Prataman don't want to continue as Sinkie President

saratogas

Singapore’s second elected President S R Nathan has indicated that he will not be seeking re-election when his term ends next year.

“I’m 87 years of age, you expect me to live forever?” he said when asked by the media if he would contest in the presidential election in 2011.

Mr Nathan first assumed his position in 1999 without an electoral contest as his opponents were all deemed “unfit” to be a presidential candidate.

Unlike his predecessor Ong Teng Cheong who created many headaches for the PAP regime by pressing it to release confidential information pertaining to the size of Singapore’s reserves, Mr Nathan has been an “obedient” President so far.

Other than performing the usual customary duties as the official Head of State, he had never questioned the PAP regime’s handling of the country’s reserves though he is vested with the power to do so.

At the very least, Mr Nathan should be applauded for knowing when to step down unlike PAP strongman Lee Kuan Yew who has still not indicated if he would retire by the next general election.

The octagenarian Lee, who is becoming increasingly unpopular among young Singaporeans, said lately that he would like to work for as long as possible.

Who will have to rub shoulder with the Indians, if he is gone?

Painting_Nathan_by_dancing_rene.gif

Trial for his second career, F1 Driver...
phpk5yw5f.jpg

"his opponents were all deemed “unfit” to be a presidential candidate."
well his opponents are not puppies to follow orders, consider unfit.

retired and invest prata shops in india and japan.

he will hold hands wif mr lee and go dwn together with the dynasty.

is it in the constitution that the president can only serve 2 terms max?

Anyway..its time for an abang to be president of Singapore.

i am thinking of...Abdullah the speaker of parliment.

Give that old man a break lah! U really want him to kick the bucket while in office is it?

It has been long time since Sinkies got a national holiday declared because their president died on the job, the last time a state funeral was held was the death of President Benjamin Sheares in 1981.

At 87, President Nathan could do this NS once for Sinkies during his term.
Please do not die after you term and please do not have your state funeral on a public holiday, Saturday or Sunday.

Don't ask what your stinky peasants can do for you, ask what you can do for your Sinkie peasants.

Give that old man a break lah! U really want him to kick the bucket while in office is it?

Singapore’s second elected President S R Nathan has indicated that he will not be seeking re-election when his term ends next year.
:
:
:

Did you write the above or did it come from some website?

Nothing wrong, just curious.

“I’m 87 years of age, you expect me to live forever?” he said when asked by the media if he would contest in the presidential election in 2011.

Living up to 87 years old should be quite satisfying...

It has been long time since Sinkies got a national holiday declared because their president died on the job, the last time a state funeral was held was the death of President Benjamin Sheares in 1981.

At 87, President Nathan could do this NS once for Sinkies during his term.
Please do not die after you term and please do not have your state funeral on a public holiday, Saturday or Sunday.

Don't ask what your stinky peasants can do for you, ask what you can do for your Sinkie peasants.

We still got old fart. If he kicks the bucket, we still have another public holiday!

prataman considering to retire from presidency as he's earned enough to be spent in rupees for few generations. but if he is enterprising enough, he could also market prata & teh tarik as novelty in japan.

Because even the Kangaroo Court also ruled that he has no power mah.:p

Hope so that there will be a few days of public holiday, i dont want to be caught in the traffic jam because of traffic diversions during that period.

We still got old fart. If he kicks the bucket, we still have another public holiday!

Living up to 87 years old should be quite satisfying...

No. Not goood enough.

Should be : Living up to 87 years old at almost $4M a year salary with absolutely no responsibility nor KPIs, and 2/3 ($2.6M) of salary thereafter, all tax free, should be quite satisfying.