• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP's Model

TracyTan866

PAP's model of government in SG will not work in the long term. It will not be accepted when Singaporeans wake up.

PAP's model of governance is based on extracting as much as possible from Singaporeans and giving them as little as possible. PAP taxes Singaporeans comprehensively and exhaustively and imposes many kinds of levies on Singaporeans. Examples are:

1. Income tax
2. GST
3. Property tax
4. Road tax
5. Petrol tax
6. Vehicle registration fee
7. COE
8. ERP
9. Vehicle transfer fee
10. Water conservation tax
11. Waterborne fee
12. Sanitary appliance fee
etc..

The heavy taxes/levies fill the pap's coffer. But the taxes and levies impose a heavy burden on Singaporeans and drive up their cost of living. Many Singaporeans are left with nothing much at the end economic work life. These taxes make the pap rich and the citizens poor.

Despite taxing the citizens heavily, the pap is very reluctant to help lighten the burden of Singaporeans. The pap uses its tax revenue to build MRTs and roads. But these publicly funded infrastructure are used by public listed companies such as SMRT, SBS, ConfortDelgro to make more monies from Singaporeans. Shouldn't the pap use these publicly funded infrastructure to serve Singaporeans on a cost recovery basis so as to lessen citizens burdend rather than to make profit from them?

Health care is also not cost subsidised and has become very expensive even in public hospitals. How many singaporeans cant afford proper health care? Shouldnt Singaporeans be given affordable health care? Isnt that the responsiblility of a govt to provide affordable health care?

With such a governing model, no wonder the pap wants more people in SG because it can collect more revenue and taxes.

The pap is behaving like a tyrant father. Such a father wants children for his own benefit and enjoyment. But he doesnt want the responsibility of looking and taking care of his children. The pap wants more citizen so that it can increase its coffer but it doesnt want the responsibility of looking after its citizens.

Like that, even a monkey can also be a govt..because it's irresponsible governance. To foreigners and some ignorant Singaporeans, the pap is doing its job. When these ignorant people wake up, the pap will be booted out because it wants to tax Singaporeans but doesnt want the responsibility that comes with being a government.

Is it a curse to be a Singaporean in Singapore? or is the pap a curse?

Tax wise including indirect taxation as those listed is nowhere near what you see in developed countries. In fact the local elite and the expats love it hear because the overall tax burden is much lower than elsewhere.

There are certain anomalies though - price and conservancy is relatively higher than a private condo of an an average type. Cost of housing and cars are however heavy burden and very unusual that the middle and lower end has to pay such a high amount for public housing.

The primary issues with this govt does not included taxes but a range of other issues much of which is over
- political hegemony,
- growing gap between the top and the rest of the country,
- loss of national identity,
- racial stratification and lack of social intergration
- intolerant over alternative views, lack of transparency over a range of issues and
- lack of vision in recent times.

Simply listing down the various levies imposed in Singapore doesn't say much. In many countries, there are federal taxes and levies, state taxes and levies, council or borough taxes and levies plus a host of other covert means of extracting $$$ from the population so a list could easily compiled that is three times as long as yours.

What is Singapore's tax burden as a percentage of GDP? This figure will give a much better picture of how heavily Singaporeans are being taxed by their government.

lack of vision in recent times.

some times we just look back in time to see where we came from, often a time we asked ourselves where we're heading. perfectly normal.

by the natural order of events, things get a bit abrasive. competition for growth becomes the order of the day, it then becomes a free for all and may the strongest survive :):):)

like a culture flask, the colonies will multiply, reach a plateau, then die off. add more nutrients if you want sustained growth, if i may, the PAP seem to be doing the exact opposite by adding new colonies :eek::eek::eek:

No mention of CPF?

Things only go well when there is economic growth. The idea of taking too much from the people without giving back is less noticeable.

Simply listing down the various levies imposed in Singapore doesn't say much. In many countries, there are federal taxes and levies, state taxes and levies, council or borough taxes and levies plus a host of other covert means of extracting $$$ from the population so a list could easily compiled that is three times as long as yours.

What is Singapore's tax burden as a percentage of GDP? This figure will give a much better picture of how heavily Singaporeans are being taxed by their government.

About SMALL GOVT
Ron Paul is right about small government. We never learn from the past. Too many chefs spoil the soup.

Singapore is lucky because it is small. Why does Australia or NZ need so many levels of govt wasting resources? Because taxed money is easy cash. Easy money comes, easy money goes.

Australia can easily reduce the Personal Tax to 25% and the people will not be worse off.

Got to agree with you this time.Singapore has one of the most easily understood comprehensive tax structure.You don't really need a consultant to file your taxes.In some countries taxes even differ from a state to state.Even a mere a tax invoice is such a complicated affair;sales tax lah,surcharge tax lah and etc.Importing goods itself can be such a hassle.One may not know the real damage until their tax office starts interpreting their tax laws.Which itself can change very six months.There are cases where even the tax office backdates their taxes .Like you would have imported some goods paying 10% tax and would have subsequently sold it.The tax office can come after you quoting a section so and so where fuhrer 15% is due from you.

