Serious PAP Town Councils Going To Upgrade 17,000 Lifts! Oppie TCs Fucking With Residents' Lives With Obsolete Lifts! Still Dare To Vote For Oppies?

as-lift-2801.jpg

SINGAPORE - More than 17,000 lifts in Housing Board estates will be modernised with better safety features over the next 10 years, with the People's Action Party (PAP) town councils having finalised plans under the $450 million Lift Enhancement Programme by the Government.

The 15 PAP town councils said in a statement on Monday (Jan 28) that modernisation works will begin for 1,600 lifts across the island in the next 15 months.

This comes after the PAP Lift Task Force completed its review of the lifts with contractors.

The HDB announced the Lift Enhancement Programme in 2016 to support town councils in equipping lifts with recommended components by the Building and Construction Authority (BCA).

The Government later said that the 10-year initiative, costing an estimated $450 million, will benefit more than 80 per cent or about 20,000 of the 24,000 lifts in HDB estates.

The programme is substantially funded by the HDB and extended to lifts which have not fulfilled all of the BCA's recommendations and operated for less than 18 years from the start of the LEP.

Some BCA-recommended lift components include having an ascending car overspeed protection to monitor speed and detect uncontrolled movements of the lift car, an electrical safety device to stop the lift car from moving when the governor rope has slackened and an automatic rescue device during power failure.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...0-hdb-lifts-across-singapore-over-next-decade

Prediction: the lifts won't be Fujitec, Hitachi, Schindler or Otis, it'll be some cheap Chinese brand of inferior quality. Sigma was the chosen brand for lift upgrading some years ago: frequent breakdowns, noisy and hot interior, crappy levelling and deplorable safety record.

Then the pappies discontinued the usage of Sigma lifts, and in some of the newer HDB flats the lifts are made by 'IFE Elevators', another Chinese brand.

The programme is substantially funded by the HDB...

Meaning the HDB dwelling peasants still have to fork out some more money... to rectify the mistakes made by incompetent/greedy officials.

For sure, winnipegjets will cry foul and say this is vote buying.

You know, I know ...I don't need to say, right?

We are paying for our lift upgrading, except for the opp ward, they pay taxes but no upgrading. What is that called?

You know, I know ...I don't need to say, right?
We are paying for our lift upgrading, except for the opp ward, they pay taxes but no upgrading. What is that called?
Again you are wrong. The report had stated:
Lifts in both PAP and WP estates to be modernised with better safety features

"Around 1,500 lifts within the Workers' Party-run Aljunied-Hougang Town Council (AHTC) will also be upgraded over the next 10 years, an AHTC spokesman said in a separate statement, adding that around 180 are scheduled for upgrading in the next 15 months.......The PAP town councils managed some 24,000 lifts as of last month, and the WP's AHTC, more than 1,700. "

Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-18500-hdb-lifts-to-be-upgraded-over-10-years

By the way, to all those Anti-PAPies, no matter what they do will never satisfy this breed of Sinkie traitors. Just like some here already condemning that they had used inferior China lifts. But we have to be practical and at the same time be cost effective because at the end of the day, if the monthly conservation fees will be increased, these Sinkie traitors will also kpkb. Korean lifts had also been used before. At least, they have taken the initiative to change the vendors when these lifts have been found to be unreliable and sub-standard, unlike WP, who until today, still insisted that they did no wrong with the mismanagement of their town council's funds.

If the Oppies can really do a good job, just look no further than your Northern neighbor now. I won't be surprised that if the Oppies should become the ruling government 1 day, they'll then tell their supporters: "We had never expected to win and that was why we had made all those promises during our election rallies." This was exactly what that 93-year old bastard had told his people after he had won. What a lame excuse?

Servicing, maintaining and "modernising" lifts should be an ongoing process and responsibility of the building owners.

Why the fuss and why must the residents and users thank the gahmen for a mandatory requirement to ensure public safety?

Servicing, maintaining and "modernising" lifts should be an ongoing process and responsibility of the building owners.

Why the fuss and why must the residents and users thank the gahmen for a mandatory requirement to ensure public safety?
no amount and length of servicing and maintenance can rectify older made in prc death traps. it’s not a matter of if but when where someone is gonna get crushed. not grease, but crush is the (new) word.

Well, if you only get 1 death incident in every 69 months, I think it should be acceptable.:cool: