Chitchat Nuclear Terrorism vs Minimum Wage law

There are hundreds of things that we need work on from employment laws, minimum wage, compulsory insurance etc etc a and they spent their time preparing legislation on nuclear terrorism. We have enough laws to detain an individual who is a security threat for years and they want to make it a hanging offence. When push comes to shove, nobody is going to be hanged for misguided ideology when no one is hurt or killed. If anyone is hurt or killed, there are enough laws to cover. Really got nothing better to do.

I thought the latest much ado about higher insurance for Personal Accidents for FDW was another red herring. Must be the work of that Yeo Guat Kwang who of cos was interviewed and probably taking credit for the behind the scenes lobbying.

So many PMETs out of jobs and where was this douchebag all the time? As usual, Sinkies lives are cheaper.

I thought the latest much ado about higher insurance for Personal Accidents for FDW was another red herring. Must be the work of that Yeo Guat Kwang who was interviewed and probably taking credit for the behind the scenes lobbying.

So many PMETs out of jobs and the NTUC and where was this douchebag all the time? As usual, Sinkies lives are cheaper.

Sinkie lives are cheaper because they are impressionable and easily manipulated, while some suffer from delusions of grandeur.

I thought the latest much ado about higher insurance for Personal Accidents for FDW was another red herring. Must be the work of that Yeo Guat Kwang who of cos was interviewed and probably taking credit for the behind the scenes lobbying.

So many PMETs out of jobs and where was this douchebag all the time? As usual, Sinkies lives are cheaper.

So far, the news have confirmed that PMET employment rate is about 97%. I would think a 3% unemployment rate would not qualify as 'so many'. Anecdotal evidence of long queues at Din Tai Fung restaurants also point to a healthy employment rate of PMETs and upper class S-Pass serfs who have enough disposal cash.

There are hundreds of things that we need work on from employment laws, minimum wage, compulsory insurance etc etc a and they spent their time preparing legislation on nuclear terrorism. We have enough laws to detain an individual who is a security threat for years and they want to make it a hanging offence. When push comes to shove, nobody is going to be hanged for misguided ideology when no one is hurt or killed. If anyone is hurt or killed, there are enough laws to cover. Really got nothing better to do.

Are you talking about Singapore? Or the USA?

Nuclear terrorism for Singapore? Please lah if the terrorist let go nuclear bomb in Singapore, there won't be a Singapore anymore. Nuts.

You mean 97% structurally unemployed? Yes they are driving your taxis, buses....

So far, the news have confirmed that PMET employment rate is about 97%. I would think a 3% unemployment rate would not qualify as 'so many'. Anecdotal evidence of long queues at Din Tai Fung restaurants also point to a healthy employment rate of PMETs and upper class S-Pass serfs who have enough disposal cash.

Old man used to thrive on the communist bogeyman and to some extent he had history and some residual risk to carry him. Shanmugam has been harping on terrorism for the last 3 years. I am wondering if he coveting the role of DPM with coordinating responsibility that Teo Chee Hean.

As to Yeo Guat Kwang, we thought it was only at backbencher level, now we see CCS building a clear track record of speaking rubbish. This time he also pilfered the line from old man on marriage.

Seriously, can't we find a few good men in Singapore.

These are all attempts to create a spectre of fear so that Singaporeans come closer for safety under Singapore's PAP. The Pap had the following over the decades - Next Lap, Remaking Singapore, Singapore 21, etc. The last one was before GE2015 and it was called "Our Singapore Conversation" and to launch HSK's journey to PMship. It was stolen from Chee Soon Juan who first spoke about "National Conversation" and it did not go far.

It looks like this is part of "We will protect you" new narrative but not sure what they are doing.

Are you talking about Singapore? Or the USA?

Nuclear terrorism for Singapore? Please lah if the terrorist let go nuclear bomb in Singapore, there won't be a Singapore anymore. Nuts.

The problem is not the PAP. It is Singaporeans. I have argued this point for a long time.

Everyone keeps blaming the PAP. Saying that PAP controls the media and what not. PAP certainly does not control social media.

The PAP have enjoyed the support of sinkies. So it is the SINKIES who give the PAP their power and control over them. Kiasu kiasee mentality. It is innate in sinkies. The PAP is merely smart to play on that aspect of the sinkie mindset. Any good and smart politician would do that.

While I find the actions of the PAP deplorable, the more amusing and shocking fact is the so called "educated" sinkies who buy into all the crap.

Stop blaming the PAP. Blame sinkies. Once you acknowledge and accept this reality you will realize the problem is not the PAP and get out of sinkieland.

I agree but the PAP is not getting of that lightly. Take the case of the Ang Mo Lady who rescued 2 school kids who nearly drowned. Someone in this forum commented that if the lady was a Singaporean, she will whip out her phone to video. Thats what we have come to or have been conditioned. We fear to step forward, we want to see what happens to those who step forward. So the PAP kills the occasional chicken to keep the monkeys in line.

Remember Old Man knew that all he had to do is house them and feed them and he owes them. Hard to break a construct like that.

No issues if you take on Singaporeans, my interest is the PAP and their minions. Just look at how both the previous PMs released CSJ for a measly amt and it worked a charm as it stopped the opposition running streak of by-elections win. The PAP knows that there are idiots who can't tell what is going on. I am sure there are others who are also not getting the PAP off the hook.

The problem is not the PAP. It is Singaporeans. I have argued this point for a long time.

Everyone keeps blaming the PAP. Saying that PAP controls the media and what not. PAP certainly does not control social media.