Such bizarre tax methods does not only affect mighty corporations but also pathetically poor souls.There was a very recent case in China.The guy worked his ass and bought a retail outlet with his life savings.Than the tax office came after him for taxes unpaid or close down immediately.He pleaded that how could he owe any taxes since he just started his business barely a week.Tax office simply said past taxes are due under that premises.He asked for time.Tax office said no you pay first and closed his shop.He went to the tax office with a bomb,walked into their meeting room and blowed the bomb killing three and injuring several others.The tax office was extra nice henceforth but the guy was hanged nevertheless .

1. Singapore tax sturcture is relatively simple compared to larger countries because sinkieland is small. In larger countries, there are variances in geography, demographics, cultures etc. between states which need suitable tax laws to help control and govern.

2. In the case of the retail shop, obviously the guy bought the shares of the entity and not just the business. Of course he has to bear the burden of the tax legacy of that legal entity. That being the case; what is so bizarre about it? The same principle applies in sinkieland as in any other.

3. Sometimes I question the motivations of opp supporters. Is it because of lack of knowlege and understanding, leading to misinformed conclusions, thus supporting opposition politics for the wrong reasons.

Got to agree with you this time.Singapore has one of the most easily understood comprehensive tax structure.You don't really need a consultant to file your taxes.In some countries taxes even differ from a state to state.Even a mere a tax invoice is such a complicated affair;sales tax lah,surcharge tax lah and etc.Importing goods itself can be such a hassle.One may not know the real damage until their tax office starts interpreting their tax laws.Which itself can change very six months.There are cases where even the tax office backdates their taxes .Like you would have imported some goods paying 10% tax and would have subsequently sold it.The tax office can come after you quoting a section so and so where fuhrer 15% is due from you.

Such bizarre tax methods does not only affect mighty corporations but also pathetically poor souls.There was a very recent case in China.The guy worked his ass and bought a retail outlet with his life savings.Than the tax office came after him for taxes unpaid or close down immediately.He pleaded that how could he owe any taxes since he just started his business barely a week.Tax office simply said past taxes are due under that premises.He asked for time.Tax office said no you pay first and closed his shop.He went to the tax office with a bomb,walked into their meeting room and blowed the bomb killing three and injuring several others.The tax office was extra nice henceforth but the guy was hanged nevertheless .

the capital gains tax in sg is fantastic because it is 0%. if you are wealthy, invest in sg, and make gains from the capital, you pay zilch. with the gains, you can reinvest in sg for further gains. capital retention remains attractive in sg. in the u.s., we have short and long term capital gains taxes. short term capital gains tax is equivalent to ordinary income tax which is from 33% to 35% for high income earners. for any stock options that are vested and exercised, short term gains tax can be as high as 50% when all other taxes are considered - fica, social security, medicare, federal, state, city (parcel tax) etc. long term capital gains tax is 15%, but you have to wait at least 1 year to realize actual gains. filing taxes in sg is simple. the tax code is almost flat, and whether you're wealthy or middleclass, you don't pay more than 25%.

romney is taken to task by fellow republicans for paying only 15% on his tax return last year. this is because he's not working, has no salary and makes his money solely from capital gains. if i am romney, i would forget about running for president and instead invest heavily in sg to earn capital gains. and in return, i pay zero taxes. for many with millions in assets and cash, capital gains alone can provide the most luxurious, best, pampered lifestyle. winners use money to make money. losers live from pay check to pay check. sg is definitely on my radar for capital investment.

2. In the case of the retail shop, obviously the guy bought the shares of the entity and not just the business. Of course he has to bear the burden of the tax legacy of that legal entity. That being the case; what is so bizarre about it? The same principle applies in sinkieland as in any other.

This is the problem with Sinkies thinking the entire world revolves around us.I don't blame you even LKY with his contractual mind set thought he got pretty much China wrapped up in the matter of Suzhou industrial park.And he was right royally screwed.Perhaps he thought it must be akin to our water supply contract with Malaysia.Where he lodged a copy of our agreement with the UN....why he can't even contemplate such with China? Because British common law or it's interpretation simply does not apply in China.

Perhaps you were thinking the poor sod in China bought a private limited company or something.Hey friend,tell me how many private limited companies in Singapore owns it's own retail premises--and not leashed?Even if it does don't they do it under another entity for prudence ?Even if it's is a very exception don't you think the balance sheet will reflect tax accruals?...Even if did not,any accountant will make a provision for all contingent liabilities--disclosed or undisclosed; so why was he caught unaware?.Even in the event if the buyer knowingly bought the entity with accrued taxes; you mean if it is under the purview of our tax office ,they can suka suka can come and close your shutters ah?.....where are the due process of writ-of-summons,seizure and liquidation ?

We are talking about China here.We don't know exactly how their taxation law operates.But I was told it is pretty much left to the whims and fancies of local authorities.

