation), most of us barely notice until months later.

Basically, consumer psychology shows that we punish transparency but forgive "gradual price creep."

I actually put together a deep dive into how this tactic works in SG and the real pressures forcing hawkers to do it. If you want to read the full breakdown, I dropped it here:The “Silent Price Increase” Strategy

But I want to hear from you guys: Do you think this is a fair survival tactic for struggling SME owners, or is it just sneaky? What is the most ridiculous "silent hike" or portion shrink you’ve noticed recently? Let's spill the tea.

Next few years going to be tough.

I made my own toast at home.
i’m enjoying poached eggs and muffin on a jippun cruise right now. i have to beg and borrow money for this.
IMG_3164.jpeg

Most stupid Singaporeans will only ask critical questions when it comes to dollars and cents but will not ask anything when they need to be vaccinated