New H1N1 virus strain appears in Singapore: WHO

Microsoft

Another outbreak...and all de mask, thermometer, hand sanitizer, public screening will be back again...:(

phpaOAM56.jpg

SINGAPORE: WHO researchers say the H1N1 flu virus that swept the globe in 2009 has mutated, with the new strain appearing in Singapore and Australia.

The new virus has a genetic twist, making it resistant to drugs like Tamiflu and Relenza, the two mainstay drugs used to tackle the virus.

The World Health Organisation's influenza research group says more than 10 percent of H1N1 flu infection samples from Singapore, collected during the early months this year, showed mildly reduced sensitivity to the two drugs.

The new variation of the virus has also mixed with the old form in at least one patient.

Researchers say it proved extremely resistant to Tamiflu, and the patient, who already had a weakened immune system, died.

But lab tests showed the experimental flu drug peramivir remains an effective treatment against the virus.

The new variant has also been detected in other parts of Asia-Pacific, according to a report by the WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza in Melbourne.

It is feared that if this new form of flu spreads, other mutations may occur and trigger even greater drug resistance and more serious illness.

- CNA/ir

i saw this news on tv.
new virus appear, mutate. caught WHO by surprise.
can WHO able to handle?

... SINGAPORE: WHO researchers say the H1N1 flu virus that swept the globe in 2009 has mutated, with the new strain appearing in Singapore and Australia ...
who say sg climate not suitable 4 innovation? ... :confused:

:p

i saw this news on tv.
can WHO able to handle?

WHO cares?:D
anyway, during khaw's time got sars now gan's turn see how he manages this new bug lor.:D

i saw this news on tv.
can WHO able to handle?

Even WHO themselves cnot ans ur qns for sure...depending on too many factors...it much more difficult to handle if coming frm countries eg.china...who had notorious rupt of covering things up until it get too large 2 handle...

Outbreak frm existing stain or mutated strain? Virus is dynamic...it can be H1N2 today and mutated again to H1N3 within a short period...Finding de vaccine is an ever uphill task...Also...de higher de infection rate...de faster or higher possibility de virus will evolve...

Dun 4get...de 1918 flu pandemic...killed 50-100 million and infect more then 500 million world wide...

who say sg climate not suitable 4 innovation? ... :confused:

:p

Dey...ini evolution not innovation lah dey...:D:p

WHO cares?:D
anyway, during khaw's time got sars now gan's turn see how he manages this new bug lor.:D

Lidat...den will it be better if WHO Don't Care? :confused: :D:p

Diseases is a natural thing: measles, mumps, etc. Governments need good policies to control any outbreaks.

However what is going on in Spore has the potential for a natural disaster of epic proportions. You have millions from the 3rd world packed closely together. I doubt they even have to go through any health screening:( Look at the increase cases of foot and mouth.

I remember the fear that H1N1 created. The next time around it will be worst as there will be even more FT in Spore & more people may die. :eek:

Bet those who claim Spore is safe place never even considered this problem. Old people are usually the first to go in an epidemic. :rolleyes:

Diseases is a natural thing: measles, mumps, etc. Governments need good policies to control any outbreaks.

However what is going on in Spore has the potential for a natural disaster of epic proportions. You have millions from the 3rd world packed closely together. I doubt they even have to go through any health screening:( Look at the increase cases of foot and mouth.
i second that. on this sml island, we are overcrowded and too close to each other.
like HKG, it will spread faster than we thought.

You will notice that Singapore, since the invasion of FT's is always one of the first and most badly affected by any epidemics.
Many in this forum and elsewhere have written on the dangers of packing huge number of people in public transport-as dieseases can spread easily.

Who is paying the price-those who cannot afford cars, esp the poor.
Sad to say, a huge part of the 60% are putting their families in danger.

That is why I am appalled by members of the medical profession who are part of this scheme to pack 6.5 mm people into this red dot -people like NEH, VB, ect2.

If the family members of all the cabinet members take public transport, at least they can say they are in the same boat.

Have any members of the Lee Dynasty taken public trasnsport to work or school before?.

If the family members of all the cabinet members take public transport, at least they can say they are in the same boat.

Spore is a leaky boat & the only way to avoid the next pandemic is leave the island. During the last outbreaks how many remember that many of our key MPs were nowhere to be seen. Many were conveniently away :rolleyes:

I remember reading about a PAP MP who got dengue. :)

When we get the next pandemic there will be no place to run. Even for the PAP they will be affected as they will have to interact with lesser mortals & other pests.

Spore is a leaky boat & the only way to avoid the next pandemic is leave the island. During the last outbreaks how many remember that many of our key MPs were nowhere to be seen. Many were conveniently away :rolleyes:

I'm sure in the current environment, they would be most glad to provide us with a list this time. :rolleyes: :D