I rest my case:)

This is the problem with Sinkies thinking the entire world revolves around us.I don't blame you even LKY with his contractual mind set thought he got pretty much China wrapped up in the matter of Suzhou industrial park.And he was right royally screwed.Perhaps he thought it must be akin to our water supply contract with Malaysia.Where he lodged a copy of our agreement with the UN....why he can't even contemplate such with China? Because British common law or it's interpretation simply does not apply in China.

Perhaps you were thinking the poor sod in China bought a private limited company or something.Hey friend,tell me how many private limited companies in Singapore owns it's own retail premises--and not leashed?Even if it does don't they do it under another entity for prudence ?Even if it's is a very exception don't you think the balance sheet will reflect tax accruals?...Even if did not,any accountant will make a provision for all contingent liabilities--disclosed or undisclosed; so why was he caught unaware?.Even in the event if the buyer knowingly bought the entity with accrued taxes; you mean if it is under the purview of our tax office ,they can suka suka can come and close your shutters ah?.....where are the due process of writ-of-summons,seizure and liquidation ?

We are talking about China here.We don't know exactly how their taxation law operates.But I was told it is pretty much left to the whims and fancies of local authorities.

This is the problem with Sinkies

you are talking about TT??

I already fuck her twice on this taxation issues .... she refused to reveal any numbers and comparative figures.....but just like to whine about thing in general

she is a fucking idiot that is all... fucking PAP IB sent here to make opp look like morons

Tax wise including indirect taxation as those listed is nowhere near what you see in developed countries. In fact the local elite and the expats love it hear because the overall tax burden is much lower than elsewhere.

There are certain anomalies though - price and conservancy is relatively higher than a private condo of an an average type. Cost of housing and cars are however heavy burden and very unusual that the middle and lower end has to pay such a high amount for public housing.

The primary issues with this govt does not included taxes but a range of other issues much of which is over

You dont think the many varied and hidden taxes and levies are a burden to the average Singaporean?

- political hegemony,
- growing gap between the top and the rest of the country,
- loss of national identity,
- racial stratification and lack of social intergration
- intolerant over alternative views, lack of transparency over a range of issues and
- lack of vision in recent times.

I agree with you that your above list of issues is a problem. But I feel that the financial burden caused by the many taxes/levies are in addition to the above issues. In some other thread, I have pointed out how financial problems result in poverty trap and future medical problems

some times we just look back in time to see where we came from, often a time we asked ourselves where we're heading. perfectly normal.

by the natural order of events, things get a bit abrasive. competition for growth becomes the order of the day, it then becomes a free for all and may the strongest survive :):):)

like a culture flask, the colonies will multiply, reach a plateau, then die off. add more nutrients if you want sustained growth, if i may, the PAP seem to be doing the exact opposite by adding new colonies :eek::eek::eek:

good point

Singapore has one of the most easily understood comprehensive tax structure.You don't really need a consultant to file your taxes..

You are right if you refer to the income tax structure. But how many Singaporeans know the many taxes and levies the pap has imposed on us? Those are not simple.

If you just isolate your discussion to just the tax angle, it is very difficult to proceed.

From the pure tax consideration, for the individual you can bring in income tax, property tax, GST, custom duties, ERP, ARF, stamp duties, maid levy etc. Some of these taxes depend on your consumption pattern and varies from person to person. If you are to compare these, what is the basket?

Are these all that you want to compare? There are other things that also greatly affect the cost of things but are difficult to be classified as taxes. For example, government policies and actions with respect to housing, in particularly, HDB, have brought the cost up very high. So are the healthcare cost, related to govt actions but difficult to classify as tax. Why is public transport in Singapore more expensive than in Hongkong? It cannot be totally a tax issue but certainly Govt policies have a part to play.

Whatever you say about the PAP government, they are masters in indirect revenue generation. When I talk to people, most of them are not even conscious of the fact that the government has a hand in every aspect of Singapore life, starting with the land your home (even if it is private property) or workplace sits on. They don't even know what is the link between CPF, the Ministry of Finance, the various GLCs, and two giant elephants in the room, TH/GIC. They have never heard of the Consolidated Fund.

In this situation, ignorance is truly bliss.

There is no longer inheritance tax in SG. This alone shows that taxation is favorable to the rich. 99-year leasehold of public housing where a Singaporean has to effectively pay taxes many times the actual cost of building the house. Those able to purchase private, free-hold property have no such tax burden and are further assured of passing on their property assets to their beneficiaries. Add in COE etc and the Singaporean pays a huge amount in terms of actual and hidden taxes. Add in the ponzi CPF scheme and a further 20+ percent of monthly income is in effect given to the government with limited returns in terms of interest and actual payout.

I dare say that any Singaporean staying in a HDB flat earning $5K per month pays at least half a million dollars in taxes in their lifetime.

If I didn't get it wrong, the art of adding new colonies could be copied from the Americans. After the great depression, they let in huge number of immigrants. Studies made credited the immigrants for their great contribution in helping America to pull out of the depression. Unfortunately, what works there may not work here. Our physical size is just too small to accommodate more new colonies.