• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property expert says prices may collapse by up to 50 per cent in the next year or two

hotbot

Everything they want to control! property agents really in for a hard time.

http://www.todayonline.com/hotnews/...-by-up-to-50-per-cent-in-the-next-year-or-two

The dizzying rise in property prices here is not sustainable and the market may be heading for a hard landing in one to two years' time.

When that happens, property values may fall by as much as 50 per cent, according to an expert at a real estate forum yesterday.

Property experts speaking at the National University of Singapore's Institute of Real Estate Studies Forum said that excess liquidity in the market is the main factor that has been driving up property prices recently.

This liquidity may originate from prudent savings during the financial crisis, gains from the stock market run-up last year and foreign funds flowing here in search of better returns in Asian and emerging markets.

Mr Beat Lenherr, global chief strategist of LGT Capital Management, said: "I think that the money is finding a way around specific pointed measures and the money is just going to all the segments, micro-markets or micro-sectors."

Mr Lenherr also reckoned that the recent rally is not well supported and has been too fast, paving for a harder fall.

"If you look at the developments over the last four years, you clearly see elements of exaggerations where it doesn't make sense to buy in terms of rental yields or expected capital gains," Mr Lenherr added.

As such, he said property prices may "collapse by 30, 40 or 50 per cent" in the next one to two years.

Other speakers at the forum also said that the Singapore Government is still holding back on several other drastic measures such as the capital gains tax, which could dampen the property market abruptly if introduced.

They said the Government has so far been successful in building good neighbourhoods and community in its housing policies beyond controlling prices.

"I think the local market has been kept quite steady. I think the Government can indeed take pride in being able to making available affordable housing to more than 70 or 85 per cent of the masses," said Professor Bernard Yeung, Dean of NUS Business School. Ephraim Seow

Re: Property expert says prices may collapse by up to 50 per cent in the next year or

obviously Mr Beat Lenherr have no understanding of how things work in SG....

Re: Property expert says prices may collapse by up to 50 per cent in the next year or

He had been intoxicated by the smell of the fart of the pappynorattus, and drank their wine.

50%??? if that's true then its good news for every one. i'm gonna grab a bungalow then.

Property prices is hype up by govt.

It's been known that after election, there would be correction of property prices ;)

quite pessimistic about it, if it's not true, then why 'd pple like peter ow also quit. dun tell me bullshit reasons like pursuing other interests.
If there is a pot of gold, would you quit when the time is right?:rolleyes:

KnightFrank.jpg

Propert agents has been earning big $$$, some even appears on the papers... So to maintain harmony among Sinkies it's time to prevent them continue the hao lian.

50%??? if that's true then its good news for every one. i'm gonna grab a bungalow then.

A hike in loan interest would be very devastating. There might be some truth to this.

property price in sinkapore all carry political price---the PAP price!

so when it is adjusted lower , let say, 50%, it is nothing !

becos a small number of votes lose but big number votes gain !

after erection, PAP wins, the madness come back again !

the only way for property price to go back to reality is when sinkapore becum jialat , and crawl back to mudland, then everything comes back to normal !

mean while, it is wayang !

Who say tis who say tat---all no use.......remember, before the coffin lid closed, he still can do foolish things you know !
See who is talking ?

the only way for property price to go back to reality is when sinkapore becum jialat , and crawl back to mudland, then everything comes back to normal !

is that what u guys are really hoping for spore to become?

A hike in loan interest would be very devastating. There might be some truth to this.

Interest up 2% many will have trouble. If up 4 % many will have to declare bankrupt

throughout history its always the rich who screw the poor

stock markets, properties, all the same

prices down...the rich will buy or can afford to hold
prices up... the rich will sell

lets see how long the central banks can deceive the people, printing money all these years since 1976 when nixon dropped the gold standard...

You can't blame the rich. The poor are so dumb as to believe in ideas like "patriotism", "selflessness", "government", "democracy".

quite pessimistic about it, if it's not true, then why 'd pple like peter ow also quit. dun tell me bullshit reasons like pursuing other interests.
If there is a pot of gold, would you quit when the time is right?:rolleyes:

There is one 'old tree' whose roots, branches & trunk is entwined a MOUNTAIN OF goLd, still plugging on at 87.

We all know, all these 'persuing other interest' is a bullshit!;)