The PAP have enjoyed the support of sinkies. So it is the SINKIES who give the PAP their power and control over them. Kiasu kiasee mentality. It is innate in sinkies. The PAP is merely smart to play on that aspect of the sinkie mindset. Any good and smart politician would do that.

While I find the actions of the PAP deplorable, the more amusing and shocking fact is the so called "educated" sinkies who buy into all the crap.

Stop blaming the PAP. Blame sinkies. Once you acknowledge and accept this reality you will realize the problem is not the PAP and get out of sinkieland.

I agree but the PAP is not getting of that lightly. Take the case of the Ang Mo Lady who rescued 2 school kids who nearly drowned. Someone in this forum commented that if the lady was a Singaporean, she will whip out her phone to video. Thats what we have come to or have been conditioned. We fear to step forward, we want to see what happens to those who step forward. So the PAP kills the occasional chicken to keep the monkeys in line.

Remember Old Man knew that all he had to do is house them and feed them and he owes them. Hard to break a construct like that.

No issues if you take on Singaporeans, my interest is the PAP and their minions. Just look at how both the previous PMs released CSJ for a measly amt and it worked a charm as it stopped the opposition running streak of by-elections win. The PAP knows that there are idiots who can't tell what is going on. I am sure there are others who are also not getting the PAP off the hook.

Scroobal, that case of the ang moh lady rescuing 2 kids, what has it got to do with the PAP? Seriously.

There is no point taking on the PAP without taking on Singaporeans. If you crush the PAP, the sinkies will merely vote in another benevolent dictatorship under another name.

What is the difference?

You cannot blame everything on the PAP anymore. The sinkies have to make the difference themselves. Easy to find scapegoats and assume that with that "evil" gone things will get better.

If you do not believe me, look at what has happened to Iraq (after Saddam) and Libya (post-Gaadafi).

Civic mindness is not part of our dna thus the whipping out the phone instead of steeping forward. Singaporeans prefer to watch and let others step forward.

The tipping point is also too far off for money. The smart ones would have either moved or built a second home while miking the country. Not everyone is blessed with the means to make the move, others are just in a state of inertia.

Scroobal, that case of the ang moh lady rescuing 2 kids, what has it got to do with the PAP? Seriously.

There is no point taking on the PAP without taking on Singaporeans. If you crush the PAP, the sinkies will merely vote in another benevolent dictatorship under another name.

What is the difference?

You cannot blame everything on the PAP anymore. The sinkies have to make the difference themselves. Easy to find scapegoats and assume that with that "evil" gone things will get better.

If you do not believe me, look at what has happened to Iraq (after Saddam) and Libya (post-Gaadafi).

Civic mindness is not part of our dna thus the whipping out the phone instead of steeping forward. Singaporeans prefer to watch and let others step forward.

The tipping point is also too far off for money. The smart ones would have either moved or built a second home while miking the country. Not everyone is blessed with the means to make the move, others are just in a state of inertia.

You have thus brought up a few salient points.

sinkies are not pro-active people. They are reactive. Talk about standing up for the country, coming out to help and fight for the country.......you get the idea.

Where are all the good candidates for politics? Well we have seen some step forward only for the majority of sinkies to sweep them away.

Boils down to this. 3 choices

1) Do something about the problem. Stand up to be counted. Fight. Join politics. Grassroots.
2) Migrate
3) KpKb take out phone and watch

Majority of sinkies choose 3.

As you said those who are smart and contemplate 1) will eventually realize that it is stupid and foolish to do 1) and thus move on to option 2).

Singapore is a tiny city state. Not worth laying your life for. And worse the sinkies who inhabit the island are even less worthy of any sacrifice.

You have thus brought up a few salient points.

sinkies are not pro-active people. They are reactive. Talk about standing up for the country, coming out to help and fight for the country.......you get the idea.

Where are all the good candidates for politics? Well we have seen some step forward only for the majority of sinkies to sweep them away.

Boils down to this. 3 choices

1) Do something about the problem. Stand up to be counted. Fight. Join politics. Grassroots.
2) Migrate
3) KpKb take out phone and watch

Majority of sinkies choose 3.

As you said those who are smart and contemplate 1) will eventually realize that it is stupid and foolish to do 1) and thus move on to option 2).

Singapore is a tiny city state. Not worth laying your life for. And worse the sinkies who inhabit the island are even less worthy of any sacrifice.

why not stay and enjoy the madness?whats the point of fighting or running away?really when all is said and done,when one has been thru all five stages of grief,denial,anger,bargaining,depression and acceptance,one comes to the conclusion that one simply has to smile and enjoy the madness from the beginning.

after all theres a wise saying from Sun Tzu, "I'm not suffering from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it"

why not stay and enjoy the madness?whats the point of fighting or running away?really when all is said and done,when one has been thru all five stages of grief,denial,anger,bargaining,depression and acceptance,one comes to the conclusion that one simply has to smile and enjoy the madness from the beginning.

after all theres a wise saying from Sun Tzu, "I'm not suffering from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it"

Said like a true sinkie.

That is one way. Go with the flow. Be fatalistic. Make do with what you have. Be contented.

u cant change anything can u?running away doesnt help anything or anyone?so why do you fight?why do you persist?

Why, Mr. Anderson? Why do you do it? Why get up? Do you believe you’re fighting for something? For more than your survival? Can you tell me what it is? Do you even know? Is it freedom? Or truth? Could it be for love? Illusions, Mr. Anderson. Vagaries of perception. The temporary constructs of a feeble human intellect trying desperately to justify an existence that is without meaning or purpose. And all of them as artificial as the Matrix itself, although only a human mind could invent something as insipid as love.