NEA officer acts on CBD tissue woe

A man irked patrons of the crowded Golden Shoe Food Centre in Raffles Place on Tuesday afternoon, telling a number of them not to reserve seats by placing packets of tissue paper on tabletops.

"He was pointing at seats and asking why people were using tissue packets (to reserve seats)," said manager Tan Li-Lin, 28, who was among those approached by the man.

Ms Tan had been eating alone, seated beside two empty seats which were "reserved" with tissue packets.

"My first thought was that this guy had obviously never had to deal with the lunch-time rush before," said Ms Tan.

The food centre is popular with office workers in the Central Business District who throng the place at lunch-time as it offers a cheaper variety of food.

The practice of "reserving" seats with tissue packets has been a bugbear of office workers there for years.

The man, Ms Tan said, had identified himself as a National Environment Agency (NEA) officer and flashed what appeared to be a warrant card.

He is believed to be in his 30s and was dressed in jeans. "His tone sounded a little irritated and he was speaking quite loudly," she said.

Riled patrons were overheard complaining about his audacity as they had never encountered a similar incident before.

In a statement yesterday, an NEA spokesman clarified that the man is an environmental-health officer in charge of the food centre and was doing his routine check during lunch hour that day.

He added that the officer had acted on "public feedback" that patrons were reserving seats at the food centre with tissue packets and, "out of good intention", had "advised patrons to be considerate to others".

But the spokesman pointed out that NEA does not have a policy against patrons reserving seats in hawker centres as this is on a first-come, first-served basis.

"However, patrons should always be considerate to others when sharing the facilities,"he added.

While NEA did not clarify the specifics of the officer's job scope, Singapore Kindness Movement general secretary William Wan said: "The fact that the gentleman took ownership of the problem and tried to make a difference is commendable.

"But we have to be very careful that we distinguish between our personal capacity and our capacity as an officer of a particular organisation or ministry."

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110728-291407.html

A man irked patrons of the crowded Golden Shoe Food Centre in Raffles Place on Tuesday afternoon, telling a number of them not to reserve seats by placing packets of tissue paper on tabletops.

"He was pointing at seats and asking why people were using tissue packets (to reserve seats)," said manager Tan Li-Lin, 28, who was among those approached by the man.

Ms Tan had been eating alone, seated beside two empty seats which were "reserved" with tissue packets.

"My first thought was that this guy had obviously never had to deal with the lunch-time rush before," said Ms Tan.

The food centre is popular with office workers in the Central Business District who throng the place at lunch-time as it offers a cheaper variety of food.

The practice of "reserving" seats with tissue packets has been a bugbear of office workers there for years.

The man, Ms Tan said, had identified himself as a National Environment Agency (NEA) officer and flashed what appeared to be a warrant card.

He is believed to be in his 30s and was dressed in jeans. "His tone sounded a little irritated and he was speaking quite loudly," she said.

Riled patrons were overheard complaining about his audacity as they had never encountered a similar incident before.

In a statement yesterday, an NEA spokesman clarified that the man is an environmental-health officer in charge of the food centre and was doing his routine check during lunch hour that day.

He added that the officer had acted on "public feedback" that patrons were reserving seats at the food centre with tissue packets and, "out of good intention", had "advised patrons to be considerate to others".

But the spokesman pointed out that NEA does not have a policy against patrons reserving seats in hawker centres as this is on a first-come, first-served basis.

"However, patrons should always be considerate to others when sharing the facilities,"he added.

While NEA did not clarify the specifics of the officer's job scope, Singapore Kindness Movement general secretary William Wan said: "The fact that the gentleman took ownership of the problem and tried to make a difference is commendable.

"But we have to be very careful that we distinguish between our personal capacity and our capacity as an officer of a particular organisation or ministry."

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110728-291407.html

NEA officer so free har?

den why we still have dengue fever?

I can never understand why it's so freaking hard for pple to assign someone to look after the seats.

Why is NEA defending a low-life who has overstepped the bounds of his authority?

this NEA officer wans to have lunch but seats kana chope. he buay song.:D

The rat race in Spore is very brutal, you must be very early & quick to catch the worm. I think civil servants haven't woken up to this fact :rolleyes:

I never like the reserve tissue thingie, only selfish women will do that... zzzz

I can never understand why it's so freaking hard for pple to assign someone to look after the seats.

I can never understand what's so hard for you to understand "eating alone" and "self service." I have never begrudged tissue reserving of seats. It's necessity. It's commonsense. It's not asking more than you need and deserve. You go and buy food then look for seat? That's idiotic. The campaign against tissue reservation of seat is even more idiotic. Does that make a single person reserving whole table of six seats more morally righteous than a single person just wanting a seat before he buys he lunch. So what now? Single persons go squat by the gutters to eat? Good grief stupid logic. No wonder gangs and gangsters exist in Singapore. You just have a gang member there, you can reserve whole table without tissue.

A tissue is worse and more immoral than gangs and gangsters.

I never like the reserve tissue thingie, only selfish women will do that... zzzz

The women will soon change to the 'pad' to chop the seats, not ipad2 but, something that starts with "K" & something that says..'whisper'!, sure can chope one lah!:D

umbrella chope also have.:D

nxt time no seats, sit on each other lap lor.:D

Back to basic question, what's wrong with reserving a seat before buying food?

Next question, what's right with buying food without a seat then go scouting for seat?

NEA can try to collect all the tissue paper from the table. If continue collect next time no one will bother to put on table anymore.

NEA should look for the siao cheebyes throwing tissues into ashtrays. :mad: :oIo:

KNN brains grow on cheebyes is it? Fucking ashtrays for ciggies they go throw tissues. :mad: :oIo: