PAP Spin - Compassionate Meritocracy

'Compassionate meritocracy' key to the future

The New Paper
Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013

SINGAPORE - The road to the future must remain rooted in meritocracy. It is the most fundamental organising principle in our society, PM Lee said.

"We have to recognise people for their contributions and their effort, not for their backgrounds, not for their status or wealth or connections.

"So at the same time, if you succeed under our system, then you must feel the duty to contribute back, because you didn't do it alone," he said.

He called this "compassionate meritocracy", a term coined by Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong.

To illustrate his point, PM Lee cited the example of Dr Yeo Sze Ling, who became blind at the age of four.

She did not go to "brand name schools". But she had an interest in mathematics and was good at it.

Dr Yeo went on to study the same subject in the National University of Singapore and graduated with three degrees, including a doctorate.

She became successful, but she did not forget to do her part and contribute back to society.

Now, she volunteers at the Society for the Physically Disabled, helping others to overcome their disabilities.

For this, Dr Yeo won the Singapore Youth Award last year.

His voice choked with emotion, Mr Lee said: "Well done, Sze Ling. (She) proves that you can do well if you work hard. It doesn't matter what your circumstances are, and that is what we have to try to do to contribute back to the society and keep the system fair for all."

Another example: Mr Sylvester Yeo donated money to provide N95 masks for elderly cleaners and hawkers when the haze hit in June.

"The community will also have to do more to complement the (individual's) efforts and the Government's programmes. And the community is alive and well in Singapore," PM Lee said.

Why haven't those past scholars pay back to society through volunteer work or donate substantially to charity? Instead they are milking the system until they die.

George Bush preaches compassionate conservatism which was found to be bs and was a subterfuge to implement right-wing policies.

Now Pinky is preaching Compassionate Meritocracy? What does that mean? He is clueless ...his idea is that those who succeed must give back. Well, why haven't those elites in the public service not given back?

Meritocracy in sinkapore is bs ...real meritocracy is when the offsprings of elites are barred from getting any government scholarships. The well-off should be ripping the taxpayers off. They don't need scholarships and should not get it. I will go further to bar the offsprings of elites from joining the public service for 10 years after their graduation. Scholarships are intended for capable people who need them, not for the whitehorse to take advantage off.

George Bush preaches compassionate conservatism which was found to be bs and was a subterfuge to implement right-wing policies.

Now Pinky is preaching Compassionate Meritocracy? What does that mean? He is clueless ...his idea is that those who succeed must give back. Well, why haven't those elites in the public service not given back?

Meritocracy in sinkapore is bs ...real meritocracy is when the offsprings of elites are barred from getting any government scholarships. The well-off should be ripping the taxpayers off. They don't need scholarships and should not get it. I will go further to bar the offsprings of elites from joining the public service for 10 years after their graduation. Scholarships are intended for capable people who need them, not for the whitehorse to take advantage off.

Scholarship are for people who shown great potential. Maybe the offspring of these Elites are indeed talent. Reason is because they have indeed received better training and enrichment courses right from the very young age. These training and resources cannot be provided by parents who are less well off.

Of course, connection helps in a long way if your parents are whose who.

Yes. They extend medishield cover until you die but you pay for it ! Bloody nonsense if I may say, and we pay them millions to think of this hare-brained scheme !:o

... "The community will also have to do more to complement the (individual's) efforts and the Government's programmes. And the community is alive and well in Singapore," PM Lee said.
tis burger tries 2 push 2 ze community 2 take care of itself ... wateva moni gahmen collects n squiz from peasants is 4 his own pockets ...

Yes. They extend medishield cover until you die but you pay for it ! Bloody nonsense if I may say, and we pay them millions to think of this hare-brained scheme !:o

To add to this idiocy, they have to wait one year after Our Spore Conversation to come out with it ! Gosh !:(

Money has to come from somewhere. It is disappointing to see that the annual increment to reserves are not used to finance medishield. How much reserves is enough for the greedy pigs running GIc and temasick?

lanjiao lang kong lanjiao way....

