Pinky's unspoken message at NDR: NO such thing as free lunch in Sinkieland

PrinceCharming

He promised many things, blah, blah at last night's NDR.

How will those newly announced programmes be funded? By dipping into past reserves? No. (The past reserves might have been transferred to GIC or Temasick to make up for any shortfalls in the latter.) By transferring funds from GIC and Temasick? No. According to netizens, these 2 con-shops are nearly broke.

The most likely sources of funds for these new programmes will come from Sinkies (read: by milking Sinkies just as one would milk cash cows). The poor (in Pinky's terminology, a.k.a. the "needy") and the low-wage earners will be hit hardest.

Sinkies are fcuk. Majullah Singapura!

lianbeng replies: well done, PM Lee! :D all prices going up liao! medical bills, school fees, housing, and more FT/FW coming in liao!

Sinkies are fcuk. Majullah Singapura!

Governments the world over fund programs via taxation.

The more welfare there is, the higher the tax take has to be.

That's the way the system works in all developed countries. I don't see why Singapore would be any different.

But Sinkie are the worse fucked in that GIC and Temasick takes their CPF for investment , returns them 2.5% and made 10% or more and keep the funds back to re-invest or for themselves as huge payouts.

Take it form me lah Sam, it's the middle and low income that got fucked.

There is NO welfare. The Sinkie hard earned money was used to pay and fund programs and even their Masters and cronies high salary! LOL

This word free is a costly term especially in Sinkieland. Always avoid at all cost.

Middle income got rammed badly. Earn $4k can buy 4 room flat! Maybe if you don't have bills to pay, meals to eat, and walk to work!

Did Pinky say that those $4k must be married, have kids, a car or two ( like the example : I have 2 cars, I have one and my wife has the other, everyone now has a car!)

Well?

You assumed he did?

If that was so, blame yourself for being stupid, by placing all those assumptions after his statement! LOL

Actually there are creative ways to fund all those newly announced programmes. Not necessarily through taxation.

We do not expect any government to give us free breakfast, lunch, dinner, supper !! , we are people with backbones. But we do not expect to give to a government till we have to do away one or two meals a day..for our rice bowl is broken!!

whatever happen to the guy on the left...

76346_321995091239280_171374059_n.jpg

This is correct when your accounts are in deficit. Last checked, our annual budget has always been positive.

Its the same analogy where MRT has to increase fares when they report significant profit every year.

We do not expect any government to give us free breakfast, lunch, dinner, supper !! , we are people with backbones. But we do not expect to give to a government till we have to do away one or two meals a day..for our rice bowl is broken!!

This is not about having a backbone or not. The money the government is having is our money. I am not shy when I am asking for my own money

It's different because other countries do not have such large a reserve accumulated over 50 years from people's monies none of which have been put to any form of real benefits to the people. Instead the reserve is being reserved for Ho Ching to punt on whatever she fancies. Also, not everything that the govt spends on for the people is equivalent to welfare. Ensuring a more equitable allocation of resources is what a govt is supposed to do and it's NOT giving handouts.

So stop speaking through your ass and think before you say anything for once.

This is not about having a backbone or not. The money the government is having is our money. I am not shy when I am asking for my own money

That's right bro. In any case we are not asking for free breakfast or lunch etc. We are asking the govt for more affordable homes, transport fares and medical fees. These all are well within the govt's surpluses because they are setting prices leading to super profits. That's not asking for free hand outs because these govt agencies would still be making tons of money even if they bring prices down. None of them will collapse if they charge more reasonably. Unfortunately there are many idiots in this forum, chief of which is Leongsam who regard any such move as welfarism. It is not because the govt will never be put into deficit.

This is correct when your accounts are in deficit. Last checked, our annual budget has always been positive.

Its the same analogy where MRT has to increase fares when they report significant profit every year.

Budget surpluses are important because one must always save for a rainy day when times are good. It is reckless to keep spending and not think about the future. It is also unwise to presume that good times will last indefinitely. When the major storm hits, our surpluses will serve us well. As a small nation, we have to be very prudent in how we spend our government dollars.

It's different because other countries do not have such large a reserve accumulated over 50 years from people's monies none of which have been put to any form of real benefits to the people. Instead the reserve is being reserved for Ho Ching to punt on whatever she fancies. Also, not everything that the govt spends on for the people is equivalent to welfare. Ensuring a more equitable allocation of resources is what a govt is supposed to do and it's NOT giving handouts.

So stop speaking through your ass and think before you say anything for once.

The reserves are the country's savings to be set aside for a rainy day. For example, if war broke out with one or more of our neighbors or if a deadly disease brought the economy to a grinding halt, the reserves would then have to be called upon to sustain the country.

Reserves aren't for subsidising lazy, good for nothing bums who refuse to do an honest day's work and expect government handouts and subsidies to sustain their excessive lifestyles.

The reserves are the country's savings to be set aside for a rainy day. For example, if war broke out with one or more of our neighbors or if a deadly diseased brought the economy to a grinding halt, the reserves would then have to be called upon to sustain the country.
You got it widely wrong. The reserves of sinkapore is for the exclusive use of the Lees ...look at how Ho Jinx blew away billions in bad investment - she still has the job - with no repercussions. No one in the world knows exactly how much is sinkapore's reserves or how it is invested, who knows if there is any money there?

Reserves aren't for subsidising lazy, good for nothing bums who refuse to do an honest day's work and expect government handouts and subsidies to sustain their excessive lifestyles.
Wow, so many assumptions. In your judgment, a poor person is an indictment of lazy, good for nothing bums. I love your 'objectivity'. You definitely qualifies for PAP membership.

Budget surpluses are important because one must always save for a rainy day when times are good. It is reckless to keep spending and not think about the future. It is also unwise to presume that good times will last indefinitely. When the major storm hits, our surpluses will serve us well. As a small nation, we have to be very prudent in how we spend our government dollars.

Our reserves, who knows if we even have a cent in there?
48 years of pounding of the small nation excuse, sinkees can't get over that. There are lots of small nations that are rich and doing well without the kind of nickel and dimming we do in sinkapore. Ever consider that?

You get real services for the taxes paid. Even in the worst country - USA - the seniors enjoy free health care. Sinkapore? What do we get for the taxes - direct and indirect ones disguising as 'retirement savings'? Little.