Rear Admirer Now Wants to Character Assasinate Netizens, Calling Them Liars...

[h=2]What do you think?

DPM Teo: I am concerned about the many ‘lies’ in the New Media
[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 10, 2012

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean has expressed his concerns about the many ‘untruths and lies’ found in the New Media.

Speaking in response to a question by a JC student during the recently held Pre-University seminar on the issue of press control in Singapore, DPM Teo said all countries, including the democratic ones have some sort of press control.

He used the example of the United States to illustrate the ‘demise’ of the mainstream media and of its media becoming an ‘echo chamber’ for people to hear only what they believe in.

“The more important question is how to have a responsible media. When I see some of the things going on in the New Media, I am quite concerned about it because there are untruths a lot of lies out there…,” he said.

DPM Teo added that what Singapore needs to have is a ‘responsible’ media to facilitate a ‘reasonable’ discussion among Singaporeans instead of ‘shouting’ at each other.

There is no independent media in Singapore. The only print media company Singapore Press Holdings is owned by the Singapore government while the only broadcasting station MediaCorp is owned by Temasek Holdings which in turn is owned by the Ministry of Finance.
The Singapore media is ranked 150th globally in terms of press freedom by U.S. NGO Freedom House this year.

Watch DPM Teo speaks below:

<IFRAME class=youtube-player height=390 src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Lq1MoQ955E0?version=3&rel=1&fs=1&showsearch=0&showinfo=1&iv_load_policy=1&wmode=transparent" frameBorder=0 width=640 type="text/html"></IFRAME>​

typical ass....he should ask himself what has he done to protect singapore from the digusting behavior of FTs!!!

fucking traitor!

... “ ...When I see some of the things going on in the New Media, I am quite concerned about it because there are untruths a lot of lies out there…,” ...
go sue dose burgers la! ...

if u dun, den it means dey muz b true! ...

oni noe how 2 kip taunting ah khiang 2 sue u, wen u nid 2 sue, u dun even got ze bols! ... :rolleyes:

Very common tactic over the years which has almost become second nature.
Take advantage of someone's inaccurate or bumbling statement, and give him a label and hope it sticks.

Lies? Look no further than this building.

sphbe.jpg

The PAP themselves manufacture many incorrigible Liars.

USA got controlled media meh? Rush Limbaugh is so controlled. DPM, see if Rush would bother to apologise to you

Hougang MP-Elect rebuts SPH’s allegation that he closed down 8 companies in 12 years

PostDateIcon.png
June 4th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

peh1.jpg
Mr Png Eng Huat

During the run-up to Polling Day for Hougang by-election, SPH’s newspapers, ZaoBao and My Paper, have published the following headlines and sub-headlines, insinuating that MP-Elect Mr Png Eng Huat of the Workers’ Party is not only an incapable businessman but also an opportunistic person:
Headlines:
“12 Years close down 8 companies”
“The scoreboard of Png Eng Huat as a businessman – 12 years close down 8 company”
Sub-Headlines
“Is Png Eng Huat very secretive?”
“Png Eng Huat: Will do it when opportunity comes”​
Mr Png said, “These headlines not only gave readers an impression that I am an incapable businessman but also an opportunistic person who would not hesitate to set up and wind down companies to maximize profits.”

“I regret that these papers deem it necessary not only to dig up my business records in the run-up to Polling Day, but also did not even get their facts right.”

In fact, Mr Png worked with NTUC Income from 1998 to 2001. By virtue of his work with NTUC Income, he was appointed as a Director in four of NTUC companies and 1 co-op.

When Mr Png left NTUC Income, those 4 companies were still operational. The 4 entities were part of the 8 companies the newspapers alleged that Mr Png had closed.

Mr Png added, “I do not own these companies and had no role in their operations long after I left NTUC Income in 2001.”
“Of the remaining 4 companies I was alleged to have shut down, I am in control of only 3. The 3 companies were shut down in an orderly manner and they have no outstanding debt. No one suffered any financial loss as a result of the voluntary winding up action. One of the companies was dormant.”

The 8 companies that the mainstream media were referring to are:

1. i-MAP Pte Ltd (NTUC Income)
2. E-Lifestyle (S) Ltd (NTUC Income)
3. Juzclickcar.com Pte Ltd (JV between NTUC Income and ST Automotive)
4. ID Connect.com Pte Ltd (JV between NTUC Income and Cartel Design)
5. Trancosi Singapore Pte Ltd (Not my company)
6. Flora De Paradis (Closed – Sole-Proprietorship)
7. Crenner International Pte Ltd (Closed – Dormant company)
8. i Productions Pte Ltd (Closed – Software/Multimedia (CD-i) company)

Hence, in actual fact, Mr Png only had 3 companies he controlled with 1 being dormant all the while. One has to question SPH’s intention of running those headlines in the run-up to Polling Day.

Commenting on SPH’s underhand tactic, Mr Png said, “The Pen is mightier than the sword and the media has a duty to wield the pen responsibly and not present untruths or half-truths.”

Despite the onslaught by the “powerful” State media against Mr Png and the Workers’ Party in this by-election, it did not cause any dent in Mr Png’s reputation and he went on to win the Hougang by-election, beating his opponent PAP’s Desmond Choo decisively.

It looks like Singapore’s “powerful” State media is slowly beginning to lose its power of influence…

Teo Chee Hean said:
Teo Chee Hean has expressed his concerns about the many ‘untruths and lies’ found in the New Media
:
:
“The more important question is how to have a responsible media. When I see some of the things going on in the New Media, I am quite concerned about it because there are untruths a lot of lies out there…,” he said.
:
:

This overpaid newbie obviously put too much faith in the Old Media.

NAIVE.png

Character Assassination is a regular PAP tactic practice long ago. Look at Dr Chee, Tan Liang Hong, Francis Seow,,all successfully brought down by the PAP,,,but this tactic in today's day and age is hard to implement as we have internet now. PAP tried to do it to Vincent J in the last election and it backfired,,,I guess they dont learn

This overpaid newbie obviously put too much faith in the Old Media.

Perhaps he thought we still in era when the telco is STB (Singapore Telephone Board). No internet.

never ever call Teo a Rear Admiral. The real Nay heroes were his predecessors: James Leo, Khoo Eng An, James Aeria.

I guess Netizens need to be more sympathetic with those are technophobia.

technophobia.png

For a DPM, he does sound naive, doesn't he? Whether old or new, media is media and the rules are applicable to both sides.

At 2:20, he said "even in democratic countries" - Freudian slip that we are NOT democratic, never mind the pledge etc

For a DPM, he does sound naive, doesn't he? Whether old or new, media is media and the rules are applicable to both sides.

At 2:20, he said "even in democratic countries" - Freudian slip that we are NOT democratic, never mind the pledge etc

LOL :D He sounds like a typical sinkie scholar, devoid of the adroitness of mind that no amount of reading and memorising can compensate. :rolleyes:

My GP teacher would have failed such a statement without any evidence. He would not survive a school debate, World Schools style

Sometimes I wonder what Singapore would be like when the Reubens grow up, the expats' children educated in International schools come back (if they do). Throw in the new citizens with drastically different upbringing. What a mix!