..............please file under 7k per month taxi driver and many crane drivers earn more than 7k a month and combined 1k a month can buy hdb flat bullshit........

Compassionate meritocracy is when Toothpick Lim gives his toothpick collection to charity. :rolleyes:

PAP and the word 'compassionate' cannot be mentioned in the same sentence, much less spoken of with a straight face.

Helo Pinky.

She graduated with 3 degrees and even a doctorate.

But would the real working World employ her with a high salary like yours? LOL

His voice choked with emotion, Mr Lee said : "Well done, Sze Ling. (She) proves that you can do well if you work hard. It doesn't matter what your circumstances are, and that is what we have to try to do to contribute back to the society and keep the system fair for all."

This Bloody Bapok didn't choke with emotion when his wife blew billions of our hard earned money..
:oIo::oIo::oIo:

Meritocracy by itself will breed a class of arrogant and conceited elites. its the inevitable logic that flows from believing one's success was achieved solely through one's own talents and efforts (ie Merit.)- if "I" did it myself, why should "I" share my success with others?

why should the scholar give a dam about the poor and down trodden? the poor lacked the merit to rise, so they deserve to be in their pitiful state. caring for greater good is not part of their KPIs.

meritocracy is also becoming the great lie told to the farmers to keep the scholars in power.

To illustrate his point, PM Lee cited the example of Dr Yeo Sze Ling, who became blind at the age of four.

She did not go to "brand name schools". But she had an interest in mathematics and was good at it.

Dr Yeo went on to study the same subject in the National University of Singapore and graduated with three degrees, including a doctorate.

She became successful, but she did not forget to do her part and contribute back to society.

Now, she volunteers at the Society for the Physically Disabled, helping others to overcome their disabilities.

For this, Dr Yeo won the Singapore Youth Award last year.

His voice choked with emotion, Mr Lee said: "Well done, Sze Ling. (She) proves that you can do well if you work hard. It doesn't matter what your circumstances are, and that is what we have to try to do to contribute back to the society and keep the system fair for all."

Despite all odds, Sze Ling succeeded. Pinky should ask himself where the govt 'assisted' Sze Ling and/or her family. This is just one success story. Many others failed coz of lack of govt assistance. Highlighting one success but ignoring the bigger picture. Mentally and physically challenged S'poreans go through a much, much tougher time. Time for the govt to show more compassion.

This Bloody Bapok didn't choke with emotion when his wife blew billions of our hard earned money..
:oIo::oIo::oIo:

That's because he knows we are all super tulan with her husband, HC. Sze Ling's case is so different. Pinky knows we will root for people like Sze Ling.

Despite all odds, Sze Ling succeeded. Pinky should ask himself where the govt 'assisted' Sze Ling and/or her family. This is just one success story. Many others failed coz of lack of govt assistance. Highlighting one success but ignoring the bigger picture. Mentally and physically challenged S'poreans go through a much, much tougher time. Time for the govt to show more compassion.

The Gay Lord is saying one does not need help ( even if blind at 4 as shown as example by him ) to succeed.

And here you repeat the phase.. 'what about many others who lacked assistance.'

YOU damn fools are NOT getting any assistance for REAL and that is an fact and will be a fact.

So don't come here typing EXPECTING THOSE ASSISTANCE.

Too much feeding on ex-brand dog food , freezed your brain.

Of course, due to the withdrawal of such dog food now, your brain is slowly starting to THAW out! Muahahahaha

Despite all odds, Sze Ling succeeded. Pinky should ask himself where the govt 'assisted' Sze Ling and/or her family ...
ah loonz purpose is 2 show dat sinkielan peasants dun nid gahmenz assistance 2 succeed ... sinkielan peasants who cant make it r juz stewpig n lazy ... sinkielan peasants shud stfu on gahmenz assistance! ...

Yes compassionate in promoting a fake solider every year only to have him enter parliament by a walkover and a Kee Chiu.

Then before he leaves the army, his combat experience is that of creating the silly ME scheme.